We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in the trees, do it !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Land Farm & Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masinagudi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Save
You added Safari Land Farm & Guest House to your Saves list
4/78K, Safari Land | Nilgiri District, Masinagudi 643223, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Reims, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sleep in the trees, do it !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A great experience to sleep in the trees ! The houses are very clean and comfortable and the staff really welcoming !
It's really nice to see the monkeys in the garden and to hear the elephants around !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went a week before on a team trip from Cognizant to Ooty and we dropped into the Safari land which looked amazing, it was situated away from the city around 5 acres land which was so calm and quiet with lovely nature around it. We happen to stay in tree houses which was the best part of the trip,it was built 20 feet above the ground. Tree houses were very good and well equipped room with all the necessary amenities and had a balcony for relaxing and enjoying nature, in nights we could hear elephants shouting but the resort was fully secured by fence around it so animals could not enter. The staffs were very courteous and helpful when anything was required. We enjoyed the camp fire it was like enjoying in middle of forest. We had a privilege to meet Mr. Nawab Shafath Ali Khan who was the owner of the resort he is a hunter and in 2009 he has hunted a man eater in Faizabad in U.P, and last week he was in H.P to hunt a man eating leopard on aug11th which we happened to see in Hindu paper which was amazing for his bravery. We met Mrs. Khan and her son Mr.Ali who was young and manged the resort well.How can i forget to quote 1 day trip, they arranged 1 day trip to Mudhumalai Sanctuary were we saw many animals. Lastly, it was a trip to remember with lovely greenery surrounded, elephants shouting, camp fire a trip i advice friends, couples, family can enjoy!!! - Mahalakshmi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Landed up in this resort not by choice; but because it was the only place which had rooms for our dates. Having said that, its not really a bad place but the promoters are surely losing their focus. I was surprised to hear that they are always sold out of weekends! Either there is too much demand or I am too fussy.

The check-in process was a bit confusing. After a 13 hour ride I would have expected a better reception. They had a new front desk manager who wasn't sure what was to be charged initially and the duration of my stay. I was surprised they maintain/run their bookings based on rough paper note pads. For a 5 & half grand a night I expect better stuff! I felt like I made a wrong choice (as if I had one) at that moment.

The property as it is a decent one and it sort of grows on to you. They have a nice coordinator (Arun) who takes care of most guest requirements. I must say he does a fantastic job. But for him I would have rated this place poor. The food quality is great with a good spread but at times a little delayed. We paid 1000 per head per day. While it seemed expensive the quality of food didn't give us any dissonance at checkout.

We stayed in a tree house (#3) for 2 nights. The minute you enter the tree house the unpleasant odor of moss & dirty hits you. The tree house is very stable and it is strongly built with not water leaks. So from a safety perspective its absolutely fine. May be it was the rains but all the tree trunks in our tree house was filled with moss, fungus & what not. You really didn't feel like touching it or keeping even your bags close by. The drapes seemed dirty all around the house; the window blinds were broken and has probably never seen cleaning in a long time. The room seemed a bit better with some sun light, when I forcefully lifted the window blinds and tied the ropes to the chairs. Sleeping under a mosquito net is mandatory to avoid all the insects from crawling over you while you sleep. Again the net had quite a number of holes in it. While we wanted an experience of being in a tree house, I am almost sure that not many will like the tree house we stayed in. Some friends did give a bad review of their other rooms as well, so the problem seems consistent across their rooms. I had to really work hard to convince my daughter to stay back. If I hadn't paid the cost in advance I would have checked out after the first night.

They have some basic entertainment options but it was really irritating to see the roof of their activity center leaking when it rained heavy. They didn't even bother to check on fused lamps!

The promoters are from a royal family with a rich heritage; they seemed very warm & welcoming when ever you happened to meet their. The Nawab Begum (not sure if this is the right way to address the wife of the Nawab) was a very warm lady. She made conversations with my daughter and offered chocolates to her :)) I find it hard to be critical to a person who is being so nice and didn't share my concerns with her. Apart from staying in the property I am not sure how involved they are in the day to day operations of the resort. I don't think the Nawab & his children who not run the place really are connected with the folks who stay there - I don't think they would want to offer rooms with hygiene issues.

Net net, not a great place. But if have no other choice and your dates aren't flexible they it is manageable.

Room Tip: Don't expect much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place while returning to Bangalore from Ooty in May. Safari Land Resort is located in a peaceful place, well located in the foothills with lots of greenery . They have beautiful tree houses and a good area to have good evening walk. Personally I feel the price are a little bit on the higher side especially paying Rs1000 per person which we have to pay to get food and there is no pay per order. Food is home cooked and has a good taste.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the minute we entered, till we steeped out we experienced excellent hospitality. We had excellent dinner, which we never got even in ooty. Next time when we come we would like to stay in tree house! Play area was extremely awesome, the hotel structure in complete wodd was jus astonishing. The forest atmosphere is the best experience, trecking and ride in jungle was excellent. I am extremely satisfied.

Room Tip: Try to stay in tree house... u will really enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is a very good nature resort located on the border of the mudumalai forest where one can spot the wildlife easily. There is also a stream passing besides the resort which was dried up during our visit. The resort has many wild visitors like langoors common monkeys and the giant squirrel. The food was excellent, and homely! the owner Mr Shafath Ali Khan and his son Mr Asghar were perfect hosts. Mr Shafath is a renowned naturalist and a hunter. On invitation from the Uttar Pradesh govt. he hunted down a man eating tiger.
The rooms were not so good as we expected, but on the whole it was a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is in a gated complex not exactly inside the forest. The facility is fenced so no animals can enter the campus. Room was clean, food and service was all good. they should provide some other facilities other than just the ride through Masinagudi tar Road safari and a small trek.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Land Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Land Farm & Guest House

Address: 4/78K, Safari Land | Nilgiri District, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in beautiful jungle surroundings at the foothills of the gorgeous Blue Mountains of Nilgiris near the famous hill station of Ooty, bordering a jungle stream-wherein fresh water flows down from the mountains. The resort is located within the beautiful Nilgiris Biosphere which is a tri-junction of Mudumalai wildlife sanctuary in Tamilnadu, Bandipur in Karnataka and Wynad wildlife sanctuary in Kerala making it one of the largest evergreen forest tracts in India at an altitude of 1000m above sea level. Normally, the climate is very pleasant with zero pollution in lush green and refreshing surroundings. Tree Top House- It’s truly rustic, thrilling and adventurous! The feel of staying on a Tree, more than 20 feet in the air with stunning view of the beautiful Blue Mountains of Nilgiris amidst sparkling streams, lush green forest, teeming wildlife and much more. It’s surely a promise of a most memorable and unforgettable holiday experience in the wild. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Land Farm & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.