We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older charming beachfront hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redding,CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Older charming beachfront hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights. Found the grounds pretty, food in restaurant very good. The bartender (Leo) was great the first night, he was able to keep up with orders in a way that subsequent bartenders needed to emulate. The manager-sorry I forgot his name- was also very helpful.
The beach is brown sand, not white. I knew that when we booked.
Yes, I did see a couple of dead bugs behind the bed but hey, it's the tropics. Better than the live cockroach I saw in a high end property in Arenal! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    131
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
170
225
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently returned from a two week stay at the Bahia del Sol, which proved to be a lovely hotel. If you want somewhere quiet with an unspoilt beach (not white sand), staff (including maintenance) who are pleasant and efficient, beautiful gardens and an inviting pool, this is the place. Its location is quiet, the restaurant is good with a couple of alternative places to eat within walking distance and more a taxi ride away in Flamingo. We stayed in a spacious two roomed suite (308) on the first floor which also had an outside area with sofas and sun beds. The general feel of Bahia del Sol is laid back and restful, a perfect place to re-charge and relax.
Minor constructive comment: would have preferred a more subdued colour scheme both around the hotel and in the suite - but maybe this is typical Costa Rican.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A very nice experience. Fantastic rooms, nice grounds and a very good ubication by the beach. The food was good and the service was helpful. Potrero is very peaceful and here you can relax listening the sound of the sea. Recommended for those who like quietness in a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The food (breakfast which was included and dinner for purchase) were good, the staff (especially Jimmy) was fantastic. We ate dinner here one night. The other nights we went to the Coconut club next door and Playa Flamingo. The grounds were well kept and very pretty. The location with the beach and pool was great. Easy drive to Tamarindo and Playa del Coco. The room was great/average for what we wanted for the price- huge bed, the ac worked, the bathroom was a little dated. There were some ants in the room. All in all we thought the hotels location and staff were probably the best part.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet, we were in the far back corner of the resort but any room probably would have wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is a gem. It is a perfect place for someone who doesn't want the huge American resorts. It is a quaint hotel with spectacular rooms ( clean, huge and comfortable) right on a uncrowded beach. The staff was incredible. By day two they all knew our name and always greeted us by name. I found the service to be prompt and outstanding. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the tow bedroom suite, which was gigantic. There really isn't a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In our opinion this hotel does not deserve the high ratings that it has received. The service was not very attentive other than the bell hop who transported bags and handled basic service needs. The front desk reception was not good at following through with any reservations or special requests. The food was average at best with very limited menu. A big disappointment. The lounge chairs and seating in general were"tired". Not clean. The place mats in the restaurant were sometimes not clean. Often had to ask for silverware. Best part of this facility is the location in a very quiet bay. No fitness center. Would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in Playa Portrero at Bahia del Sol and just fell in love with the hotel. It's a bit secluded so don't expect a lot of traffic, but just a short ~15 minute drive south to Tamarindo can get you to restaurants/ bars/ more populated area.

The rooms weren't magnificent but we didn't spend much time there!! We were too busy making friends with Orlando, Greddy and Leo- the most amazing Costa Rican, "Ticos" staff you'll ever meet. The swimming pool has an inset/ swim up bar and you can just practice your spanish and drink freshly prepared Pina Coladas all afternoon. They truly made our trip.

Si estas leyendo Orlando, gracias para practicando conmigo!!
Esa & Mark

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Address: Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.