We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
16/12 Moo 6, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Kamala
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Real Potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A brand new hotel located right on the beach at Kamala. Located 30 mins from the airport the hotel reception and welcome, iced towels and a cold drink, was very much appreciated.

The hotel layout is simple yet effective, it gives the impression of seclusion yet you are clearly in a hotel which has the potential to cater for many.

The food was good, the local Thai dishes were superb, the service excellent throughout.

The rooms are located on a hillside overlooking the pool, restaurant and bar, not to bad walking down the hill but if you want to take it easy you'll definitely need one of the buggies to take you back up.

The only element missing is for the hotel to truly find its identity, a few more months and im sure it will create its own unique atmosphere but that certainly not a recent not to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you explore the local surroundings, there is so much today. For the rooms, ask for a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
26
34
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Louangphrabang, Laos
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the newly opened Hyatt Regency Hotel in Kamala. When the pool seems bigger than the sea and the day beds softer than sand, you do not move a lot from the blues and greens of the pool bar to the oranges of their succulent lobsters at The Sunset Grill, we just spent colorful days surrounded by friendly staffs and indulging in waterworld pleasures. Looks like many Phuket residents have already made this hotel the rendez-vous place for coffee and kids lunch. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get the room that give you access to The Regency Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently stayed in the newly opened Hyatt Regency at Kamala Beach in Phuket and it exceeded our expectations on every level. From the immaculate grounds, huge pool with plenty of ares to relax and variety of restaurants with panoramic views - the hotel provided us with the perfect facilities to unwind and be pampered. For families, this property is ideal as the pool has several play areas for smaller children and a kids club which has been fitted out with everything the little ones could want.
Despite only having been open for a matter of days when we arrived, the staff were completely prepared for our arrival and treated us like royalty. The servicing of the rooms, by the poolside, in the regency club and in the restaurants was all excellent. One of the highlights of our stay was eating at the newly opened Sunset Grill on New Year's Eve. Feeling like you're on the top of Phuket, it is the ideal place to enjoy a special occaision. Here you will be able to sample some of Phuket's finest seafood and fresh produce - our meal was exceptional.
We will definitely be returning to the Hyatt Regency at Kamala Beach! Thank you to the GM, Keith and his team for providing us with such a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We loved this new hotel.

We stayed here for one week as a family with three young children (all under 7 years) over Christmas and New Year and were completely blown away by how fantastic it is. The hotel is brand new, only opening within the last couple of weeks so everything is so clean and very well presented.

The hotel is in an excellent location in Kamala Cove, between 'Millionaires Mile', and within walking distance to Kamala Beach (about 10 minutes.) The property has its own beach front, with a small quiet road in between. Local restaurants directly front the beach, which have great local Thai food if you fancy eating out of the hotel (although to be honest the food within the hotel is exceptional so we ate in nearly everyday!). The Hotel also has access to another beautiful beach, called Hua Beach, about a 5-10 minute walk away, they are in the process of beautifying it and will in the near future be able to arrange food and drink hampers for you to take there via a tuktuk.

The hotel itself is beautifully designed on a gentle sloping hillside, which means that almost all of the rooms enjoy great views of the ocean. The higher your room, the better your view! The rooms are huge and well appointed, with the bathrooms being especially large and so are great for families. The rooms have generous balconies with day beds to take full advantage of the view and the beds were very comfortable. We also noticed that there were quite a few rooms with their own small private pools - these looked amazing, and we might try one of those next time.

The hotel had multiple electric buggies that are always on hand to take you to and from your rooms, Hyatt Regency Club, Fitness Centre, Kids Club and Spa. However the hillside is not too steep, so it was also very easy to simply walk down to the pool and restaurants.

The hotel lobby, pool bar and main dining areas are located at the lower entrance level. They all surround a HUGE infinity pool that looks directly over the ocean. We were told that it is one of the biggest pools in all of Phuket, and we believe it. The pool is very well designed, because it has acres of shallow areas, so the children can play without too much supervision and the parents can stay at the bar or sun beds without getting stressed. The children loved it!

The food was excellent and there was a great mix of western and local dishes. The Thai food was especially good and we indulged everyday on their truly exceptional dishes - thumbs up to the Thai chef, it was the best Thai food we had on the island!. Up the hillside was the Regency Club, which had stunning views and its own private infinity pool. We had breakfast there sometimes and also some early evening complimentary cocktails, nibbles and drinks, for these reasons alone we recommend getting Club access - its worth it! At the highest point of the hotel was the Sunset Grill. This has the best views of all and has amazing grilled seafood for lunch and dinner (think giant lobster, river prawns, crab etc as well as imported meats). We were there for New Years, and the fireworks and lantern display were spectacular.

Directly under the Sunset Grill was the Kids Club, which is certainly the best located Childrens Club we have ever seen. It has amazing views and is huge inside. There are heaps of activities for the kids and lovely staff on hand to supervise - our children were there a number of times throughout our stay and always came back to us with gorgeous little arts and crafts activities and beaming smiles!

Also just to mention there is a beautiful looking Spa and well appointed fitness centre, although we didn't try these this time around we certainly will next time.

Overall, we couldn't recommend this hotel enough and we are already planning our next stay!!

Room Tip: Corner suites were large and perfect for couples who want extra space and small families Pool suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were one of the first guests staying at this property.
The arrival experience is a WOW, and their immense pool seems larger than the sea.
Perfect for lazy days, the outdoor area has got it all, with a plethora of day beds, canopies, food outlets and bars that is a winner for both adults and kids. Space seems to be the big thing here.
Besides, their food is exquisite and well-priced , and our room overlooking the Andaman Sea
was neat and perfectly fitted. A welcome and surprisingly cool newcomer on Phuket's Millionnaire's Mile. We already booked our next stay in Phuket.

Room Tip: Get the ones with glass balconies, with access to the hilltop Regency Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort

Address: 16/12 Moo 6, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort is nestled on the hillside overlooking Kamala Cove at the southern tip of Kamala Beach. Terraced up the verdant hill, this five-star resort offers unobstructed panoramic views of the Andaman Sea and spectacular sunsets from each of the 199 guestrooms. The Regency Club rooms, perched on the hillside, offer a large balcony, open-concept luxurious room and bathroom, some with private dipping pool, All club guests have access to the Regency Club featuring a large infinity pool overlooking the Resort and the Andaman Sea. This luxury resort features Nahm Spa where eight private spa suites, tucked away atop the resort, will provide Thai specialist massages and herbal and aromatic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort Kamala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.