We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!!! Absolutely recommend it,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sugar Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sugar Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Sugar Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Pan de Azucar, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!!! Absolutely recommend it,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Hotel Sugar Beach was unbelievable! It is very private, remote and romantic. If you're looking for a complete getaway, Sugar Beach is the place.

The road leading into the hotel is rough but managable. A SUV is necessary. There are many local day trips that are very accessible by car. For surfing, I would recommend Playa Grande. Steer clear of Tamirindo!

The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful and the food is to die for. I would recommend the 2 bedroom suite for an older family. The bedrooms are separate with no internal connection, but both lead out to an outdoor living room/patio,

I wouldn't recommend Sugar Beach if you are looking for a touristy resort but would absolutely recommend if you are looking for a RELAXING, fun getaway.

  • Liked — The sunset and the beaches!
  • Disliked — not much!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    56
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
60
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Sugar Beach for four nights during our honeymoon in April 2008. Overall -- it was nice, and I recommend it. The price is pretty good for the kind of seclusion and beach access that the hotel provides.

Pros:
- The hotel may or may not have been fully booked, but we always felt like we could carve out a big chunk of the beach to ourselves.
- The restaurant and drinks were pretty good, and the prices weren't outrageous.
- The rooms were very clean.
- Those nice hammocks (in the pictures) aren't made for two people, and we ripped one , and the staff were nice and didn't make us pay.
- The views were amazing! The sunsets were gorgeous.

Cons:
- The road to get to the property is very rough. Get an SUV.
- The road to get to the property has a couple of places where it is not clearly marked, so do this during the daytime.
- There were spiders in our room (daddy long legs) which appeared at, shall we say, inopportune times.
- The water never was really warm. The best we could hope for was tepid.
- If you want to spend all day being active and not just laying on the beach (as we did a couple of times), the road into town is long.

So yeah, I'd recommend it for a mid-range honeymoon getaway, especially if seclusion and quiet are what you're looking for.

  • Liked — views, beach, pool, food
  • Disliked — water temp, spiders, location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Sugar Beach hotel is about as close to perfection as you can get on vacation, especially on a reasonable budget. Okay, I may be slightly biased because I was married at Sugar Beach, but I feel I can still at least attempt a realistic description.

Not only did our dream wedding, the first few days of our honeymoon, and our most anticipated vacation depend on the quality and hospitality of Sugar Beach, but most importantly, so did the happiness and satisfaction of our friends and family while in Costa Rica. Since forty people agreed to come and celebrate with us in a foreign country, the pressure was on!

No worries however! Sugar Beach delivered in every way and all fourty of our guests were beyond pleased!

Sure, the (very) bumpy dirt road to Sugar Beach might be a bit of a challenge, but it is worth the end result! You arrive at a calm, secluded and stunnigly beautiful paradise. The night we arrived, we immediately ran down to the beach and found ourselves gawking at millions of starts sparkling brightly over the ocean.

The staff is increadibly friendly (shout-out to Victor!), and hospitable. Not the most efficient, but if you are at Sugar Beach and in a rush, there is probably something wrong with your vacation. The food is good, not fancy, but tasty and satisfying. One of our friends went fishing and the chef agreed to cook the fish he cought. It was delicious!

The property is beautiful with iguanas running around everywhere. The rooms clean and comfortable, with some local flare! Every room we had for our group was different, each comfortable and lovely. We are not excited about large, chain hotels, and luckily everything about Sugar Beach was the anthitesis of one.

The best part was the beach house where our group spent each night sipping wine after dinner, chatting, looking at the starts and listening to the waves crash against the sand.

Although isolated, its not too hard to get from Sugar Beach to Flamingo by taxi or car, so you have a choice between a relaxing evening at the hotel restaurant or a wild night dancing in Flamingo.

I can go on for days, but I won't. All I can say is that you won't be dissapointed!

  • Liked — the beautiful beach and friendly service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for 5 nights. We had a large balcony that overlooked the beach. Our room was set back a bit and secluded from the other buildings and it was fantastic. My inlaws got a regular room (no ocean view) yet, they had a perfect view of the ocean. Tons of iguanas everywhere on the property and the food was pretty good...the drinks were a little weak. I loved this hotel and will absolutely return again, as it is only 1.5 hrs from the Liberia airport. I can't believe this hotel is not more popular...beautiful beach, lovely hotel and spectacular sunsets. We swam everyday in the calm warm surf......I can't wait to go back! The only negative (super minor) the cleaning staff are there about 9am to clean rooms and they just lurk around your room until you feel compelled to leave so that they can clean. I also didn't find the restaurant staff very friendly, but.....my fault for not speaking the language. This place is incredible and very affordable.

  • Liked — the private beautiful beach and the close proximity the the Rincon De Vieja Forest (incredible)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in late March. It has a lovely private beach with wonderful surf for swimming. The pool is quiet, too, if you prefer that. There are bungalows and paths throughout the property, hammocks to relax in. Rooms are nicely appointed, but not over the top. Very comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly. The sunsets were amazing! Very romantic. Food was excellent. The roads getting to Sugar Beach are rough -- bring your dramamine. Once you're there, it's worth it. Sign up for the outrigger canoe trip and snorkel. I could have stayed much longer.

  • Liked — seclusion, great beach
  • Disliked — hard to get to
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

This is a wonderful place whose best qualities are the staff and the beach. My family of 5 was there for 5 nites, with other extended family there for several of those. Even when there were 16 of us, the restaurant staff knew our names. We often had the same waiter (Francisco) nite to nite and he was great with the kids. Everyone is just very warm and friendly. We changed around who was in which building and they moved our luggage without problem.

The beach is phenomenal. It is very rocky to one side, which is hidden at high tide. Stay toward the center- beautiful sand well out into the sea. The waves were perfect. Boogie boards for $1/hour at the front desk. We were new to that, but adults down to our 5 year old had a blast. Lots of sand for building and lounging. There is a lack of shade. It would be fabulous if they built a couple of shelters or gave out umbrellas. The kids and I also had fun at low tide, checking out the tide pools-fascinating.

We were booked in the 2 room 'suite.' They are beautiful rooms, steps from the beach, sharing a lovely, well-furnished terrace. But since the rooms themselves were not connected, we switched with other members of our family. (Travel agent's fault). We did spend lots of time on the shaded terrace tho, playing cards or games to stay out of the mid-day sun.

So we stayed in the 5 bedroom villa toward the end of the property. It's large, with a kitchen and laundry. Big LR and porch. Master suite is awesome, with ocean view. Be aware of the discrepancy among rooms; you could fit all the other bedrooms into the master, as well as the 2 other bathrooms into master bath with ease. Also, the a/c's in the small rooms are VERY loud (quiet in master and living rooms). One was broken the evening we arrived, but workers came to fix it the next morning.

We did not have a car, so ate every meal on site. The food was always good, and the included breakfast was ample. There was a marimba band two evenings, which was quite pleasant.

Main problem is DARK, gravely, rocky road to the villa. Difficult to navigate at nite, and impossible if you have difficulty walking. Twice, a tarantula was spotted by those with flashlights. I also saw a scorpion scurrying away one evening on the porch. Now, you are in the tropics, and these creatures were trying to stay away from us, just be aware, and if you're in the villa, bring flashlites! Other buildings had lighted paths with steps.

  • Liked — people
  • Disliked — lack of shade
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Just returned from honeymoon in CR. First 5 days at Sugar Beach. We really enjoyed our stay here, and could barely make ourselves leave. We stayed in one of the master suites, which was very nice. Nicely furnished, comfortable bed, great A/C, bathroom, porches, etc. Lots of friendly Iguanas on the grounds, no monkeys spotted or heard though. Food was very good. We sampled just about all of the fish dishes and loved them all. Perfect portion sizes, and plenty of really good fresh fruit. Great service. By the end of the week, we felt like the waiters were old friends. The view from the dining area is incredible. The beach area is not all that large, but plenty big for the small crowds here. The tide pools on each side of the beach area were great to explore and discover all sorts of creatures if you look close enough. Almost all positives to report here. Just a few minor negatives. This place is pretty isolated, but I think thats the idea. We don't mind walking a ways and did so almost daily. Walked all the way to Brasilito one day, quite a haul along beach and dusty roads. Probably 6 miles or more. Little town of Potrero is nearby to buy beer or calling cards, snacks, or whatever. Still a good steep sweaty walk. As far as the hotel goes, our room was on the far end and rear of the property, and I believe near the septic area. It got pretty ripe on occasion, especially after rain. We got used to it. You actually couldn't smell it at all once in the room with the A/C on. I think we were in the only spot where it would be a concern. You really can't expect one place to be completely perfect. Overall we absolutely loved it and recommended this place to everyone on the rest of our trip. If your OK with more or less staying put for a few days, this place is paradise. Incredible views and surroundings. Very quiet. Comfortable. Great food. A really special place.

  • Liked — Views, Food, Everything
  • Disliked — Minor septic smell
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sugar Beach

Address: Playa Pan de Azucar, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sugar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sugar Beach Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sugar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.