We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenely peaceful, achingly hip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Villas Uluwatu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alila Villas Uluwatu to your Saves list
Alila Villas Uluwatu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Pecatu
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Serenely peaceful, achingly hip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed at Alila as the first stop on our honeymoon. From the moment you arrive you feel this complete sense of engulfing calm and you cannot help but drop your shoulders and relax. You can tell that architecture and layout of the hotel has been planned to perfection for it was easily the most aesthetically stunning place I have ever stayed. The villas are huge with uber cool interior design features and the cabana at the end of your private pool is a great touch.

Eating at Alila is a pleasure also. Warung serves contemporary delicious Asian food in a hip restaurant that wouldn't be out of place in London or New York. We ate at Cire also and enjoyed an excellent 5 course tasting menu. Breakfasts however are the real culinary treat here. Served overlooking the infinity pool and cliffs the daily changing menu is essentially an exquisite 'all you can eat' tasting menu mixing fantastic portions of Western and Asian breakfasts. Nowhere else in Bali came close to providing such a tasty stylish breakfast!

The many staff seem to just blend into the background and are extremely friendly and helpful whilst being totally unobtrusive. They also gave us a lovely present on our departure. We had a coupe of massages at the spa and I would strongly recommend this if you needed to relax even further! Also, I have to say that I cannot believe people reviewing this place complain about the noise of the frogs! They must have been digging hard to find something to complain about as you can't even hear them and I slept well every night.

What stands Alila out also is the people staying there are all young cool couples from all over the globe. Without sounding too rude it is no bad thing that there are no overweight middle-aged Western couples lounging around by the pool! All in all its a fantastic place to stay and for honeymooners looking for total peace and tranquility its just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    58
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
91
369
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Alila Uluwatu, facing the Indian Ocean has a view that will blow you away! Standing on the edge of the cabana, facing the Indian ocean and having the wind blow into your face, that is such a peaceful feeling!

We arrived a little earlier than the check-in time and the villa was not ready thus we went straight for our 2-hours spa pampering session – heal & hydrate. For 1.6 million rupiah, you get a massage, scrub and wrap. We were at the spa after our morning on the beach so you can imagine how hot and sticky we were. Not an ideal state for massage. However Nova, our spa host was most gracious and lead us for a shower before we began our treatment.

After the shower and getting all cleaned up, Nova with her ever present smile, patiently explained what kind of massage, massage oil and scrub they have and their effectiveness. She also tested on our skin just to make sure we will not get any reaction to the products. We were also asked the type of massage we prefer and any focus area. Looking at my tanned face, Nova also suggested that i should have some cucumber slices to cool me down! Now, that's what i call service! The treatment started with a foot bath, followed by an hour of back massage. Next came the scrub and the wrap. I must add that throughout all my spa experience, this was the first that used a very soft brush to apply the wrap treatment on me. The therapists were very quiet in all their movements and the whole treatment was so relaxing, I almost fell asleep!

Needless to say, by the time our heavenly pampering ended, our villa was ready and we were whisked up to our little haven. The villas are spacious and despite being adjoining to each other along 4 rows, it still provides for a suitable level of privacy. We spent most of our time basking in our 9-meter long pool, picking up light bites at our own private cabana and of course booking up as much time slots at the Alila Spa as possible!

Oh how blissfully wonderful i felt after this whole experience! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for a 3 days 2 nites get away as our annual holiday. This time we choose Uluwatu and this stylish hotel is just worth every dollar spent. The service was remarkably detail and you can not complain on any of the food they served even as Indonesian I must say their Indonesian restaurant so called Warung was presenting delicious and tasty food! Definitely on our top get away hotels list, couldn’t wait to make our next reservations. For best view we recommend the higher villa location, ask the helpful reservations staff to get you nicest villa view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

It is so beautiful and exclusive, really enjoy my stay there. Great service. Very very nice villa. Very clean. Will definitely go back. But it is really expensive, but it is woth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Alila Villas Uluwatu offers amazingly designed villas that are hard to beat anywhere in the world. Sitting on top of the cliffs of Uluwatu, the views of the Indian Ocean from the public pools/restaurant areas are unbeatable. The villas are priced fairly competitively considering the quality of design and construction.

Uluwatu is about 20 minutes from the airport and about 40 minutes from Kuta/Seminyak area (depending on traffic). There is absolutely no retail shops around the villas. The location is secluded and very quiet. The hotel offers cars and taxi service.

The compound is very big so it is a bit of a walk to the 1 bedroom villas we stayed in. The hotel offers buggy rides to and from the villas. Every villa has a pool and a nice little gazebo that is their signature design and theme of the hotel. Our room had no view. I believe only the 3 bedroom villas offer an ocean view. The villas themselves are of a decent size, the beds super comfy and the bathrooms very luxurious. The room service was delicious but pricey.

The only complaint I have is that there are plenty of insects. We caught two worms close to our bed on two separate occasions. And a tokek could be heard doing its thing several times during the night (Creepy). The TV in our villas were in a very odd location that you couldn't really enjoy watching from the bed or the lounge/sofa area (Not going to be doing much watching but some people do). There is also no private beach. The closest beach is Dreamland which is a bit more commercialized now and has lost its appeal.

World class villas that make you don't want to leave your room. Fairly priced for the quality of service and rooms. I would definitely come back but not for a while as there are so many other great resorts in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed here for six nights in April and loved it. It's a really extraordinarily beautiful location and architecture.
We loved it! Everything was amazing, and the staff was really lovely. When we arrived we met with the Dutch chef, and he had a surprise dinner for us for every single evening. It was delicious. A beautiful place!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The ultimate experience!

My husband and I had just returned from Bali after a 6-day/5-night stay at Alila Villas Uluwatu, and we feel as if we’ve left paradise on earth. We highly recommend this splendid resort, be it a quick getaway to nourish the soul in the sights or try out the wide range of exquisite spa therapies, a romantic escape, a tranquil hideaway from the hustle & bustle of city life, and much more. Alila Villas in Uluwatu provides the perfect vacation and break overall.

The entrance and view to this magnificent place is one of awe and splendour as the lobby leads to a small water feature, onto the main pool that cascades over the cliff into the Indian Ocean. With cabanas sprawled about, you can opt to have sunset drinks in either one of them, or at the two superb restaurants, Cire and Warung whilst taking the sight of pure haven in, and enjoying the calm of the sea breeze.

Be prepared to get pampered even more when you get to your own villa. Each villa is spacious and has its own private pool and pavillon. In-villa facilities are modern and include Wi-Fi, an LCD tv with satellite channels, mini i-Pod with music which you can pre-select before check-in, other amenities such as coffee/tea, safety deposit box, etc.

Led by the debonair and professional General Manager, Sean Brennan, the team extended its warm Alila welcome and service with impeccable precision. We even had our very own villa host (butler) service, Faris, who took care of our needs with great care. The overall service in the privacy of one’s villa or at the restaurants, Cire and Warung were outstanding. The cuisines in both these restaurants are a must-try too. And the wine-lists offered fine choices and boast of our favourite champagne – Billecart-Salmon, ranging from the Brut Reserve right up to the top cru of the vintage Clos St Hilaire!

Alila Villas Uluwatu is ideal for those who desire escape into the most serene and fairly distant exclusive paradise. Seminyak is about a 30-minute drive away, pending traffic conditions.

In short, this place heals, nourishes, rejuvenates and revives the human well-being. And although some might say it is a bit on the pricey side, we say it is a small price to pay for
royal treatment and perfection. It was well worth every dollar spent, and we are already planning on our next trip back there.

To the Alila Villas Uluwatu management and team – thank you for providing us with a slice of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcase contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature's perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Villas Uluwatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.