We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Melray
1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Made our Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Casa Melray exceeded our expectation. We rented the guest house, which was not on the beach but was spectacular. It had it's own outdoor areas and it's own kitchen. The location of Casa Melray was perfect as it's beach was beautiful and had very few beach goers. Close walk to many restaurants and corner stores. Mel and Ray were wonderful hosts and really added to our enjoyment. They had the entire area mapped out and helped us book last minute excursions and how to get to amazing beaches.

Room Tip: The guest house was great for our family. The kids would run out the door straight into the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a find this place was for us, it was like a "diamond in the rough!" First of all the place is absolutely gorgeous, with a beautiful view of the ocean and we witnessed some beautiful sunsets!
The Hosts - Mel and Ray, went above and beyond, they treated us like we were guests in their home as opposed to customers in a hotel. Very gracious with their time and spent many evenings socializing. Very knowledgable about tours, restaurants and anything else one needs to know about the area. We can't wait to go back as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved our time at Casa Melray so much last winter (2012) that we returned this February for another month of sheer bliss. Mel and Ray welcomed us like old friends - open arms and warm words. The three friends who joined us in 2012 grew to six friends this year and no surprise the new recruits were blown away by the amenities and by Mel and Ray's legendary friendliness. This year we experienced our first 'fiesta' (local rodeo) - it was too much fun - not to be missed! Whether we had a busy day or a hang-around-the-pool-day every day we'd welcome the evening by gathering on the beach to sip a glass of wine and toast the sunset. Winter 2014 Can't come FAST ENOUGH!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Enthusiastic proprietors, so helpful and welcoming. The hotel rooms are all different and you can select the configuration that works for you. All rooms are huge and pleasantly arranged with everything you need. Our room included flat screen TV, pleasant sitting for viewing, lovely bathroom with huge shower and of course, the pleasantly build in 'mini fridge' for your little habits.
Other rooms have patios, beach views etc. There are 5 rooms and a communal movie screening room open to nature all around you as well as a kitchen for use by the guests. And there are articles to use for the beach such as boogie boards, snorkling gear etc. You will definitely have a great and enjoyable time. Will be back for sure!! Ou la la!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just got back from an amazing week at Casa Melray! Mel and Ray are wonderful hosts who obviously love what they do. Not only was the place gorgeous, but they were very helpful helping to fill our itineraries and giving us advise on the best places to eat and the local night life.
We stayed in the Monkey suite which was very nice and spacious and opened out to the pool and kitchen area. We really enjoyed hanging out at the pool and meeting the other guests.
This is truly a piece of paradise and we loved every minute!
We can't wait to return some day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Due to bad weather in Canada our flight was delayed and we arrived at Casa Melray at 1:30 am and there was Mel to greet us with a welcoming hug, a big smile and sympathy. This was our second stay and we were treated like family on both occasions - included in dinner parties hosted by Mel & Ray, a potluck BBQ and invited to tag along for cocktails with their friends. Mel and Ray know the best places to eat, the best beaches, the craziest bars, and can suggest and arrange a multitude of outings and adventures suited to your tastes. Or you can simply lounge by the pool. In the morning the communal outdoor kitchen is the place to meet the other guests and exchange stories over complimentary coffee, fresh fruit, and, if you're lucky, Mel's homemade cinnamon buns.
Our room this year was at the front of the building with a shaded private patio overlooking the beach - the perfect spot to view the magnificent sunsets.
Mel and Ray, merci et à la prochaine !
Richard & Bev

Room Tip: The Iguana suite, located at the front of the building overlooking the beach, is quiet and has a com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

So many good things have already been said, which is why we chose this place, but I must add our voices to the mix. Our only mistake was booking this place at the start of our trip...nothing else compared afterwards! We rented the 2 bedroom casita and were thrilled with every aspect. Mel & Ray have truly thought of everything...lovely furnishings, fullly stocked kitchen, cherry cabinets, stainless steel appliances, and on and on. Our daughter was especially pleased to see the washer and dryer after backpacking for weeks! We took particular delight in the private patio of our unit, having breakfast out there every morning. The pool and surrounding patio area is beautifully maintained and landscaped, and the outdoor kitchen used by the hotel unit folks was a great place to hang out and meet other people. The front of the property is a great place to watch the sun set into the ocean. A truly peaceful, relaxing place.
Mel and Ray went way out of their way to please us, setting up a Canuck's game at their outdoor theatre, and even providing us with a decorated/potted tree for our belated Christmas with our daughter! I think if we stayed there longer we would definitely have become friends. Mel even contacted us after we left to see how we were enjoying the next leg of our journey.
So, here's to you Mel & Ray!! We loved your place and had fun hanging out with you guys! Leslie, Jim, Christie, and Ryan.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 bedroom casita which is at the opposite end of the pool from the rest of the unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Melray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Melray to your Saves list