We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming and staff like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
“Absolutely charming and staff like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My 2 daughters and I recently toured parts of Costa Rica and spent 3 nights at Bahia del Sol in Playa Potrero. We were absolutely charmed by this intimate beach front resort, The room was very nice with good quality linens, very clean and private,. What I really liked was when I took my morning walk I was only the one on the beach. What a treat to have an entire beach to myself except for a few iguana! What impressed me most was the staff who could not do enough for us. By the time we checked out we felt like we had spent a few days with family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    131
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
170
225
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My wife and I were married on the beach in front of the hotel on June 22. Our goal was to find a small hotel, somewhat private, on a beach that was not packed with people, and keep things affordable for our 20 guests. Our Costa Rican wedding coordinator, Sylvia , helped us pick the right place (she travels all over CR) and we felt she did an excellent job for what she was hired for. We felt the hotel and beach were very much what we were looking for as for much of the time we had the place nearly to ourselves. Please remember this is Costa Rica and the hotels do not compare well to the United States, AC can be noisy, a few bugs, etc. We found the hotel to be clean and the staff cordial. Now, what to watch out for: We got hosed big time on the pay by the drink option for our reception after being told by our wedding coordinator this seemed to be the better deal. Our party consumed 4 times the cost of drinks in two hours than we did in three hours the night prior at a local restaurant. It was obvious to us that we had been severely taken advantage of. Sylvia was able to "negotiate" a fee for "open bar" for the rest of the evening, but we should have done that to start. I expect getting drinks would have been much more difficult. Also, the hotel has a habit of calling local taxi drivers who are not licensed. We found this out when our taxi driver was pulled over, had his license plates confiscated, and was told to take us straight back. All laughs in retrospect there, but I had visions of being thrown in the clink two hours before my wedding. Lastly, and this being the worst problem of all. On the last day after my aunt had emptied her room safe and had her bags packed in her room, hotel staff entered her locked room while she was at breakfast and went several layers deep into her bag to steal approximately $1000. It was as if someone had been in the safe and knew exactly what they were looking for. Unfortunately, this was not discovered until she was halfway to the Liberia airport. Even with our wedding coordinator threatening to stop bringing clients to Bahia del Sol, the hotel management was essentially non-responsive and made no effort to rectify the situation. They did offer to let us fly back to San Jose to make a formal complaint to their insurance company, yea right! Seems likely that upper level employees were involved. It's too bad, because we liked the place, but won't go back!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLouis, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
I felt deeply disappointed when I read your review. For us reviews on Trip Advisor are important and I am glad other guests are clearly indicating they have NOT found the same “challenges” you did, but were attended by friendly professional staff, enjoyed great food, got value for their money and received excellent client service.

The hotel takes responsibility for services contracted through the tour desk, which only promotes entrepreneurs with the necessary permits and insurances and does not encourage anyone to contact street vendors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Nothing about this place was was acceptable. We chose this place since it was listed as a 4 star hotel. even though the hotel had very few guests they still managed to not have our rooms ready when we arrived. Guanacaste is hot and dry most of the time and this was no exception. the problem was that this hotel could not keep its air conditioning working. the AC in our room had to be fixed several times during our stay and our friends had to change rooms twice because the AC could not be fixed.

The restaurant left a lot to be desired.meals were very overpriced and they spent more time making them look artsy rather than making things taste deliscious, meats were consistently overcooked and tough. we chose tofind other restaurants to eat at.

the pool is very shallow and basically served for a swim up bar so for those that just wanted to soak and escape the heat it made a very awkward since its too shallow to swim yet too deep to sit.

we like being able to get out and do things in costa rica and their website made it seem everything was close. Most things were a two hour drive to get to. we booked several trips and were a bit angered to find they charged a 40% booking fee.

We have traveled a lot in Costa Rica and I have never run into problems like this at any hotel large or small. and to be charged rates as if it were a 4 star hotel and then get THIS was beyond ridiculous. this is not the place to visit if its a 1st time to costa rica. Costa Rica is so much better than this please look elswhere and you will be much happier.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phladelphia, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Lush grounds, lovely pool (although spa was cold), brown sand beach not great. Most guests lounge at pool. No yoga, bikes as advertised on website. Rooms are dark & tired: worn linens, bathrooms moldy, shower didn't drain. We decided to spend our time outside: enjoyed the catamaran sail and snorkel and jetskiing (heavily marked up!) Most staff courteous, but not overly helpful. Restaurant average food, nice setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLouis, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2009
Dear Sir,

I am sorry to see these remarks about your stay at our Boutique hotel and wish you would have indicated me your concerns during your stay giving us the chance to do better.

Bahia has changed its website to a new direction and I fear you got some information from the old site which without a doubt should have been either taken off the internet or modified.

You can choose of over 20 excursions of the hotel. Since we practice Sustainable Tourism (and are certified by our government for this with the level 3 leaves!) we seek to promote local micro entrepreneurs brining a direct and tangible benefit to the community and keeping in mind what is best for Costa Ricas delicate nature and ecosystem, therefore you have found we do not promote waverunners, these excursions are offered by street vendors without the necessary insurance who charge as they do. The hotel does not intervene in these negotiations as it is against our company policies.

Our yoga instructor just got her first child and had to suspend classes for 6 weeks, if interested in yoga classes it would have been best to advise us the evening before so we would have gottenyou another instructor. Kimberly is back now at the Bahia and is offering as always her classes that are said to be ”deceptively strenuous, yet surprisingly gentle” as she blends Vinyasa flow and the principles of body alignment into a mindful yoga awareness. Her approach is to offer a warm, comfortable space to inspire and enhance everyone's experience.
Kim is a graduate from the University of Colorado and is an International Yoga Alliance Accreditated teach. Her in-depth knowledge and practice of the countless branches of yoga and yoga instruction have been honed through years of yoga teaching as well as deeper studies under the supervision of various leaders in the yoga world. It is her steadfast belief that yoga is for everyone; all are welcome to flow and grow in their practice with Kim.

At the end of this month we will have wonderful new bed linens and a pillow menu all imported from the USA. Soft, silky and delicious to sleep in!

Visible from the lobby is the colorful jungle that fills the heart of our hotel, all our rooms are situated around it. An array of exotic plants and trees, including coconut palms, banana trees, wild ginger, heliconias, and a 100-year-old still-flowering Guanacaste tree—the national tree of Costa Rica— are part of this jungle that has been carefully and lovingly designed so that every room can enjoy it from its front patio or balcony. In summer the shade generated by the trees and plants keeps the temperature down and in winter it is a lush jungle well worth taking some pictures of. Most guests enjoy this garden that brings them some refreshing shade since Guanacaste is the warmest and driest province of Costa Rica. This jungle does shed more shade into the rooms, but also make them more private, you can´t see through the vegetation to the rooms in front of you. Please have a look at the hotel map published on our site so you may get a good idea about the center garden.

I am a little envious on other beaches who have that incredible eye blinding white sand. BUT I am proud on ours since there are almost no persons on this secluded beach to be found and.... we are right at the beach, no crossing of public roads to get to it! The over 2 miles cinnamon colored beach has NO dangerous currents therefore swimming is safe for adults and children. To the right you can walk to an estuary to do some bird watching, to the left you can walk to Flamingo to visit a bar or restaurant. You know, there is not enough drinking water in the Potrero area for future constructions – our clients will have the beach practically for their own and on their vacation pictures there will be NO bystanders! That, among others, is why many weddings are celebrated at the Bahia.

I am sorry not to have lived up to your expectations and will take your comments in a positive and constructive manner and try to make the necessary changes and be more careful the next time. At the Bahia we are a team of young and dynamic professionals and our main goal is to exceed client expectations. Every day we strive to do better, to please more and I want to thank you sincerely for your comments.

Regards,
Miranda Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

To start off, I would just like to say that we were going to book our wedding at Bahia del Sol but circumstances forced us to cancel - we were forced to have the wedding in a different area of Costa Rica. I would just like to say that the Roxana and all the staff at Bahia del Sol were extremely helpful, and their restaurant and grounds are spectacular (according to my father who lives in Flamingo and eats here all the time). We will definately keep them in mind for future holidays.

d+l

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I stayed at the Bahia Del Sol Hotel in May 2009 as part of a Wedding Party and was satisfied with the overall experience.

STAFF: They were very friendly and helpful.

LOCATION: The drive from the airport in Liberia was about 1 hr. The hotel is in a private beach area off of a dirt road. Around the area there are some grocery stores and there are a couple restaurants off of the hotel that are only a short walk away. The WORST PART of the hotel was the ocean water. The water was extremely murky from the dark volcanic sand so that it was always cloudy. Most people in our group did not want to go in go fear of getting bitten by some unseen, unknown creature. The scenery however was very beautiful and tropical. The hotel has a very nice warm pool, with seating for a bar. While we were there, the jacuzzi's were never warm and flying ants also bombarded the pool a couple times (caution: they bite). There's plenty of lawn chairs on grass for lounging as well as a restaurant area.

ROOMS: The rooms were quite clean and spacious. I didn't have anything stolen (always a plus)! They included air-conditioning and a refrigerator.

PRICE: For the wedding, we had a deal to pay for three days for a room and you get the forth free. A complimentary breakfast was included -- there was plenty of fruit, juice, eggs, and rice and beans. By the fourth day, the rice and beans got a little bit tiring and could have been changed with something else.

WEDDING: The wedding on the lawn was decorated very well, and the lawn was cleaned at our request. During the ceremony, people in the ocean were unfortunately making noise. The DJ for the dancing did not MC really at all, which was disappointing. The food was very good though.

So, overall, there were some low-lights and some high-lights of this hotel. It was decent, but there might be a better option in the area.

I HAVE ATTACHED SOME PICTURES OF THE ROOM AND HOTEL PREMESIS.

PS. The Catamaran tour is a great time!!! It is less expensive, closer, and just as fun (if not better) than the zip-line/ hot spring tour. We talked the Catamaran tour down to $50 per person.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Bahia Del Sol is the perfect hotel a private, beautiful and amazing wedding. The hotel staff, service and food were over and beyond our expectations. The hotel is directly on a private, quite and beautiful beach. It's truly breathtaking!!! The rooms are clean and spacious; the staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel grounds are filled with lush gardens and extoic plants. The pool bar and area is really nice. It definitely feels like you’re in Costa Rica. We are extremely happy that we chose Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites for our wedding weekend location.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Address: Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.