We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-hectic chill-out bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamala Beergarden

Kamala Beergarden
66/5 Moo 3 | Main Road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 87 629 7258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Kamala
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Kamala's most popular bars and favorite spots for the local expat community and tourists alike. Kamala Beergarden has "risen from the ashes" from a fire in Feb 2012. Kamala Beergarden is back, the beers are cold and the girls are smiling. Kamala Beergarden is located on the Main Road intersection in Kamala Beach, Phuket.
Kamala, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Non-hectic chill-out bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Greg has done a great job as the new owner of a burnt out wreck in creating an elegant and very clean bar.
The staff are friendly without the usual " girlie bar " traits and the service is competent.
It just needs to re-open the kitchen and serve good quality, well priced food, like before to reach its former glory days (in much nicer surroundings).
The perimeter tables tend to over-balance - perhaps bolt them down?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBGGregg, Owner at Kamala Beergarden, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks Baz for the kind review... and pardon the late reply. We finally did get the kitchen open and enjoyed about 6 weeks before losing the chef but such is life we carry on with a simpler menu and look for a new chef. Absolutely agree with the tables am hope to have bigger, sturdier tables in place on the perimeter before the high season we are trying trying to source a manufacturer now. Hope to see you back enjoying a meal on the new tables... cheers Gregg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arosa, Switzerland
1 review
“Thats i call holidays!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

You come first time to the bar and will leave with good new friends! Thanks to pim and Gregg and all the friendly competent staff!
For me was this some of the best time ever.. Siting in shorts, drinking a good cold chaang and watching Ice Hockey!! Verry friendly, honest, funny and beautiful Staff!
I allready plan my next holiday in kamala!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBGGregg, Owner at Kamala Beergarden, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Haha... I always remember the guys who love ice hockey!! Thanks for the kind review you were a great customer to have. Look forward to seeing you sometime in the upcoming NHL season... cheers Gregg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I heard this place burnt down and then came back to life. It's all true. The Kamala Beer Garden had burnt down but it's back & it's awesome

I met the Canadian owner Gregg and his great Thai girlfriend. Gregg is beyond friendly,you can tell he loves this place. Gregg also helped us with getting a hotel room in town, where to go, what to see, etc. Kamala Beer Garden turned into our home base for our week in Kamala.

Don't know what more you want in Kamala. Brand new place (2013), open air concept, friendly staff & owner, cold beer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayong, Thailand
1 review
“One of the best in Kamala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The bar just opened prior to my visit but was operating as if it had been open for years. The owner and staff were fantastic! Everyone was friendly and outgoing and they made you feel welcome. Lots of TVs and two pool tables. Every Wednesday they have a pool tournament which was a lot of fun. Great selection of music playing at a level where you could have a conversation without having to yell. If you're ever in Kamala, make sure you stop at the Kamala Beergarden.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top class bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having risen from the ashes of the old Beer Garden what has been created is a classy establishment! Really nice environment with various seating areas helpful staff and and unusually for Thailand superb clean toilets. No food as yet but I believe this is imminent. A bar that caters for all tastes and I would particularly recommend it for couples.Also i noticed that disabled access has been catered for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamala Beergarden also viewed

 
Kamala, Kathu
Kamala, Kathu
 

Been to Kamala Beergarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamala Beergarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.