We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food burnt” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Carbonara

La Carbonara
72/6 Moo 3 Rim had Road | Fox Tail Plaza, Kamala, Phuket 83120, Thailand
0860585793
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 64 restaurants in Kamala
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food burnt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband ordered a pizza & I a lasagna, not that hard for a highly rated restaurant on trip advisor,not so my lasagna was burnt & uneatable, my husbands Pizza the same,not good enough when we were the only ones in the restaurant

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina T, Proprietario at La Carbonara, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenient, and we invite you to come and try the food again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    46
    12
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great find in Kamala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We asked the concierge at the resort we were staying for a good restaurant in Kamala and they recommended La Carbonara. What a great suprise! Food was so good we kept coming back night after night during our stay.
First night we tried the Pasta with Duck Ragu and the Paccheri with black pepper and cheese (a simple but extremely tasty dish). Both were outstanding.
The next night we ordered a pizza as a starter and the fettuccine a la matriciana. Both were divine! The pizza was made to perfection with a thin crispy crust and the finest ingredients; the fettuccine was also very flavourful. We felt like we were in a tropical Italy!
The chef told us that the produce is all organic from a local farm or brought from Italy, and you can definitely taste the freshness and quality in every dish.
Service was very attentive and the chef and his wife, both Italian, were delightful.
We definitely recommend this restaurant and will come back on our next trip to Kamala / Phuket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sublime food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in Kamala for three nights and we went back to La Carbonara EVERY NIGHT!
Francesco is an amazing Chef with a genuine passion for his craft. The truffle risotto was sublime, the paccheri with cheese and black pepper was a simple but incredibly delicious dish, the pizza was truly one of the best I've ever eaten and the bruschetta was nothing short of amazing. Valentina heads the team of very attentive staff and they welcome every client with a smile. The ingredients are extremely fresh, flown from Italy to guarantee the high standard of their food. We were two couples who love to eat and we highly recommend this restaurant! Viva Italia!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Attentive waiting staff but food lacks taste and quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I'm not a big reviewer but sometimes when I read a place receiving rave reviews (especially about the food) and can't fathom why, I feel like I need to give another point of view. We ordered pizza and the lasagne. Pizza nothing special which is a shame as I think the chef is actually Italian. The tiny portion of lasagne lacked taste and any actual filling (and layering of pasta sheets). The (wait) staff are really friendly which is an attribute here but the food really lets it down. If your wanting something plain and basic than come here. Otherwise stick to Thai food, were flavour and taste is made possible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina T, Proprietario at La Carbonara, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear customer,
You wrote you are not a great reviewer but I think there is some malice in what you wrote.
This is absolutely the first time we have complains about the pizza! You can say you don't like it but even that it is a shame I am Italian...I think this is a little personal, don't you think?
For the lasagna we did a mistake serving you the kid portion, but we also apologized and asked if we could serve another portion or something else, which would be free of charge.
What you forgot to say, we didn't let you pay the lasagna because was our mistake.
Anyway the lasagna is homemade, classical Italian recipe with; mixed minced meat, mozzarella, parmigiano, bechamell and Italian tomato sauce.
Just and advise: when you are on holiday try to be relaxed!
Best regards,
The Chef and Patron
Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a place! Friendly, welcoming. Francesco and Valentina are lovely, welcoming people. The food was AMAZING. Pizza to die for, spaghetti that was so, so good. It was just an oasis of kindness in a tourist town where you feel everyone else is trying to get as much money out of you as possible. We loved it and went back twice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carbonara also viewed

 

Been to La Carbonara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carbonara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.