We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but can be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamala Dreams

Save Saved
You added Kamala Dreams to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamala Dreams
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   74/1 Moo 3 | Tambon Kamala, Katu District, Kamala, Phuket 83120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 hotels in Kamala
Gurgaon, Hr, India
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location, but can be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Located bang on the Kamala Beach in Phuket, a couple of minutes of the highway that connects North-South Phuket, Kamala Dreams is a very nice property. The property is run by Jan and his family and hence a very friendly reception and environment is guaranteed. The restaurant in a quaint sort of a way is the opening to the hotel - which is also located bang on the road almost like a street cafe (of the sorts you see in European cities).

We were given a family suite overlooking the beach - the beach was sullied however by a lot of sewage getting emptied therein. So we had to end up going to beaches different from Kamala and that was a little bit of a disappointment.

In sum, the Lovely location of the hotel and the room (a family suite, overlooking the beach), the incredibly friendly staff - who run it as a family concern and hence love the place as their home, clean and well provided for supplies and finally, the awesome home-made food (the green thai curry and the chicken panang are really worth it) - make Kamala Dreams a great choice.

On the negative side, the bathroom found itself choked in its drainage, water took time getting off after the bath - with four of us using the suite, it was a long wait. Also I am not sure if the rates were as much value as they sound - but the hotel lies in a road which in itself offers some shopping options (not as enticingly priced as Chatuchak though) !!

Room Tip: Choose the family suite if you are travelling as a family - the size of the room the location of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
34
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times over the past few years. Kamala Dreams is a great choice if you are looking for a nice, relaxing, small hotel located right on the ocean. The main beach area is only 50 meters away from the hotel and the hotel is adjacent to numerous shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel also has an in house restaurant offering tasty Thai and European food as well as a wide variety of BBQed seafood every evening. The hotel rooms are very comfortable, cozy and clean - most rooms have a beautiful ocean view from the terrace or patio. There is also a small swimming pool and sunbathing area. The staff is very friendly and courteous. Wifi is available throughout the hotel and is free of charge as well as having good connectivity.
Overall - Kamala Dreams is great value for the money and a is very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrajong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 16 days may 2013.
We arrived about 8.30 pm very hot humid night, upon arrival in our room, airconditioner was on and room was beautiful and cool. Quick shower and dinner downstairs. The food was wonderful as was the service and this continued throughout our stay (do try the bbq amazing)
We loved our stay at Kamala dreams, the rooms were spotlessly clean and serviced every day. The staff were friendly and fun ( a little shy at first as can be the way with Thai people)
Right in the centre of Kamala, village out the front and beach out the back, plenty to do in all directions from friendly local bars to beach bars and eateries, massages and shopping all within a few mins walk.
A special mention to Jan the owner, all pre holiday correspondence was promptly answered, putting our minds at ease, but what a genuinly lovely man he was when we met him, he really did go out of his way to organise things for us when we didnt speak enough Thai and made us feel like true guests.
We are already planning our next trip back to Kamala dreams

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I had a late flight in (0200). I contacted Jan before our arrival, he told us to call when we were close and he would have someone meet me. As promised, a nice lady (may have been the in site manager), met us and showed us the room. The room was clean, big, and had a small kitchen complete with dishes.

The hotel is right off Kamala, perfect to walk up and down a quiet beach. The canal dumps out water right in front of the hotel, and unfortunately, that means there is a bit if trash. It was sad, but there is plenty of beach to walk up and down to enjoy the water.

The breakfast is super tasty, they have several options to choose from.

My wife and I will be back in the future and would recommend this place to anyone who wants a nice place, next to a quieter beach, with tasty restaurants and cheap massages within walking distance.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Kamala Dreams is a decent hotel, a bit hard beds and a bit stony as there are hardly no wood nowhere. The owner J Jacobs was planning to keep the hotel not to rot away for a long time. Its a bit hard in the atmosphere but its ok. The staff are friendly but the Kamala Beach is not the best beach on Phuket, outside the hotel the water is rather dirty and I recommend to go up the road direction Surin on top of the hill between Kamala and Surin there is a small parking and you walk down to Laehm Sing Beach. That is a cool place, clean water and some small cheap beach restaurants. If you go there do not just accept the first offer from the beach vendors. Walk left or right you find a lot of space. Regarding Kamala Dreams its ok for a few days but we stayed 5 days, the beds where too hard and the AC was noisy, and did not work all the time. Anyway it was as I said OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night only on a stop off from Koh Chang to Phi Phi (too long a journey to do in one day). We chose Kamala as a quieter part of Phuket, and Kamala Dreams was a good location and great value. Taxi from Phuket airport was 400 THB from metered rank, the unofficial taxi's wanted 800 THB, so make sure you wait at the official stand (right out of airport).

Check in was quick, there is no lift but only 1 flight of stairs to go up with cases and the owners daughter helped carry mine. The room & bathroom was very big, and nice & clean. No safe in the room and all balconies are connected so we were quite concerned about security (but no issues during our short stay). The hotel & surrounding area was noisy and we were woken several times in the night to people talking & doors slamming! Breakfast wasn't a buffet, it was a set menu where you chose A, B or C and they brought it to your table (cereal, fruits, youghurt, fry up etc), it was fine but if staying for many nights it may be a problem. The hotel was directly on the beach and the pool looked nice, but I can't elaborate due to us only staying for a quick stop over.

Jan the owner emailed me in advance to say we had booked their "last room in the house" meaning we had no view of the pool/beach, this didn't bother us but I thought it was a nice touch that they even bothered to pre-warn us & confirm we still wanted it. I also asked Jan to book our taxi & ferry transfer to Phi Phi for the next morning, which was all ready for us checking in, price was 600THB pp which was in line with what the other operators were charging so we were happy that Jan took the hassle away for us.

I've only given 3 stars due to noise, lack of security, breakfast, and the fact we only stayed 1 night so difficult to judge properly, but all in all it was a clean hotel with large rooms worth considering for your stay.

Room Tip: Pool/beach facing room, away from roadside to ensure quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Chose this place based on location and were quite happy with it. It met our requirements of clean, quiet and comfortable. Even though it was officially high season, everything was still in low season mode. (Someone forgot to tell the weather gods as well, that it was officially high season) On the positive side: The rooms were large, with a king size comfortable bed and a handy kitchenette. Lots of wardrobe space. On the ever so slightly negative side was; a room safe would be handy; could not get the shower water temperature past warm; a flat screen T V would have been nice for the price you pay and during a thunderstorm, my daughter’s bedroom roof sprung a leak (while she was napping, soaking the bed.) They were able to relocate her to another room. On another day and another storm, we took shelter at the Dreams restaurant on the beach front. They do a very good Tom Yum and my yard stick of a banana, mango and pineapple fruit shake was up to standard, if just a slightly chunky. When we had one at the main restaurant at the hotel, they have a different blender and it was a lot smoother and got 2 thumbs up from the rest of the family. I went western for my evening meal there of a chicken Cordon Bleu (Gordon Blue on some menus in Asia) which was fine for pub grub standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamala Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Dreams

Address: 74/1 Moo 3 | Tambon Kamala, Katu District, Kamala, Phuket 83120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kamala
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamala Dreams 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kamala Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Dreams Hotel Kamala
Dreams Hotel Kamala
Dreams Resort Kamala
Kamala Dreams Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamala Dreams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.