We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful treehouse with the sounds of monkeys howling and waves crashing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paquera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge
Save
You added Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge to your Saves list
Punta Cuchillo, Paquera 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Paquera B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful treehouse with the sounds of monkeys howling and waves crashing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I loved it here! Beautiful! Monkey's ate right in the trees by our room. The bay view was gorgeous. The hosts were super nice and made wonderful meals. They provide awesome tours. It was my most favorite stay of my Costa Rica trip. Thank you Vidgis & Thomas!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Bahia Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My son and I made a last minute decision to visit Bahia Rica Adventures after some other plans fell through, and are we ever glad we did! The bioluminescent algae during the evening kayak tour was incredible and even though we weren't there in the peak fishing season, Thomas put us on to some amazing fishing. He and Vigdis are world-class hosts, and we would love to be repeat guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review!
The bio-luminescence is a truly memorable experience. We are glad you joined us for an evening kayak tour so that you got to experience it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This lodge location is perfect for the start, end or any part of a trip. Thomas and viki are great hosts, fun to hang with and learn about life in this part of Costa Rica, good cooks and very flexible to our needs. The accomodation is clean, comfortable and almost has a tree house feel meaning it is open to the world and so beware of bugs and take spray (and use it!!) but if you do this then it is an amazing experience to wake to the Howler monkeys in the trees outside and step on to the balcony of your very own "tree house" and look at the islands, the jungle and sun rise.

The only down side is that it is difficult to find at night and so be sure to call Thomas before you leave the ferry port and they will give directions.

Overall great value and fun place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review!
And you are very right: it is a bit hard to find us so we recommend everybody to contact us for detailed explanation on how to find the place - even in day light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naranjo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had won a gift certificate for 2 for a free 3 day kayaking trip to Bahia Rica Kayaking and Fishing Lodge. Considering the age of my husband and myself I thought it might be a little bit too strenuous for us to manage. I got in touch with Thomas and asked if we could change it to a fishing trip instead; if not we would have to give the trip away to someone younger and more fit. Thomas was so accommodating and had no problem in changing the trip to suit our needs.

We invited another couple to go with us and we stayed February 12th and 13th of 2013. It really impressed me how clean the lodge (where we stayed) was. I felt totally comfortable there. It was hotter than what we are used too but I slept great!

The guys went on their fishing trip and only had praise for Thomas and his skills. They had a great time; so much so that my husband is planning a trip back there. He told me it was the best fishing trip he has been on since living here in Costa Rica. Vigdis cooked the fish for us that evening and it was delicious. (All the meals we had there were fantastic!)

This is definitely a 'must do' trip if you like fishing and/or kayaking. Thomas and Vigdis are the perfect hosts and it certainly shows that they love what their doing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. We really appreciate it!

We are glad it worked out for you with a fishing trip instead for the kayaking tour that you had won. We hope to see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I came here with my husband, best friend, and her husband for three nights. We had already been to Arenal and Manuel Antonio, and wanted to stay somewhere quaint and cute. This place was PERFECT. Viki and Thomas were wonderful hosts and made delicious meals (home caught mahi mahi for dinner one night). Our accommodation was a charming "tree house" situated partially outdoor, with hammocks hanging all around. We saw the howler monkeys from our hammocks amongst many other animals which were so fun to observe. We decided to go on two excursions: the boat to Tortuga Island (with a snorkeling stop) and the nighttime kayak. Both were magical and VERY memorable experiences. ESPECIALLY the night kayak, where we got to see bio-luminescence light up the waters...it was like a scene out of Avatar (as corny as that sounds). If you're looking for a beautiful, laid-back, rustic, unique experience while surrounded by nature, this is definitely the place to come. We've already recommended it to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It was great having you with us here at Bahia Rica!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it will help other travelers in finding us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is in the middle of nowhere, and that's what so wonderful about it, it is surrounded by dry forest and pure tranquility, apart from those amazing creatures, the Howler Monkeys, I could sit and listen to them all morning, this is your dawn chorus in Costa Rica, if you are luck enough to experience it, and at Bahia Rica, I would say you are guaranteed to hear the chorus if not see the show! This was our first sighting of the Howlers in Costa Rica, after so many people boasting of their sightings in various places we were convinced that they were trying to have a joke on us, but then we got the last laugh! The trees around here are alive with the sound of howling. The tree Hose where we stayed was so peaceful, we had hammocks and had it all to ourselves, our own private hideaway. Our hosts, Mr. Thomas as the local affectionately call him, and Vigdis could not have been more welcoming. Breakfast is great, home-cooked dinners very tasty. Then there is the local skunk who pops in to say hallo now and then, and no he doesn't leave a calling card, TG! Great place, great people, go there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent just over two weeks with Vicky and Thomas and their staff in Bahia Rica. The location is just perfect on the beach surrounded by the jungle and its wildlife.
I should mention that the rooms are located 258 steps from the beach and eating area but you`ll get used to it and if you need to they`ll drive you to the top.

The food was excellent with real homemade breakfast, lunch and dinner. We loved it!

Big rooms with a stunning view and the jungle just outside the door. There are no traffic at all, no bars or disco just the sound of the local wildlife and the amazing sound of the monkeys.

We tried kayaking and Vicky took us to an island to feed wild spider monkeys with fresh fruit, a beautiful experience.

The fishing was AMAZING!! If you are new to sport fishing or if you are experienced this is the place to go! Marlin, sailfish, dorado, rooster are some of the fish you can catch in these waters and Thomas and Vicky are the best guides you can have. This is a "must do" if you visit Bahia Rica.

All in all, this was the best vacation we`re ever been to with tons of things to do with Thomas and Vicky and if you want to travel around this is the perfect base also being close to public transportation.

We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge

Address: Punta Cuchillo, Paquera 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Paquera
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paquera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bahia Rica you will be staying in big comfortable rooms in a real jungle setting. The place is perfect for relaxing in a hammock and enjoying the jungle sounds, or you can get some exercise by taking a kayak tour or walking up along the jungle paths. A relaxed atmosphere is surrounding Bahia Rica, with common areas for eating and socializing. Bahia Rica is at Punta Cuchillo on Costa Rica’s west coast. The place is perfect for people who enjoy a calm atmosphere away from the main tourist trails. We offer sport fishing, kayak and boat tours to several beautiful destinations in the Nicoya gulf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bahia Rica Kayak And Fishing Lodge Costa Rica/Paquera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.