We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Coconut Beach Club

El Coconut Beach Club
in front of Bahia del Sol | on the Beach, Playa Potrero FC 00000, Costa Rica
00-506-26544300
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Playa Potrero
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Barbecue, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Coconut Beach Club; is the need branch of El Coconut Fine Dining of Playa Tamarindo, now also located in Playa Potrero. Do expect the service to be top notch; Do expect the kitchen to accommodate all of your desires and Do expect the Ambiance to be casual and laid back :O) Do come and Join us for a day by the pool, a cool cocktail in your hand, some lunch or just lying on the beach- beds watching the sunset. Every week-end we offer the Biggest wood BBQ in the region. Your romantic dinner is assured under the stars accompanied by the music of the Pacific waves. - JUST ENJOYING LIFE- That is what we are all about
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place is under new management since the poor reviews in the spring. We had an outstanding beachfront dinner against the backdrop of a breathtaking sunset. I had a wonderful seafood pasta in a delicious sauce with a ton of lobster and shrimp, and my husband had extremely tasty mahi mahi in a flavorful mild curry sauce. We also had three glasses of wine and a cocktail, and the tab was less than $60, a real bargain for this area and the quality of the food. The service was attentive but not overbearing, and the French owner was very friendly. The menu had a number of other tempting options that we can't wait to try out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food! Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved the ceviche appetizer, very fresh and plenty for 4 with leftovers and 4 delicious dinners and cocktails $50!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“NEW place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place has just reopened with new owners. They are energetic , enthusiastic and go the extra mile. Service is great , food is great.
Great local place.Dont miss it.
The steaks are the best anywhere.
The view is once in a lifetime. If you want the best, romantic sunset in the world .... this is the place

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We went here on recommendation from others. The place was empty and seemed like the server was not happy to get up and seat us and was barely civil. We ordered beer which was served in warm plastic glasses. My husband ate the pasta and muscles and got sick that night and has been sick since which has ruined the rest of his trip. The food was overpriced. We felt like we were not at all welcome. Too bad because this has put a blemish on an otherwise great vacation.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Place To Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We lived in the area for six months and this was our hang out. Directly on the beach, great food, good drinks, ambiance, music, socializing. This place has it all. The owner Katarina is very accommodating and full of energy. She will make sure you have a great time. Music and BBQ on the weekends, a really fun place. Service is a little slow, my only negative.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coconut Beach Club also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Coconut Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.