We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Melray
Save
You added Casa Melray to your Saves list
1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow what a paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Casa Melray in February. The room was very spacious, independent air conditioning, bathroom, LCD TV, Wi-Fi a 5+ star rating. It also offered us a wonderful view of the ocean where we often sat on the patio and watched the sunset, while having a cool drink. The hosts Ray and Mel are great people, very knowledgeable of all the local sites as well as some of the other lessen known areas of interest. The location is perfect; the pool was a great place to jump into after swimming in the warm ocean. The weather never varied sunny and hot. You can't ask for anything more in a tropical getaway, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thanks for the amazing review. We really appreciate the small town atmosphere of Potrero. We never feel like we are in a Tourist Town. Enjoy the fine local restaurants or participate in the local tours or activities. Casa Melray now also offers Kayak tours to adjacent beaches and Kayak fishing tours right in front of our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Mel and Ray always make you feel like family, they are both very helpful in all areas, where to eat ,attractions and the best places to have fun.
Must say our visit with them was the best sleep I have had in months. The rooms are Beautiful. Thank you so much Mel and Ray ,we will never forget our visit with you.
I highly recommend Casa Melray to every one I know.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Appreciate your generous review. We hope all our guests will have a great experience. We really think Potrero is a special community where you can meet many interesting locals and visitors. We truly enjoy meeting guest from throughout the world to share experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

First of all the owners are GREAT hosts and the accomadations are "5 STAR". beautiful weather, excellent food and no one to botehr you. oh by the way the fridge keeps the beer real cold. we would recommend to anyone with or without kids!!

Room Tip: 2 rooms with ocean view and 2 with pool view. all 4 rooms are of excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thanks for the great review. We are pleased you enjoyed the accommodations. We also have a 3rd Floor Private Penthouse suite with a self contained Kitchen and a 2 Bedrooms Guest house. To fully enjoy your stay at Casa Melray we have restricted our facility to Adults only.
However we do encourage adults to act like kids. Great times guaranteed at Casa Melray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Melray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.