We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Place to Relax"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Woods Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masinagudi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Woods Haven
Save
You added Wild Woods Haven to your Saves list
8 / 323 Achakarai, Masinagudi 643223, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Masinagudi B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Place to Relax"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

(1) Excellent view (2) Superb vegetarian food (3) Place to visit with family & even friends (4) Clean rooms (5) Staffs are really co-operative (6) Bamboo hut dinning is very awesome (7) Price is very reasonable

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidWoods, Owner at Wild Woods Haven, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi. Thanks for taking time off to write a review. It's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had an amazing holiday stay at the resort... Extremely wonderful experience in between the jungle ... Good food... Sparkling Clean Rooms and amazing round the clock service... Make sure this is your next holiday DESTINATION !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidWoods, Owner at Wild Woods Haven, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We look forward to your next visit to Wild Woods Haven. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Pros:
1. Excellent location
2. Staff and service

Cons:
1. Average food, overpriced.
2. Last 200m of road is non-drivable after rains.

One can sit in front of the campfire in cool breeze and gaze at the sky for hours.
Place is very good for visit with family or friends.
Night Safari is on main roads, you may or may not be able to spot animals, but still it's a good experience.
Staff is honest and serve well. Rooms are nice.

Better to decide on your food and inform them at least 4-5 hours in advance. Veg food is cooked in house and they get non-veg from outside. Some food items tasted okay enough and some bad. Coffee/tea charged Rs 30/- per cup and Horlicks/Boost at Rs 70/- per cup. There can't be justification for such poor quality beverages priced so high.

We reached in afternoon when the roads were dry. Night it rained heavily. Next afternoon while checking out we had a nightmare taking out the vehicle. We were lucky to make that 200m stretch without harm to ourselves or the vehicle.

For payments their card reader is not functioning yet. But they made alternate arrangement without inconvenience to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidWoods, Owner at Wild Woods Haven, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi,
We thank you for opting to stay with us and Thanks for your review.
Your points are well taken. Yes, The last bit of road is bad when it rains. Every time we level the road, the next heavy rain it get back to its original bad state. Since its a right of way we are not able to pump in a lot of money for that. Any way your point is well taken and we shall try our best to give you a smooth ride when you come next.
We will consider the rates charged for Boost / Horlicks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My title says it all... The location and views are awesome... Right in the middle of the jungle... Felt like heaven the moment we reached... And the service - well that just made the weekend ... Suresh was our man and he made sure he gave us the highest degree of service ... Food is good and homely ... The walk to the river behind the resort is a must ... All in all a superb place and definitely recommended ...
One tip: just confirm if they would accept card payment as their machine was not working that day ... However they did made an alternative arrangement!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidWoods, Owner at Wild Woods Haven, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Sudarshan,
Thanks for choosing to visit Wild Woods Haven. It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We are trying our best to make our guests comfortable and I am pleased you enjoyed. Please visit us again and we assure you of our best of services at all times.
As far as Credit Card machine is concerned, we do not have a Land Line telephone cable and our Credit Card machine works on GPRS. The SIM card is giving some problem and we have requested for a fresh Sim card which we have not received as yet. We shall see to it that it's rectified as soon as possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you plan to visit Masinagudi for wildlife spotting then do it during rainy season (May-Oct), as the forest comes alive and there will be many animals to spot.
We planned a weekend Trip as a Team outing and On our Drive from Bangalore to Masinagudi we spotted quite a few animals, much more than my previous visits to Masinagudi.
We zeroed in on our stay with Wild Woods Haven, due to promising reviews online.
The property is huge and well maintained with ample parking space and has a basket-ball and throw ball facility which we could not use due to rains and damp grass.
The approach road to the place was muddy due to rains and I understand that they are not allowed to pave the roads due to strict instructions from the forest officials, however they do provide jeeps as an alternative pickup and charge you 100 bucks for a 2 mins drive. So avoid Low ground clearance vehicle during the monsoons.
The rooms are clean and you have nice sitting place outside the rooms to enjoy the beauty of the place. You can play music from your car while you enjoy the campfire.
The property is surrounded by Nilgiris mountains and you will notice Fog at 6 in the evening too. Early morning view is worth an experience, you can just look at the foggy mountains and dream away….. We went for a walk to a nearby stream and chilled out on the grass land.
A Bull Tusker Elephant gave us some thrilling experience in the night Safari. A Bull elephant was standing right next to our van probably 5-10 yards away and on return we almost missed running into an Elephant while it was crossing the roads.

Though we read that WWH serves only Veg, they obliged to our needs of serving non-veg too.
The Food is good. However they make you pay for water which I found quiet un-appealing.
Staffs and services are good.

We requested for Barbeque along with the camp fire and was quoted Rs.700/- for per kg of chicken. When we suggested if we buy the chicken and all the ingredients then can we were asked to buy our utensils too and that we cannot borrow the utensil.
Management needs to be more considerate and reasonable to customer’s needs.

A great place for a weekend getaway but ensure to have every details talked out with the management because there is very little that the staff can do to cater to ad-hoc request.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidWoods, Owner at Wild Woods Haven, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
As a matter of fact Masinagudi is in the rain shadow area, but this year we have had so much of rain and it has made the final approach road from bad to worse when there is heavy rain. We are trying our best to get it set right.
As far as drinking water is concerned I have taken note of your comment and I have arranged for water to be placed in the rooms.
Thanks and looking forward to your next visit.
Srinivas Rao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The place is excellent, the weather was a spoilt sport. The rooms are very clear and tidy. The room with a living is good if you need to hang out and chat. The service is great. Make sure you order your food an hour before you get hungry.. The place serves only veg food, but on request - the waiter will get non-veg items from a different place. They give a very personal touch to the service. The guy who served us - did not even take tips, we had to force him. :) Though it was raining all day - the guy had a lot of patience to serve the food and take more orders. The food is sent in hot cases to the room, so even if you take time to have them - they remain hot. On the activities side of it - you can play cricket and there is a camp fire place setup - it looked awesome, but as it was raining - we couldn't sit around and chat. There is ample parking for cars. There is a jeep safari that is also organised, its good. The view from the terrace of the building is amazing. With all that said - we loved the place a lot and the service - its a great getaway for a weekend.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WidWoods, Owner at Wild Woods Haven, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Sharat,
Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. We are working on the final stretch of road. We will surely try to improve and give what are guests expect from us.
Srinivas Rao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited Wildwoods last weekend and what to say about the place? It was simply a wonderful experience, as the property has an amazing view of the green mountains on all the three sides. One can spend hours looking at the foggy mountains and changing moods of the sky. The rooms are very well maintained. They serve only veg food with good quality and quantity.

There is a river which flows at about 500 meters from this place. We were lucky to enjoy in the flowing water accompanied by rain. Altogether it was an excellent experience and memorable trip!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back with windows facing the mountains are good. Even other wise, there is a sit out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Woods Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Woods Haven

Address: 8 / 323 Achakarai, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an eight room boutique resort in the midst of the jungle. Built on temple architecture style using natural stone, the design, atmosphere and the location is stunning. You have to come to experience Wild Woods Haven. It is a Paradise in the forest. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Woods Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.