We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a local in Potrero Bay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Live like a local in Potrero Bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you are up for the adventure (driving in Costa Rica is interesting) it's worth the trip to the sleepy town of Potrero. Bahia Del Sol sits right on the beach, is near several attractions on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica and is only 45-60 minutes from Liberia Airport. The hotel was excellent - for the price. I have to admit our rate was a steal, but the hotel seemed to be making renovations and improvements. The grounds are beautiful, the food was delicious, the rooms were spacious and comfortable and authentically furnished. The pool could use a little TLC, and there is no hot tub - but the weather is so warm you might not miss it. Breakfast is included, and is delicious. Happy hour at the tiki bar. The welcome drink Mango Menta - your refreshment when you arrive, was maybe the best thing I've ever tasted. The staff were so friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants within walking distance, and a locals bar on the corner. You can also walk to the grocery store (the rooms have a mini fridge) and save some more money that way! With your own car you can explore, or book a tour through the hotel which includes transportation and lunch.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard double. You have a shared front porch with some chairs and a hammock, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Guest Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Gesyka, we really appreciate that you choose our property for your big day, that’s once in a lifetime event and we feel honored for that, thank you for taking you time to write this review
From all our Staff we wish you the best on your new life.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    131
    28
    13
    13
See reviews for
170
225
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanjose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Lovely place, delicious food we had a great time at the hotel. The location is perfect close to many beaches out of which some are a walking distance. The staff was great and very friendly. Definitely go back for next beach vacations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Afrincanquest, thank you very much for your comments, specially for telling that you’ll come back.
We Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

While we did not stay at Bahia del Sol, we had our wedding there in February. During this time of year, the Playa Flamingo area is incredibly dry and you do not see the lush greenery that Costa Rica is known for. However, Bahia del Sol is a beautiful Oasis in an otherwise dry area. The lawn was green, the palm trees were beautiful and i can't imagine having my wedding anywhere else. The staff was incredibly professional and did not charge us for little extras (like an extra table, plugging in our own music to the stereo system, a place to change into our wedding clothes, etc.) that most other places would have. We had our wedding on the beach, cocktails in the Rancho and dinner on the grass. The menu was phenomenal and we opted for a tres leches cake instead of a traditional wedding cake and it was the most magnificent tres leches we had in all of Costa Rica (and we were there for a month and ate a lot of Tres Leches Cake!) The hotel also was smaller than a lot of hotels which lent to its intimate feeling. Hands down, there is no better place to have a wedding than Bahia del Sol.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Gesyka, we want to thank you for choosing our property for you special day, and thank you for your comments, all our staff really appreciate it and thank you for recommending us.
Now you need to come back and stay with us for your next vacations
We Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We recently took a trip to Costa Rica, we rented a car and took a road trip from San Jose to Arenal with Playa Potrero being our final destination. We were extremely pleased with the resort. It was small enough to maintain it's intimate setting, yet still felt the catering services from the staff which were extremely helpful and nice. Rooms were large enough, we reserved the deluxe room with the private jacuzzi in it's private patio- The rooms were very clean, and the restrooms were modern and up to date which was a big factor for us. The private beach was clean and unpopulated which made our walks on the beach very pleasant. Many beautiful sunsets were seen from our lounge chairs on the beach. I can't stress enough how helpful and charming the staff was. Breakfast on their open air patio was my favorite part of the day, because it was a given that we would engage in nice conversations with the staff- On our last evening there, the staff offered to set up a private table- beachfront, with tiki torches and private bonfire...the setting was extremely romantic and a perfect way to end our final evening at Bahia. My only recommendation is try to stay longer than we did- 3 days was definitely not enough time to enjoy the beauty and relaxation this resort has to offer.

Room Tip: Negotiate the prices directly. What is noted on the website is not necessarily the rate you can obta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Grace, we want to thank you for this great review, and also the nice comments about our staff, we all really appreciate your comments and thank you for recommending us.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend and his family. Although, the staff were nice and very helpful, I feel like the bad outweighed the good.

The bad:
Dated rooms: this place definitely needs a facelift, in terms of shower, moldings, etc.
Housekeeping: I felt like all they really did everyday was make our bed and that's it. I constantly felt like the floor was super dusty. There was a dead spider on the ground from day 1 and I kept thinking they would catch it while sweeping the floor but nope.
Beds: 75% sure that the beds her have bed bugs. Both my boyfriend have these weird little bites clustering our feet that do not resemble mosquito bites. Bleh.
Restaurant: meh.
Location: a little isolated
Pool: crap ton of leaves and their spa is not heated

The good:
awesome staff: super helpful and friendly
Cheap drinks: simply addicted to the piña coladas here. Happy hour is a great deal here also (50% off).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Gracey, thank you for your feedback, at this moment we are making some little changes in our cleaning standard, but an important point is that if you read the rest of the reviews you can see that people are really pleased with our general maintenance and cleaning standards.
Also we appreciate the positive comments you post, our Staff really appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is the second time we have gone to this hotel. I love it. It is off the beaten path but very enjoyable. I intend to go again soon.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms we have had were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a lovely little resort. It 3km down a dirt road from Playa Flamingo. We stayed in a 2 bedrm., 2 bath unit; basically a small apt. The rooms are clean & tastefully furnished. The pool area is small, but so is the resort, so not an issure. It is right on Playa Potrero. This is a great walking/swimming beach. Sand is hard packed & fairly level. Ocean is calm & warm. You can walk for a half hour in either direction & barely see anyone. The room comes with breakfast, which is made to order and a small buffet of fruits, cereals, breads. The service at reception & in the resturant is very good. There is an adequate number of lounges at the pool, but they could use a few more, as well as cushions, & palapas. There is a whirlpool, but it isn't heated, which is something they should add. The grounds are lovely with lots of wildlife. There are a few stray beach dogs that wander in from time to time, but they are so sweet & friendly that I didn't mind them. There is a little grocery store around the corner that you can walk to & buy snacks, soda, beer, etc. There isn't really any resturants that we would consider eating dinner at nearby. But, there are wonderful resturants in Playa Flamingo, & most will come pick you up if you call them. Taxis run about 8$ US each way to Playa Flamingo. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here & would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear Gotham1, thank you for choose our property for your vacations, also we really appreciate that you took some time to write this review, we appreciate your suggestions and we are going to analyze, all our Staff really appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Address: Bahia Potrero, Playa Potrero 11745, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.