We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing, Stress free vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Melray
Save
You added Casa Melray to your Saves list
1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Most Relaxing, Stress free vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay at Casa Melray was the most relaxing and stress free vacation we have ever taken. Everything was just as wonderful as we expected from the website and our room had the best sunset view over the ocean that we could imagine. Mel and Ray could not have been more helpful in giving us honest recommendations for places to see, places to eat and tours to take. The rooms and common areas were spotless and more comfortable than most homes. We had everything we needed and Mel and Ray could not have been more accomodating. It felt like visiting lifelong friends. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This past February, my sister, father and I traveled around Costa Rica. We really found paradise when we walked through the gates of Casa Melray. We stayed in a beautiful guest house next to a sparkling pool with the ocean just a few steps away. Mel and Ray greeted us as warmly as old friends and even made cookies for me on my birthday! They know ever inch of the area. If you are thinking of staying i this part of Costa Rica, you must stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Casa Meray is a beautiful boutique hotel. It is like being in heaven. Owner Mel and
Ray make sure you are comfortable.
they have a outdoor movie theater with soft cushy couches. Every night we took a glass of wine or my favorite a Pilsen out to the beach and watch the sunset. Magnificent, recommendations to the local Tica restaurants were excellent. In the morning expect a surprise from Mel we had fresh warm baked banna bread, assorted fruit. This is a place you want to stay for a long time and they can accomodate you. The rooms are comfortable all computer a wifi avaiable. Mel and Ray will guide you to the beach bars all within walking distance or they will help you with a rental car. Highly Recommend CASA MELRAY

Room Tip: All rooms are great we stayed in the Iguana room over looking the beach with our private patio outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Melray for 3 weeks in April 2012 for his 22nd birthday. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had no idea what to expect. We landed at Liberia Airport and rented a car, which I highly suggest doing. Getting to Casa Melray is incredibly easy, and once we arrived it was like paradise, total diamond in the rough. It had all the ammenities of home and more. The property was more then gorgeous, and being beach front made every evening romantic, being able to watch the sunset from our rooms porch. Our room (Iguana room) had powerful air conditioning, plently of space, a huge bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. There is an outdoor kitchen, fully equiped, and the oudoor living room has a massive projection screen which was perfect for watching movies on a rainy night. Our absolute favorite part about the whole place was the pool, being able to have it so close to dip in several times a day to cool down was a god sent. Being located in Potrero made it so close to so many beaches and really good restuarants, and Mel and Ray have everything mapped out as well as tons of recommended places to eat. I could go on and on but Casa Melray is a beautiful, welcoming place to stay, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My fiancee and I were thinking about staying at either Flamingo or Potroro beach, and were so glad we picked Casa Melray on Potrero beach. At flamingo there are personality-less resorts with tons of people. On Potroro nobody is on the beach, and it's a 10 min walk away from another stunning beach. It's also within walking distance of Flamingo, a nice walk to work off all the burritos you will end up eating. Casa Melray is a GORGEOUS place, clean and modern with great design. We stayed in the Iguana room- basically right on the water. Big windows and ocean view. Mel and Rey also have wine to go around, a nice way to wrap up a day of activities and talk with people who actually live in the area.

I stayed here because of all the 5 stars reviews and am here to add another! You'll love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Location, Location, Location... Yes Yes Yes, but your hosts are just as good!
You want beach front luxury boutique hotel that is very affordable?
This is it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our 30th Anniversary celebration in Costa Rica. We chose Casa Melray which exceeded all our expectations! Excellent accomodations and a wonderful central location for exploring Costa Rica. Mel & Ray made us feel like family and we met some really fun people! Their knowledge of the area was much appreciated as they helped us decide where to eat and which beaches to visit, etc.The pool was clean & very inviting/relaxing, the beds comfortable and the entire property just gorgeous! Spectacular sunsets made for romantic evenings on our private patio.Coffee, fruit and interesting conversation in the shared kitchen area on most mornings was a bonus.We'll be back for sure! Pure heaven!

Room Tip: Frog Suite has a wonderful oceanfront view and great private patio.The Penthouse would be wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Melray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.