We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Organos, Paquera, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paquera
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Loved our stay at Vista Las Islas! The views were splendid from the rooms to every outdoor spot.. You could not find an eye sorer anywhere! Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Grounds were spotless and peaceful. The pool that overlooked the water was very inviting after a long day of sightseeing. The restaurant was very good too! This is a 5 star hotel with a 3 star price. I would highly recommend to both friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    23
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lambton Shores, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for 5 days at this lovely resort. Our room was really super nice and had the most incredible views from the deck and shower! Everyday we were greeted with smiles and "Good Morning/afternoon or night" from the manager,Sylvie and staff. They made our stay very pleasant. We really enjoyed the resorts amenities. As well Sylvie with her wealth of knowledge of additional activities arranged ours without any complications. We went out a night kayaking tour, it was so surreal. The glittering blue algea lit up each time the paddle hit the water or a fish would surface. We had very relaxing massages in open air deck. Life was heaven at the Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa! Hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I got a cab ride from Tambor airport to the hotel for $40.00 after a bit of haggling. I arrived and was greeted be the host Sylvie, she was very helpful getting me checked in. The room was perfect, a/c worked good ( thankfully!) The pool has a great view and was clean. I asked one of the owners for directions to the beach, she said she would give me a ride and pick me up even though it wasn't far, because there was only about a hour of daylight left.
The food was great, & staff was friendly. The host, Sylvie, was very helpful arranging a rental 4x4 vehicle for me, & told me of other places that were a must see in the area.
Overall, very relaxing, lite traffic, lots of wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent views, good food, nice pool, wonderful staff. Do yourself a favor and stay here. We originally came for one night and were so happy with our experience that we decided to stay for two. It was a really really positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay. We spent at the hotel Vista las Islas four days. Super friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant serves costa rican dishes. Very clean room and beautiful surrounding with unbeatable view! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel has a gorgeous view! The rooms are neat and clean with nice decorations. small frig in room and was great to sit out on the balcony. There are ranchos with hammocks which are nice but only have valley view not really of the ocean. The larger one has a sliver of a view. Lots of butterflies, hummingbirds and wildlife. Howler monkeys in the distance.

The Cons: Front Desk: We were required to pay in cash, but were allowed to pay credit/debit for food. This was bad because didn't really have enough extra cash. But we had traveled up the hill from the ferry and by now it was about 3pm so wasn't going to go search for another hotel. For off season it was a bit high. There were only two families at the hotel.

You will either need a car or if you don't you will not really be able to walk anywhere. Somewhat remote. Too far from the beach! Would be ok for a few nights if you are taking tours. They have an extensive list, but unsure without a car how you get to some of them since our only choice was to drive there.

I wouldn't call the front desk rude, more a bit ditzy and too talkative with little information. She is spanish and german, but is dead on french accent and even uses french expressions.

I didn't like that the bathrooms were under the front desk so quite a few steps or long around. This is not a place for anyone with issues with steps.

The food was good and very fresh and homemade. The problem is that they have you up on that hill and they take advantage of you with the pricing. Example: scoop of ice cream with a bit of chocolate is 7.00 usd. Dinner for 4 of us and two of us shared was almost 80.00 with no alcohol. In town we had dinner for four with smoothies, dessert, and full meals for 44.00. There is a limited menu and only written on a menu board. Very few choices. Breakfast was included which was a nice surprise since we weren't told ahead, but at 7:45 was not really ready as foretold.

Also, no help down to the rooms:...Remember, I said steps and down slopes with luggage. The rooms are built like duplex casitas on the hillside.

The pool was nice and clean. With swim up bar that was not open. They did turn on music at night which was nice. They insist on giving you pool towels, but if you leave on your chair while you go to the restroom etc they will take it away.

I would eat in town before going up and take some snacks. Maybe have a drink or two which the sign said was I believe 5.00 for happy hour? or stop and grab a six pack for the frig in your room.

We loved the view, but next time I think we will try the all inclusive in Tambor.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. It's set on a hilltop. The infinity pool has majestic view to the ocean and turtle island middle of the rain forest. The staff was very friendly also we can recommend the open air restaurant. Also offer the hotel a lot of nice tours. We wish we could habe stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Organos, Paquera, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Paquera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paquera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Paquera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.