We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Potrero
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wish I could spend forever at Bahia del Sol! But we only spent 4 nights. The rooms are luxurious, the food is soooo wonderful, and the service was great. The housekeeping kept our rooms spotless and comfortable, well the bartender (Orlando) made sure we had great drinks!! Marvin, in charge of the food service, ensured delicious meals. We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner and were grateful of all the staff for working that night. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    104
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
136
176
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding,CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Found the grounds pretty, food in restaurant very good. The bartender (Leo) was great the first night, he was able to keep up with orders in a way that subsequent bartenders needed to emulate. The manager-sorry I forgot his name- was also very helpful.
The beach is brown sand, not white. I knew that when we booked.
Yes, I did see a couple of dead bugs behind the bed but hey, it's the tropics. Better than the live cockroach I saw in a high end property in Arenal! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently returned from a two week stay at the Bahia del Sol, which proved to be a lovely hotel. If you want somewhere quiet with an unspoilt beach (not white sand), staff (including maintenance) who are pleasant and efficient, beautiful gardens and an inviting pool, this is the place. Its location is quiet, the restaurant is good with a couple of alternative places to eat within walking distance and more a taxi ride away in Flamingo. We stayed in a spacious two roomed suite (308) on the first floor which also had an outside area with sofas and sun beds. The general feel of Bahia del Sol is laid back and restful, a perfect place to re-charge and relax.
Minor constructive comment: would have preferred a more subdued colour scheme both around the hotel and in the suite - but maybe this is typical Costa Rican.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A very nice experience. Fantastic rooms, nice grounds and a very good ubication by the beach. The food was good and the service was helpful. Potrero is very peaceful and here you can relax listening the sound of the sea. Recommended for those who like quietness in a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The food (breakfast which was included and dinner for purchase) were good, the staff (especially Jimmy) was fantastic. We ate dinner here one night. The other nights we went to the Coconut club next door and Playa Flamingo. The grounds were well kept and very pretty. The location with the beach and pool was great. Easy drive to Tamarindo and Playa del Coco. The room was great/average for what we wanted for the price- huge bed, the ac worked, the bathroom was a little dated. There were some ants in the room. All in all we thought the hotels location and staff were probably the best part.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet, we were in the far back corner of the resort but any room probably would have wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our party of 7 adults and two children stayed a week this January (2013) at this hotel, and it is simply a beach paradise. The photos on its web site do not do it justice; it is actually much more beautiful and charming than it appears.

Located right on the beach, the hotel maintains its own grassy area around its lovely swimming pool and leading right up to the beach. This grassy area is amply populated with cushioned chaise lounges and umbrellas for shade as well as large, picturesque palm trees. Paths through the palms and other tropical vegetation lead off from the pool and dining room and reception areas to the various rooms, which offer good privacy and many outside hammocks.

The rooms are not enormous, but spacious enough and they offer some local charm, too, including glass tile partial walls separating the shower area from the rest of the bathroom. Rooms include coffee makers and (very weak) wireless internet.

The pool has a great swim-up bar (also accessible from the dry side by the open-air dining room). The food and drink at the restaurant is excellent-we had great breakfasts there every day, lunch on most days, and dinner at least once. The tropical fruit smoothies (with or without the local rum, Guaro), are excellent, as are the cappuccinos.

At least as wonderful as the setting, which is truly exceptional, is the staff. The people who work at this hotel could not possibly be more helpful and accommodating—especially Jimmy, Nubia, Hector, and Maureen, who all went out of their way to make us feel welcome and well attended to. I know I’m omitting mention of a couple of others who were extremely kind, and I apologize for not including their names. The staff was without exception, truly extraordinary on all counts.

The location is also excellent. We walked directly across the street to the fun restaurant “El Coconut” for dinner twice—live music on Sundays, swimming pool and lawn for the kids, and even a bocci court. Great barbecue Friday-Monday nights. We also walked two minutes down the street to “The Shack” for dinner twice, too—don’t miss their local, Costa Rican microbrews or their excellent fish and ships. And we walked 20 minutes down the beach to Las Brisas, a charming, very informal restaurant literally on the beach. If you have a car, you can make short drives to Flamingo Beach, Las Catalinas, and other nearby beach, shopping, and dining areas. This was a once-in-a-lifetime vacation at a unique, beautiful, welcoming hotel with everything we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is a gem. It is a perfect place for someone who doesn't want the huge American resorts. It is a quaint hotel with spectacular rooms ( clean, huge and comfortable) right on a uncrowded beach. The staff was incredible. By day two they all knew our name and always greeted us by name. I found the service to be prompt and outstanding. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the tow bedroom suite, which was gigantic. There really isn't a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Address: Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.