We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for nature lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen View Resort

Save Saved
You added Glen View Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen View Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bokkapuram, Masinagudi 643223, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Masinagudi
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for nature lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

THIS PLACE IS A VERY NICE FOR THE PPL WHO LOVES MOTHER NATURE . do not expect any luxury . staff was friendly especially mr. gokul he served us well . food was also good. their is actually no road for the last 1km for the resort, only jeep s can take up that road but not to worry the resort arranged for a jeep pick up and also allotted a safe parking for my car . because of the road it gave a real forest fell and ambiance .

Room Tip: Bamboo hut is the best at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hi PPL, Myself and 3 of my college buddies planned for a trip to Masinagudi in early September, We were scouting for a pretty good natural and kinda different place to add savour to our trip. We landed up at Glen View resort - which has got 7 different huts, we opted for the one named Paniya hut for our stay. Its an awesome place to go and must see place where in you can get home made food, They take care of us in each every aspect. If you have a huge crowd or a group camp fire will be much more entertaining, Rooms are pretty clean and since its present amidst a bamboo forest few insects may astonish you at nite. Great place to hang out with if you are planning for a weekend. Place is completely secure and Ooty is jus 22kms away from this place. Overall i would say GOOD ONE.

Room Tip: For couple stay Paniya hut and Tree house will be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Glen View Resort in Masinagudi is one of my favorite resort in this place, It is located in the best place.

Regarding rooms/cottages, It has a verity of rooms and one can choose as per there needs and the rooms are good, neat and clean, Dont expect the luxury rooms and these are not luxury but a good ones.

Food is tasty and has a good buffet for BF,Lunch n dinner, few indoor/outdoor activities can keep you engaged during the stay or one can opt for a trekking.

Overall, a nice place to stay with a nature..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location of this place is great. the Idea behind having 7 different types of huts/rooms is also very nice and its a nice place to relax and if one has more time trekking around the area could also be fun.
However, the resort needs better maintainance. There is no excuse for not having the rooms clean and free of insects.
The staff is polite (sometimes a little lost). The guy managing the show (Thilak) does a very good job and is very accomodative.
I liked the food, especially the country style chicken curry which was amazing, though my vegetarian friends dint really enjoy it.

As travellers we must understand that this resort is in a jungle. The local cooking style is much different from what we would find in the cities we come from. We should go there expecting to taste something new and different.. it will definitely not be what we find regular restaurants.
And the management should understand that true travellers are not too many. More than half your customers who come there to only relax need things as what they are used to. So do have good options for them as well. After all they are the ones who give you more business.

Price wise this place is about okay. Though the food seemed a little expensive.

Room Tip: Carry your own liquor. nothing good around the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were a group of friends who wanted to experience a jungle resort and chose Glen View based on their website. We were extremely disappointed on reaching the place since it looked no where close to the pictures on the website. The least we expect in any resort is to get good food and clean rooms and both these were absent here. The food was bland and the rooms unclean and infested with insects with no provision to get rid of them! The people serving were polite and doing the best they could but the management has to look into the place and give it a overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback, and we took your feedback seriously. Here are the changes that were taken up recently after your visit.

1. Overal cleanliness have been strictly monitored and enforced.
2. All worn out doors have been replaced
3. Damaged ceilings have been replaced
4. The restaurant roof has been completely re-done with leak-proof material
5. Pest management has been regularised, on a higher frequency of application

I am sure you will see the difference on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

As mentioned in most of the reviews,the place whr the resort is made is very nice.....very close to nature, relaxing......bt the rooms need to b improved a lot.we stayed in the log huts,bt it isn't made of logs...toilets need to b cleaner. Food needs improvement, staff were kind n co-operative......nw the best part...all ws well on Saturday,bt on sunday the taps went dry in our room toilet and the reason given ws tat elephants hav ruptured the water pipes, whereas the whole resort had water....nevertheless we were given other vacant rooms to freshen up, bt it gets tough if something like this happens if u r wit family. Other than the water problem,we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Dont ever even try to think of going here.. the accommodation is very bad.. the place is littered every where... lot of snakes around.. the approach road is the worst part.. you might to send your car to service centre if you go there.. the food was terrible and expensive.. people are harsh..
so overall its not worth to be called as resort.. its a second grade lodge..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. After enquiring at the resort, I realised that you had not stayed at the resort, and did not avail restaurant or any other services. You had asked for a refund and left the place without checking in. So coming to your points -

1. Snakes - There has not been a single report so far about sighting snakes in the property. If you had found one, you could have reported it to the staff. Even though it is a deep jungle resort, we have kept snakes away all throughout.

2. Littering - I have taken this up with the management. During my last inspection, the place was indeed clean. However we do not remove the fallen leaves etc, just to retain the rustic ambience of the property. From your feedback, it certainly reveals that you do not appreciate such an ambience.

3. Approach road - This has been discussed several times in this forum, and I have mentioned that we are not allowed to pave the roads due to strict instructions from the forest officials. We do plan to fix the roads, when this ban is lifted. We do provide alternate arrangements for pickup in our own vehicle for Guests who arrive in low ground clearance vehicles.

4. Food - Upon checking sales bills, I found that you have not had food from the property. Hence I believe this is a false comment.

5. Staff behaviour - We have not had much bad comments about staff behaviour. However I have given clear instructions to management to keep well mannered staff at the property.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen View Resort

Address: Bokkapuram, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen View Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot hills of the Nilgiris (also referred to as Blue Mountains) lies Bokkapuram, a picturesque village known for its immense beauty and serenity. Abode to the Goddess of the mudumalai jungle, it carries her temple which is celebrated just once a year.A short stretch into the woods should ideally lead into the silent jungle. But that is not the case, because hidden in the dark and silent canopy of bamboos and towering trees lies a resort which has merged itself into the beautiful landscape. Its inhabitants are enthralled by its distinguished wild visitors which includes the Gigantic Asian Elephants, the awesome bison’s, the majestic tigers, the skilled cheetah and the all so beautiful birds which hover around in different colours and sizes. Glen View Resort has earned itself the reputation of ‘THE’ ideal getaway for those who seek the best of the unblemished Wild.Glen View provides the opportunity of living in the lap of nature. The cottages, built out of contemporary mud and stone interiors provides you a luxurious blend of comfort and exotic natural ambience which makes your dream vacation a reality. So, comeon, take that vacation you have kept aside for so long and visit us. We promise the vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Glen View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen View Resort Hotel Masinagudi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.