We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Potrero
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Bahia Del Sol was nice & clean. It was also secluded, which we liked. The only problem with this place were the prices charged in the bar & restaurant. We caught our own fish, had them cook it, and they charged us more than if we had bought a plate with their fish. It was at least 4 times more than their nearest competitor. We should've known better, since the first night we were there, my husband ordered 2 drinks, one with alcohol, one with out, and it cost $25. If you stay at the Bahia, go next door to the Coconut Beach Club to drink or eat, although there are a lot of great inexpensive places close by.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Even they suggested going somewhere else to eat & drink.:)

Room Tip: The Standard rooms were very nice for 2, but the Suite would've been great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Gerente at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear LadyHogRider,

We are happy that your overall experience with us was good, thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment. You are absolutely right; we apologize for overpricing on the cooking on your fish. Recently we have changed management and we are working on improving the experience of our guests, your feedback only helps us improve and we are very grateful for that. Delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff.

Hope that you will give our Hotel another chance in the near future so that you can experience firsthand the improvements in our services, since it is our goal to offer relaxing and pleasant stays to all of our guests.

Thank you again; Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    104
    23
    12
    12
See reviews for
134
176
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I just spent 21 days at the Bahia Del Sol--from January 29th to February 19. Needless to say, then you stay anywhere this long, you really get to know a place And the longer we stayed, the more we came to love this gem.

It's not just the immaculately kept grounds, or the fact that it's right on the beach, it's more than that. It's small and personal, but can deliver anything you could get at a larger resort. While we were there, they hosted several weddings, which were all very well done and also hosted a company outing for more than 240 guests, with catamarans, jet skis, kayaks, and umbrellas on the beach. They even have spa services (which we didn't take advantage of) and a small store/gift shop which carries everything from suntan lotion, to sunglasses to coffee and tee shirts.

More than anything, it's the people of the Bahia that shine--as brightly as the Costa Rican sun. We had great service from Mike, Maureen and Priscilla at the front desk (which is an outside open-air affair). They arranged for shuttles, tours and changed our money into the local currency--as well as giving us helpful advice on where to go and what to see. Mike (the manager) even came to our hotel room one night to get our wi-fi (which is free) to work on our laptop.

The folks at the outside restaurant and bar were also amazing--and treated us like family. The majority of them have been at the Bahia for many years. Leo and Jimmy at the bar are as talented as any bartenders we have ever seen. And the service we received at the restaurant from Marvin, Jose, Christine and Nubia was top notch. Although we got a chance to sample many of the local restaurants, two of the dinners we had at the Bahia were the most memorable. For my birthday, they prepared a table for us on a little grassy knoll, under an umbrella, out near the beach--50 feet from where the surf was rolling up. They were clearly committed to creating a special event for us--and they certainly pulled it off, with white table cloths, candlelight and all. They also prepared a wonderful dinner for us on Valentines Day. We were simply amazed that a small resort like this could offer such a full menu--and then deliver on every dish. Everything we ordered, from seared tuna, to watermelon smoothies, to bloody marys, was as good as you can get anywyere. As a note, the coffee they serve is Costa Rican. It was so good, we bought 4 lbs to take home.

While we carefully read many of the Trip Advisor reviews prior to booking the Bahia, we are hard pressed to identify with any of the negative comments people have left--although there are not that many. One person mentioned that the pool was not as clean as it could be. Well, this place is very lush--with lots of large trees and plants all around. Even though we observed the pool being cleaned several times a day--you could always find a few small floating husks or seeds. It certainly never detracted from our enjoyment of the pool--or the swim-up bar. A few people also mentioned the presence of flies in the restaurant. Well... you have to simply understand, the seating area of the restaurant is located outside, under a huge thached roof. Although there was an occasional winged pest, it was never an issue--and the benefit of warm sea breezes blowing though the restaurant, far outweighed any inconvenience. Additionally, our room was always perfectly clean, and everything we needed was provided. For instance, we asked the front desk if it might be possible to get a microwave to make popcorn at night--and an hour or two later, a brand new one was left on the counter in our room. They even bothered to plug it in.

All in all, we would highly recommend this place. It was exactly the relaxing type of spot my wife and I were looking for. So...if YOU are looking for a small, intimate resort, where every staff member sincerely goes the extra mile to make sure you're happy--but yet is large enough to provide all the important services, you'll be happy here.

Room Tip: We had room 112 in the back of the resort--furthest from the beach. It was large and seemed recentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights for my brother's wedding. The place is scenic and peaceful - we spent a lot of time just relaxing in the padded lounge chairs by the pool or on the beach. My favorite part was the gardens in the center of the hotel grounds, full of tall palms and tropical flowers. Walking along the garden path back to our room was like being in a tropical forest. The suites are enormous - much more room than my husband and I had expected. Not only do you have a full kitchen and living room, but each suite has its own patio with outdoor lounge chairs and/or hammocks. The hotel hosted the rehearsal dinner and morning-after brunch for the whole wedding. The food was pretty good, though I'm not enough of an expert to comment on the authenticity of the Costa Rican dishes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bahia and I can't say enough good things about it. Located on peaceful Playa Portrero we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing location to end our Costa Rican adventure. The staff was fantastic, the food was delicious (our room included breakfast also) and the grounds were beautiful. It has a wonderful pool with a swim up bar (thank you Leo and Jimmy!) If you want a lot of nightife, a beach full of people and lots of shops, then this isn't the place. There are plenty of restaurants with good food and nightlife within walking distance (el coconut, the shack, maxwells).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wish I could spend forever at Bahia del Sol! But we only spent 4 nights. The rooms are luxurious, the food is soooo wonderful, and the service was great. The housekeeping kept our rooms spotless and comfortable, well the bartender (Orlando) made sure we had great drinks!! Marvin, in charge of the food service, ensured delicious meals. We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner and were grateful of all the staff for working that night. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Found the grounds pretty, food in restaurant very good. The bartender (Leo) was great the first night, he was able to keep up with orders in a way that subsequent bartenders needed to emulate. The manager-sorry I forgot his name- was also very helpful.
The beach is brown sand, not white. I knew that when we booked.
Yes, I did see a couple of dead bugs behind the bed but hey, it's the tropics. Better than the live cockroach I saw in a high end property in Arenal! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently returned from a two week stay at the Bahia del Sol, which proved to be a lovely hotel. If you want somewhere quiet with an unspoilt beach (not white sand), staff (including maintenance) who are pleasant and efficient, beautiful gardens and an inviting pool, this is the place. Its location is quiet, the restaurant is good with a couple of alternative places to eat within walking distance and more a taxi ride away in Flamingo. We stayed in a spacious two roomed suite (308) on the first floor which also had an outside area with sofas and sun beds. The general feel of Bahia del Sol is laid back and restful, a perfect place to re-charge and relax.
Minor constructive comment: would have preferred a more subdued colour scheme both around the hotel and in the suite - but maybe this is typical Costa Rican.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Address: Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.