We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glen View Resort to your Saves list
Glen View Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bokkapuram, Masinagudi 643223, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Virudhunagar, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This resort is deep in the forest. The place is very silent and during the night you hear just the forest sound and nothing else. A nice getaway place for Couples or smal family.

I had a plesent stay, You can spot deer right from your room balcony. It can get scary at night to go out sometime :)

Recommended

Room Tip: Few rooms like the Tree house and the cave room was not good. The one with the balcony and thee b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
19
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are a group of 8/9 friends opted Glen View Resort for a night stay,to be specific for partying overnight and the plan worked out fine for us.

Need to drive approx. 1 km mud road to reach the resort from the center place. Approaching road was narrow.

Stayed in stone hut. Small room but sufficient for two person.Value for money. Nice facilities for campfire and food was very tasty.

The resort ambiance was very quite and its not a good idea to walk in to the jungles without a guide as you might come across wild elephants although we did not see any of those. Venturing out at night is a big NO. No music allowed during night.

Nothing much activity options for Kids. Few nearby resorts seem to be kids friendly :)

Drive from Bangalore to Masinagudi was nice.we spotted a few deer and elephants on the way.

Would suggest for group of friends looking for some fun partying and adventure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This review is not only about Glen View resort but also about the attractions and activities provided by them.
Our objectives of the trip were to spot animals in the forest and enjoy being away from hectic city life.
The most important thing while planning this trip is choosing the right season to enjoy Mudhumalai Forest. There are two popular theories and beliefs (found in the Internet) in selecting the season in order to spot maximum animals in the forest. They are
1) In the rainy season (i.e. May- Oct) there will be lot of animals but forest also comes alive so there could be difficulty in spotting them as forest becomes denser and greener.
2) The forest is dry during the non-rainy season and animals tend to come towards water sources where they can be spotted easily.
We went to Masinagudi in 1st week of March 2013, the forest was dry and locals suggested that it is not the right time to visit Masinagudi as animals wander away deep inside the forest. So I suggest you people to visit this place during the monsoon time i.e. June – Oct.
About the Resort
1) Resort – It is few KMs off Masinagudi Town and the resort is pretty much inside the forest. You have to use their Jeep Services if you want to go to Masinagudi Town. In the town you have a Supermarket (Dream Land) which has lot to offer and also accepts major Credit/Debit cards.
2) Rooms – Spacious, Toilets were clean, Sheets were clean and Geyser was present.
3) Food – Food was good but it is always better to order those food items which have least probability of preparing it bad like Chappati and Dal, idly and Dosa, Curd Rice etc.
4) Service/Attitude – All the resort employees were hospitable.

Attractions around the Resort:
1) Bandipore/Mudhumalai Govt. run Safari – We went all the way to Bandipore Govt. Safari from Masinagudi even though Mudhumalai Govt. Safari is closer to Masinagudi hoping that we may catch a glimpse of Tiger in Bandipore. The Karnataka Govt. offers you two options 1) Van Safari, where 20 odd people sit in a Van and they take us through the forest. They charge 300 Per Person and they also accept credit cards but they charge 1.9% service charge. For 4 of us through Credit Card they should ideally be charging 1200+1200*1.9/100 but mathematically challenged Forest Rangers told that we got to pay 1440.With the language barrier and inability to convince those people that their calculation is wrong we decided to pay Rs 1200 in cash. For non-Indians they charge Rs 1000 which simply cannot be understood. 2) Hiring a Jeep, 2000K for the Jeep and 200 for each Person. So mathematical equation - Amt= 2000+200*x where x is the number of people maxed at 6.
We saw Spotted Deer, Sambar Deer, Elephants, Peacock and Bison in the safari. When all of us were dejected that we could not spot any cats(tigers or leopards) a Bull Elephant gave us some thrilling experience. A Bull elephant was standing right infront of us and as we went closer to the elephant it moved away from the path and it was standing right next to our van probably 5-10 yards away. That moment it trumpeted and charged towards the side of the van, realizing the gravity of the situation van driver quickly accelerated away from it. The Bull started chasing us madly for 75 - 100 meters before giving up. Rate - Masinagudi to Bandipore Jeep/Cab Rs 1000.
2) Trekking – Trekking around Masinagudi is probably the best way to spot animals in their own natural surroundings. In the Morning we trekked for about 2.5 hrs and we were able to spot Bison, Nilgiri Langur, White-tailed Tropicbird and Elephants. Our guide thought that he had spotted a Bison and asked us to come closer and have a look but it turned out to be a couple of Bull elephants which gave us a scare. Initially one of the two with huge tusks charged towards us but once it saw 4-5 people it ran away in the opposite direction. Face to Face confrontation with a Bull Elephant within 20 feet was indeed scary and we all started running with the guide leading us from the front. If you have decided to go for trekking buy a good pair of shoes and also make sure that you are fit enough to run in short bursts and walk for say 20km in a day. Evening Trekking lasted for 2.5 to 3 hrs and we saw birds and Bison. March is a very bad time to visit so we couldn’t spot lot of animals which are easier to spot in the rainy season like pack of wild dogs, mountain python, Bears and wild cats. Rate – 300 per person per session.
3) Swimming and Fishing in small canal/creek/rivulet near Masinagudi Town.
4) Avoid Night Safari – They take you around the Main Road and they charge Rs1200. I really doubt if you could see any animals in the night because they don’t have flash lights and other advanced equipments.
5) Inquire well before you take Jeep Safari organized by Pvt. People. They Charge 3500 and from what I heard they don’t take you deep into the jungle.

Conclusion:
1) Pick the right season i.e. June – Oct
2) Masinagudi is at the edge of Mudhumalai tiger Reserves so if you could find out more commercialized village/town in terms of resorts, trekking and safari activities in the middle of the forest I believe you have better chances of encountering wild animals. Saying that I am not taking anything away from Masinagudi and Glen View. Right next to Glen view you have falls, creeks and rivulets. If you were an avid NGC, Animal planet or Discovery channel viewer you would know how important a plain land with ponds in it are to the forest and the animals. There are many such places in Masinagudi but unfortunately all of them were dry when we visited the place.
3) If you want to trek you got to be fit and agile. Invest in good pair of shoes if don’t have one. Binoculars and good 20-30X optical zoom camera may come handy.
4) Instead of wasting time on Night Safari and Safari on a jeep organised by the Pvt. People trek for 2 or 3 days (ideally 4-6 sessions Morning and evening in 6 different routes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a nice time in Glen view resort! The place is adventurous and an experience on its own.
We stayed in a bamboo tree house and the rooms were nicely and neatly done.The bathrooms were spotless and services were just right.For families who are going with children, its perfect as the cook customizes food according to your needs.
The ambience was peaceful and was a great getaway from crazy city life!To us, it was better than the typical luxury commercial resorts.
Though we could not make it to the night safari (thanks to our chhota bheem crazy son who is scared of darkness!), other families who had gone had a gala time, they had encountered many elephants, deers and gaurs.
However, while leaving the place, we spotted a deer @the entrance of the resort, and he/she seemed to say bye to us,...well, we couldn't have asked for more :)
In a nut shell, if you are a nature lover, this place is for you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my first driving trip out of Bangalore but don't have much memories to cherish about this place.

Pros:
* Rooms and bathrooms were okay. Don't have much experience to compare.
* Place is green. You do get a feel of being very close to nature.
* Service boys were honest.

Cons:
* First off all, we were about 16 people group including bunch of kids and on the day of departure, pretty much every one got stomach ache. Kids got fever. Initially, when only kids complained about the fever, we thought we didn't keep the kids warm but then when everyone complained about stomach upset, we attribute it to the good we ate previous nite..... not at all happy about the food.
* When we were trying to find this resort, we got lost as there are no sign board to direct to you this place. Plenty of other resorts in the vicinty do have boards. There are few boards that will come after the temple which is quite late as you have already been lost by then.
* Service was reactive. They would offer only if ask.

Room Tip: We stayed in Stone hut and kadumba(don't know if I got this right).... These are small compared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

i stayed with my mother for three days in one of the huts. found the food excellent, the amenities good too, and really good value for money. also the staff arranged taxi rides to ooty and madurai very conveniently. a really nice property, nothing too flashy or touristy. natural in its own right, clean rooms and eating area. the only inconvenience (or a really nice convenience when looking for a break) that it is the last resort at the end of the dirt road. so the cars have a tough time getting there. but the waterfall is the nearest.

Room Tip: the tree house is best! for the views of course. but all the rooms are good enough because it gets p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The place is very natural, not built. It is not your commercial places that we see all over. Its just a place filled with bamboo trees. There are conventional cottages with bricks, Mud as well as Bamboo and all are good. The thing that impressed us was the cleanliness of the rooms and the service of the staff..

Staff is eager to help in any way possible. I would prefer such a place any day than any of the so called luxury stays. Food was good without being fancy, gives more of a homely feeling than a regular resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen View Resort

Address: Bokkapuram, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen View Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot hills of the Nilgiris (also referred to as Blue Mountains) lies Bokkapuram, a picturesque village known for its immense beauty and serenity. Abode to the Goddess of the mudumalai jungle, it carries her temple which is celebrated just once a year.A short stretch into the woods should ideally lead into the silent jungle. But that is not the case, because hidden in the dark and silent canopy of bamboos and towering trees lies a resort which has merged itself into the beautiful landscape. Its inhabitants are enthralled by its distinguished wild visitors which includes the Gigantic Asian Elephants, the awesome bison’s, the majestic tigers, the skilled cheetah and the all so beautiful birds which hover around in different colours and sizes. Glen View Resort has earned itself the reputation of ‘THE’ ideal getaway for those who seek the best of the unblemished Wild.Glen View provides the opportunity of living in the lap of nature. The cottages, built out of contemporary mud and stone interiors provides you a luxurious blend of comfort and exotic natural ambience which makes your dream vacation a reality. So, comeon, take that vacation you have kept aside for so long and visit us. We promise the vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Glen View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen View Resort Hotel Masinagudi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.