We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-MAZEING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Melray
Save
You added Casa Melray to your Saves list
1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A-MAZEING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Casa Melray is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The location is as incredible as the owners. Mel and Ray are kind, thoughtful, honest and caring hosts. They know almost everyone in town and will help you find the right adventure for you! My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay so much that he chose the beach in front of their house to propose while we were there so we will ABSOLUTELY be returning to Casa Melray!

Room Tip: View from the penthouse is great and well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Helpful from the moment I sent my first e-mail inquiry on, the owners of Casa Melray go above and beyond to make everything perfect for your stay. From making reservations for travel to and from the airport, to their hand picked selections for fun things to do in Costa Rica, their expertise of the area and ability to make you feel at home (but treated like a king), was unsurpassed!

The facilities rival any villa in (pick your most extravagant travel destination), but you still feel like a member of the family. The view, the pool, the movie theater, the beach, and the architecture of Casa Melray were all top notch!

If I ever have a chance to return to Costa Rica, a stay at Casa Melray is not just a possibility, its a guarantee!

PS. Wait till you meet "soma" the wonder dog!

Room Tip: The suite was breathtaking, but all the rooms have their own special charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay at Casa Melray was the most relaxing and stress free vacation we have ever taken. Everything was just as wonderful as we expected from the website and our room had the best sunset view over the ocean that we could imagine. Mel and Ray could not have been more helpful in giving us honest recommendations for places to see, places to eat and tours to take. The rooms and common areas were spotless and more comfortable than most homes. We had everything we needed and Mel and Ray could not have been more accomodating. It felt like visiting lifelong friends. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This past February, my sister, father and I traveled around Costa Rica. We really found paradise when we walked through the gates of Casa Melray. We stayed in a beautiful guest house next to a sparkling pool with the ocean just a few steps away. Mel and Ray greeted us as warmly as old friends and even made cookies for me on my birthday! They know ever inch of the area. If you are thinking of staying i this part of Costa Rica, you must stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Casa Meray is a beautiful boutique hotel. It is like being in heaven. Owner Mel and
Ray make sure you are comfortable.
they have a outdoor movie theater with soft cushy couches. Every night we took a glass of wine or my favorite a Pilsen out to the beach and watch the sunset. Magnificent, recommendations to the local Tica restaurants were excellent. In the morning expect a surprise from Mel we had fresh warm baked banna bread, assorted fruit. This is a place you want to stay for a long time and they can accomodate you. The rooms are comfortable all computer a wifi avaiable. Mel and Ray will guide you to the beach bars all within walking distance or they will help you with a rental car. Highly Recommend CASA MELRAY

Room Tip: All rooms are great we stayed in the Iguana room over looking the beach with our private patio outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Melray for 3 weeks in April 2012 for his 22nd birthday. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had no idea what to expect. We landed at Liberia Airport and rented a car, which I highly suggest doing. Getting to Casa Melray is incredibly easy, and once we arrived it was like paradise, total diamond in the rough. It had all the ammenities of home and more. The property was more then gorgeous, and being beach front made every evening romantic, being able to watch the sunset from our rooms porch. Our room (Iguana room) had powerful air conditioning, plently of space, a huge bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. There is an outdoor kitchen, fully equiped, and the oudoor living room has a massive projection screen which was perfect for watching movies on a rainy night. Our absolute favorite part about the whole place was the pool, being able to have it so close to dip in several times a day to cool down was a god sent. Being located in Potrero made it so close to so many beaches and really good restuarants, and Mel and Ray have everything mapped out as well as tons of recommended places to eat. I could go on and on but Casa Melray is a beautiful, welcoming place to stay, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My fiancee and I were thinking about staying at either Flamingo or Potroro beach, and were so glad we picked Casa Melray on Potrero beach. At flamingo there are personality-less resorts with tons of people. On Potroro nobody is on the beach, and it's a 10 min walk away from another stunning beach. It's also within walking distance of Flamingo, a nice walk to work off all the burritos you will end up eating. Casa Melray is a GORGEOUS place, clean and modern with great design. We stayed in the Iguana room- basically right on the water. Big windows and ocean view. Mel and Rey also have wine to go around, a nice way to wrap up a day of activities and talk with people who actually live in the area.

I stayed here because of all the 5 stars reviews and am here to add another! You'll love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Melray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.