We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!! Total Rip Offs!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Hills Farm & Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masinagudi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Hills Farm & Guest House
Save
You added Forest Hills Farm & Guest House to your Saves list
Mudumalai Tiger Reserve, | The Nilgiris, Masinagudi 643223, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Masinagudi B&B and Inns
Concord
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!! Total Rip Offs!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

By Far the Worst managed Place I have ever seen and had to stay at.Torn sheets, towel racks falling off in the bathroom, hot water does not last for more than 5 mins. You might be better of camping at one of the nearby resorts than stay at this run down place. Have to admit that some of the staff working there were very courteous but management needs to get their act together, very sly folks.
If anyone decides to stay here anyway make sure you have something in writing about the prices for the rooms and any other incidental charges....if not you could be in for a Big surprise at checkout.

Room Tip: Try Jungle Hut that`s nearby - much better food and service. Place is well managed and management is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Superb location and ambiance, away from the concrete jungles, situated in the 'real' jungle! Breathtaking natural beauty of the forests and lots of wild life around. Kids never felt a moment of boredom due to the many games within the premises. Well made rooms with neat beds and linen (but the doors and windows could do with a little maintenance work) with hot water supply in the bath. No room service. All guests assemble at the common outside dining for food. A good social gathering. Home made food (really delicious) to cater to all palates. Above all, the warmth shown by the hostess and the caretaker Mr. Radhakrishnan, who sees to all your needs to keep you comfy.

Keep it up! really worth a visit again.

Room Tip: For a family, the family room near the dining area would be ideal, with a double bed, sofa and a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was probably my 6th visit. I should have got the review up much earlier.

I landed up in FH for the first time in June 2008. We were sent to ForestHills by the owners of Junglehut as they had, in confusion, overbooked us. Since then i have been making annual or bi-annual visits with friends, colleagues and wife. Needless to say, i love this place. I go there with the sole objective to relax. The place offers great home food and a location which will take your breath away!

In a nutshell, the Pros & Cons:

Pros
- Great location. Right at the edge of the forest with a genuine opportunity to view wildlife
- Quiet location and very clean lodgings
- Great homely food. Different varieties & hygienic
- Very friendly hosts
- Good location for wildlife photography
- The place has a lot of adventure to offer (get the tree house or the Machaan and you wont regret it)
- Close to places such as Bandipur, Ooty & Coonoor
- There is a stream flowing close to the property which is full during the monsoon

Cons
- If you are the restless non-nature type, you may find that there is very little to do (so plan your itinerary well ahead)
- Due to the proximity to the forest, you cant treat this place like a resort (make noise and merry)
- Since the place doesn't stock liquor, you need to get your own, and smuggling it over the border is high risk so basically you are at the mercy of the local brands :-)
- For wildlife/nature lovers - During the weekends, occupancy will be full, and you MAY be stuck with noisy inhabitants so weekdays are best

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We travelled as a couple recently. It was an amazing experience with nice hospitality and service from staff. We stayed in a Bumboo hut and we found it really good for budget stay. Cleanliness was awesome, view is great.
Food was just great. We had bonfire in the eve..its just amazing experience..peace and calm absolutely.

Room Tip: Machaan or Tree House for Nature / wild-life lovers else Bumboo huts for budget travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you don't like nature and wildlife, this is not for you, as you will be staying in a middle a the tiger reserve. I had a great night there, meal is also great and going on safari is awesome. The only problem is that the waiter try to sell me an opened water bottle, so beware of this. After I ask for a new bottle that I can open myself it took 24 hours to get it....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had booked this resort for a nights stay in April 2012.
The Resort is located at around 7kms from masinagudi, one would have to take a right after masinagudi town where you could see lot of signboards with different resort names, travel till the end of the tarred road and you would reach Jungle Hut Resort- take a left on to the Mud Road and few 100 meters and you would get Forest hill.
We had Booked the Bamboo hut and the Machaan, Bamboo hut is Normal Clean Room.
Machaan is Located at the End of the Resort, towards the jungle, the Machaan has a roof top area to sit or even for lying until its night, The Machaan beds are just average, Bathroom also just clean i would say. We Expected more for the money paid in terms of the bed and bathroom
However at the Midnight we could see a Tusker standing clearly below the machaan, next to our vehicle and we were scared if its gonna damage the vehicle, but it did not and the guards of the resort made it go away
The Food was Really yummy and tasty, more of south Indian delicacies,
The Staff is very very friendly,
we had visited the place 2 weeks back in October, just to have breakfast.

Recommended for a good jungle stay in order to experience the wild life.its sure that you would spot some wild life.

Room Tip: 1.The Machaan and the Tree House are best ones if you would like to spot some wild life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Forest Hills farm and Guest House is an average option for stay in Masinagudi. It is within the forest and tuskers tend to walk in and out at will and that perhaps makes it a bit unsafe.
The rooms looked a bit run down too. The family running the place were most accommodative and helpful and the food was excellent but on the whole an average experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Hills Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills Farm & Guest House

Address: Mudumalai Tiger Reserve, | The Nilgiris, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hills Farm & Guesthouse is a family run rustic theme resort located in a beautiful and secluded part of the famous Nilgiri foothills in India and very close to the Mudumalai Tiger Reserve offering a unique opportunity to explore and appreciate the forests that are home to a variety of wildlife. Time means nothing here. It is the celestial bodies that control nature. It is a delightful mix of old-fashioned hospitality and contemporary amenities typical of the colonial bungalows and clubs.The atmosphere is informal and friendly and the facilities include a ‘Machaan’ or Watchtower on stilts which guarantees sighting of wildlife at close quarters. Set in a breathtakingly beautiful valley with the wooded mountains forming a majestic backdrop. The reception has a warm and inviting ambiance typical of colonial parlor.Accommodation includes double-occupancy rooms, triple room, four-bedded cottage, deluxe rooms, bamboo huts, tree-houses and a Machaan, all non-a/c. The rooms are cozily furnished and offer every modern convenience. The cuisine is delightfully tasty and varied with the services, needless to say, exemplary. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Hills Farm & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.