We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you`re looking for Paradise,this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paquera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge
Save Saved
You added Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge to your Saves list
Punta Cuchillo, Paquera 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Paquera B&B and Inns
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you`re looking for Paradise,this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent just over two weeks with Vicky and Thomas and their staff in Bahia Rica. The location is just perfect on the beach surrounded by the jungle and its wildlife.
I should mention that the rooms are located 258 steps from the beach and eating area but you`ll get used to it and if you need to they`ll drive you to the top.

The food was excellent with real homemade breakfast, lunch and dinner. We loved it!

Big rooms with a stunning view and the jungle just outside the door. There are no traffic at all, no bars or disco just the sound of the local wildlife and the amazing sound of the monkeys.

We tried kayaking and Vicky took us to an island to feed wild spider monkeys with fresh fruit, a beautiful experience.

The fishing was AMAZING!! If you are new to sport fishing or if you are experienced this is the place to go! Marlin, sailfish, dorado, rooster are some of the fish you can catch in these waters and Thomas and Vicky are the best guides you can have. This is a "must do" if you visit Bahia Rica.

All in all, this was the best vacation we`re ever been to with tons of things to do with Thomas and Vicky and if you want to travel around this is the perfect base also being close to public transportation.

We will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel. If you want spa, dancing, top billed entertainment, and servants at every hand this is not the place to come. If, however you want to see the true natural wonders and feel the soul of the tropics while you slide into the habitat and become one with your surroundings, you could not choose a better place. The food is absolutely fantastic. The conversation around the dinner table is relaxed and just like being with family. Don't evan try to compare the fishing to anything you have done before. There is simply no comparison! The waters of the gulf are calm and kayaking is great. This is Costa Rica at its best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are a family of five and we stayed at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge for two nights in september. We were greeted at the ferry dock by the owner, who drove us up the bumpy dirt road to the lodge. Our room was literally a treehouse! It is hard to describe, but it was basically an elevated deck with screened rooms and a roof beautifully carved out of wood and built into the trees. There were two comfy hammocks on the deck that overlooked the bay and the jungle. It also had a nice outdoor bathroom. Both days we saw troops of howler monkeys swing right by the deck! The "restaurant" , a little outdoor kitchen a little ways down the hill, had wonderful food. The whole setup was very simplistic but comfortable. The Norwegian couple took us on a full day tour of Isla Tortuga combined with the Refugio de Silvistre Cúru. We had a great time and also got some fishing in, on the way to the island. The beach at the bottom of the property was also great fun. There was a giant, tall rock about 300 feet out in the water, but when the tide went out, you could walk to the rock and see thousands of crabs scuttling all over it. The norwegian woman showed us how to catch and "puff up" the pufferfish that swam along the sandy shore. We had a GREAT time!

Room Tip: There's pretty much only one cabin and it's amazing. You can lie down and relax in the hammo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brookfield, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a Costa Rican experience that would give us exposure to both the natural beauty Costa Rica offers and a true picture of the "pura vida" that is part of the lives of the native Costa Ricans. While searching the internet, I found the Bahia Rica web site and its offer for a very reasonably priced vacation that was an intriguing mix of kayaking and learning Spanish. We decided to go with this interesting mix, and we could not have made a better choice.
I had some Spanish in high school and college (40 years ago) and my wife, Eva, was a beginner. So a class with two students at different levels of speaking ability would be a challenge for any teacher. But Vicky (Vigdis) and Marjorie (a native Costa Rican) did an amazing job of making the learning experience substantial and fun for both of us. Our classroom, under the canopy of trees next to the sea, was clearly the most beautiful classroom either of us had ever experienced. How many classrooms are shared with howler monkeys, a raccoon, hummingbirds, and colorful butterflies? We got many chances to practice our Spanish outside the classroom. We spent an afternoon walking around the town of Paquera with Marjorie, practicing Spanish the entire time. We also went on kayaking adventures with our Costa Rican guide, Juan Jose. Although he spoke only minimal English, he was able to communicate quite effectively with us.
My wife and I are no spring chickens, and we had no kayaking experience. But we were able to go on 4-hour kayaking adventures to both a mangrove swamp and to an island with a colony of spider monkeys. Our guide, Juan Jose, was patient, thoughtful, and a lot of fun. Our time with the spider monkeys left us with some unforgettable memories (see the pictures).
This vacation is not for the faint of heart. There are 258 steps between the open porch setting where we had our meals and our lodging up the hill nestled in the jungle canopy. We shared the lodge with a small group of sports fisherman. There was one shared bathroom. So if you are looking for a luxury resort experience, you might want to look further. But the beauty of the setting was incredible, and the facilities were clean and comfortable. And the care for us was beyond our expectations.
We enjoyed our meals on an open porch dining area below, where Vicky prepared excellent meals. She took extra efforts to accommodate our sensitivities to gluten, and every meal was both nutritious and delicious. Perhaps the best part of every meal was the camaraderie we shared. The fisherman would describe their exciting adventures with Thomas. We would look at pictures they took of some of the amazing fish they caught and released. Because we were a small group, we got a chance to interact more with each other. One night, Thomas and the fishermen took us to a restaurant on the other side of the peninsula. We were glad that we were not the ones driving those roads. But the restaurant setting high on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean was memorable.
Vicky and Thomas are both originally from Norway. A marine biologist, Thomas has a deep understanding and respect for the fish he helps catch (and release). Meals on the porch always involved an interesting mix of English, Spanish, Norwegian, and French. (The wife of a Canadian guest often conversed with Eva in French). Vicky was an amazing multitasker, able to organize excursions, prepare meals, and carry on relaxing conversations all at the same time. Both Vicky and Thomas worked very hard (and successfully) to make our experience and the experience of the other guests the "pura vida" that we will remember as long as our minds are still lumping on all 4 cylinders.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsoe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Check out Bahia Rica 3 day kayaktrip on Bahia Rica home page! We had a wonderful trip with Vigdis as an excellent guide, full of fun and knowledge. Wonderful beaches, wildlife, islands and company. The rest of the stay at this lovely, friendly place with hosts Thomas and Vigdis also met all our expectations of the ultimate holidaydream away from everyday life. Lovely food too! A holiday to remember.
Nina Cheetham

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a day between Arenal and Jaco and four of us were trying to figure out what to do. I was always fascinated by bio-luminescence and was googling such tours near Jaco and came across Bahia rica kayak and fishing lodge. I called them up and talked to Vicky and book night kayak tour and one night stay for four of us, two rooms. She gave us very good price.

My first impression of the place was great. It was right in the woods away from any buzz. The experience of night kayaking was even more phenomenal. It was close to full moon night and the moon was reflecting off of the bay which was a sight to catch. The calmness of the water in the silence of the night was just breathtaking. And inspite of it bring a bright light we were able to see algae lit up as we kayak through running our hands across the water. We had to do little exploring to find the best spots for algae to lit up and we did find some decent spots.

On the way back we rich the shore, to our surprise, there was plenty of bio-luminescence we got to observe. As we got off the kayak the small waves hitting the shore turned into lighting waves and I was so excited that I did little splashing around with my feet and each time there was brilliant light.

And even though we had asked them for dinner last minute Thomas had got a fantastic catch-of-the-day, mahi mahi, prepared for us. It was heavenly and so was the morning breakfast.

There were bit of mosquitoes around unfortunately at our lodge but the entire experience was so fantastic that I had forgotten about it.

I highly recommend this if you are around nicoya bay. You will come back with an experience that you will never forget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We are really happy that you loved the night kayaking with us - and that it was worth your while to make the detour out to the Nicoya Peninsula for this experience.

Warm greetings from
Thomas and Vigdis
Bahia Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We contacted Thomas and Vicky and asked if they would pick us up in Puntarenas where our cruise ship would dock. They agreed and we had a half day of fun with them as we fished for Black Tuna and Roosterfish. The Tuna were plentiful and gave us a good fight. We went back to the Lodge for a wonderful lunch prepared by Vicky and then they returned us to the ship. This day was so enjoyable in no small part because of Thomas and Vicky who are the ultimate hosts. We did not stay at the lodge but if you want a "real" experience of Costa Rica this would be the place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review!
It was a blast taking you out fishing, I think we enjoyed it as much as you.

We hope the rest of your cruise was delightful.

Warm regards
Thomas and Vigdis
Bahia Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge

Address: Punta Cuchillo, Paquera 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Paquera
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paquera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bahia Rica you will be staying in big comfortable rooms in a real jungle setting. The place is perfect for relaxing in a hammock and enjoying the jungle sounds, or you can get some exercise by taking a kayak tour or walking up along the jungle paths. A relaxed atmosphere is surrounding Bahia Rica, with common areas for eating and socializing. Bahia Rica is at Punta Cuchillo on Costa Rica’s west coast. The place is perfect for people who enjoy a calm atmosphere away from the main tourist trails. We offer sport fishing, kayak and boat tours to several beautiful destinations in the Nicoya gulf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bahia Rica Kayak And Fishing Lodge Costa Rica/Paquera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.