We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Organos, Paquera, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Paquera
Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When our travel plans got changed suddenly on our last night of vacation, we had a choice- take the ferry back to San Jose or find a place near Paqueros and just enjoy. Well, we missed the ferry, so we were in Paqueros, when we saw the signs for Vistas Las Islas. We figured we had nothing to lose, so why not check it out? We were greeted by Anya, who quickly looked at the scheduler to see if there were any vacancies. Not expecting any in this 18 room resort, we were elated to find out that someone decided to cancel, and we were in! While the room was being cleaned, we went to the very nearby and private beach, checked into our room (#4.) It is large, clean, simple, with amazing ocean views and breezes and a huge, tiled shower. While we normally don't use A/C, it has it. The pool was warm and majestic. There are hammocks on the side of the property- great way to spend sunset. It never felt as though there were a ton of people there, even though it was full for the evening. At dinner, we got a table at the outdoor restaurant, which has a limited menu and is somewhat pricey, but the food was very tasty. Nothing elaborate, but wonderful, due to there being nothing else in the area. In the morning, we enjoyed the yummy and complimentary breakfast. While we never conversed with the owners, upon check-out, we were warmly received. The whole experience was lovely and simple.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the Pas, Manitoba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent 7 days at the Las Vistas which was too long. The hotel is new and has nice bedrooms and dining area.Make sure you get a bedroom with AC as it is extremely hot even through the night. One of the difficulties we had was with language.The staff spoke no English except for Anya who was a practicum student from Switzerland and was fabulous. The owners may have spoke some English but were not overly friendly to us despite our length of stay. The food was excellent in the restaurant but very pricey especially when the lunch menu was the same price as the supper menu between $15-$20 a meal. The pool which is their key PR tool was located beautifully overlooking the gulf but was only 5 feet deep and really was a kids pool.

Room Tip: Must have room with A/C working
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, Inhaber at Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Asatbd123
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for complimating our hotel rooms, stuff members and the restaurant as we appreciate this a lot! Constructive criticism also is very important to us as it helps us to spot lacks of quality that we wish to fill to make our guests feel completely satisfied. We’re sorry to hear that you feel like your stay with us last too long. As we’re always in process of updating our hotel there has been some changes in the meanwhile. We’d like to point out that every single room at our hotel now has got air conditioning and besides Anja we were lucky to welcome Laura in our team. She also speaks English, Spanish, French and German. We’d like to apologize for not having had enough time to talk to you ourselves as this is what we love doing and the reason why we opened a hotel. This probably happened because we were very busy updating two of our hotel rooms. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed the dishes we serve at our restaurant. At this point we’d like to mention that we’re in process of updating our menu to make it more interesting and special for guests who stay at our hotel for a longer time, like you did. As we try to keep our ecological footprint to a minimum, we prefer to have a menu that only contains fresh locally-sourced food. Because we’re a small familiar hotel this priority unfortunately doesn’t allow us to offer a menu with too many different dishes.
Concerning our pool, we’d like to mention that it’s definitely not a sports pool but with a water depth of 4,6 feet it conforms to the norm of hotel pools in Costa Rica and guarantees higher security for kids. Our infinity pool is designed as pleasure pool from where you can enjoy the stunning view of the pacific ocean and its beautiful islands.

Best regards,
Thomas Kohli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our stay was delightful! We spent 2 nights at Hotel Vista and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful view, picturesque scenery, and perfect accomodations. We were able to see Howler and white faced monkeys from the top porch. The staff at Vista was unbelievably accomodating and friendly! The chef cooked our freshly caught Red Snapper with a smile on her face and no charge. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Pura vida! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and complimenting our hotel! We’re more than happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and are hoping that you may visit us again to the time of the next year’s Super Bowl! Fingers crossed that the Oregon Ducks or again the 49er’s will make it into the finals!

It was a pleasure having the two of you here!

Best regards,
Vista las Islas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights the first week of January 2013. If you are looking to get away from it all in an insanely beautiful and private natural setting, Vista las Islas is the perfect place.
The rooms were ultra modern and beautiful. The grounds, the pool and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The place is isolated, which means it's completely uncrowded and quiet. Nobody bothers you at all. The only sounds were birds and in the early mornings, howler monkeys.
Since the restaurant is the only place nearby to eat, we had all of our meals there each day. We were never disappointed. The menu changes each meal, with a good selection of 5 or 6 main dishes offered. Everything we had was incredibly fresh and prepared on the spot.
The uncrowded beach is an easy 15 minute to 1/2 hour walk down a long hill and well worth the hike.
The hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
if you're looking for a private, quiet vacation experience in an incredible natural setting, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Vista las Islas for 3 days/2 nights and had the most peaceful retreat there. The view from the deck in the room and the pool was breathe taking. The owners and staff were professional and friendly. The drive to Paquera from Liberia was not bad at all and the roads were being paved along the way; a year from now it will probably be paved all the way to Paquera. The hotel was exceptionally well run, especially considering they are just entering their 1 year anniversary. The owners were constructing a place for hammocks and for a Jacuzzi, as well as a studio for yoga, exercise, etc. Can't wait to go back next year and see the additions. We both received massages from Rita who was EXCELLENT. The massage treatment room was beautiful. A++

Room Tip: It appears that EVERY room is wonderful, all situated on a cliff overlooking the rainforest. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The wonderful couple who own the hotel go 110% to make this a great experience. The grounds and rooms are perfect, and the view is gorgeous. If you are looking for something away from the crowded beach experience and very private, this is a great place. The chef is from Madrid and each meal is delightful, and so fresh. After taking the ferry from Puentarenas (which is a treat!) it's easy to find, although be aware you have to drive up a hill to get this view. And yes, that pool is as wonderful as it looks! You can also go to the nearby Wildlife Refuge and have a great walking/driving experience and book a snorkling trip. Your host Thomas can help you with that also. Loved everything about Vista Las Islas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My boyfriend and my parents stayed here just for one night and we absolutely loved it. We wished we could've stayed longer! It has an absolutely stunning infinity swimming pool with one of the best views I've seen during my six months in Costa Rica. The rooms were beautiful and modern with lovely personal touches such as the hand painted room numbers and matching keys of animals and plants from Costa Rica.
The owners were fantastic, really friendly and welcoming. We had a delicious breakfast and felt well looked after. This family run hotel is really a gem, I wish the owners all the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa

Address: Playa Organos, Paquera, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Paquera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Paquera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Paquera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.