We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aquamarine Resort & Villa to your Saves list
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Kamala
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Some friendly staff but the really rude ones let the nice ones down, room old but clean.
DO not stay here over new years, we had to pay for the new years buffet and got told we could not stay here unless we signed up for the dinner, it sounded ok from australia, drinks included in the very pricey meal. . . But no, they were not and at $70 aussie for a bottle of wine and tripple the price for drinks than all the other nights, it was not good enough.
The show on that night looked like they had dragged in people off the street. This put a damper on our new years party and with not many able to afford the drinks it was a sad group. Service was very slow.

The walk in to Kamala beach does not take long 10-20 mins depending on your speed. Kamala is a lovely beach. Taxi's are a rip off 200 baht from the hotel to the beach, 2 min ride. from the airport to the hotel it is 500 baht and that is 45 mins! Walking is the way forward in our view and we did not use a taxi unless we had to.

We enjoyed our time in Kamala, but would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    161
    67
    29
    22
See reviews for
59
221
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here....and we think the place is one of the best value for money properties in Phuket, the views & pools are just spectacular. The restaurant & massage huts down on the beach opposite the hotel entrance is one of the most peaceful and beautiful places to eat and relax.
The resort staff are friendly & happy hour makes drinks affordable. Probably the only thing that needs attention is the bathroom, but for the cost of our holiday, I was not concerned. Patong Beach is easily accessable as the resort offer 3 trips daily, although you will be wanting to escape and quickly return to the tranquil setting of Aqua Marine. Kamala Beach is walking distance and free transfers are also offered. We shall definitely be returning for our next family holiday, the kids just loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception area as the resort is built on a cliff face and you will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for the second time for a couple of days. The rooms are fairly basic, but are clean and the beds are relatively comfortable compared to some Thai resorts. The pool is great (though drinks at the pool bar too expensive) and the gym is also good. The issue with the resort for some people will be that it is too far to walk into Kamala town and Kamala Beach - this is only a problem if you don't feel comfortable hiring a moped which is what my wife and I always do. If you're not comfortable with this then you may want to stay closer to town as the beach across the road is all reef - albeit it has a brilliant little beach bar down there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

 We have had fabulous and ... less than fabulous, accommodation experiences in Phuket. This time we were taking our two youngest and wanted them to see just why we love Thailand so much, so we were very keen for it to be perfect. It was. The Aqua Marine could not be faulted, we had a minor glitch with our room on arrival but it was the fault of our Australian travel agent and was simply and efficiently resolved by the hotel management. Rooms were excellent, uninterrupted sea views, quiet, clean, serviced daily. Breakfast is our one concession to western food and they were more than satisfying, dinner the one night we dined in was a reasonably priced and abundantly stocked seafood buffet. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. It may be a bit of a hike up the hill but it's a cheap taxi or tuk tuk ride from Kamala and even Patong is easily accessible with the welcome knowledge that you can return to the serenity and sanity of Kamala at the end of the day or night. We all had a great time, it was exactly what we wanted, would love to go back. What better recommendation can one give?

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely worth paying the little bit extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We can not be more positive about our experience there. The service was excellent particularly the staff at the pool bar (pools were great) and the breakfast was plentifull with everything an Australian could want. The room was fine and quite spacious, was a bit musty when we first arrived but it is fitted out with timber and most people would be like us and have it closed up with the aircon on all day creating condensation but after a day the musty smell was gone. There is a walk into Kamala itself, about 10-15 mins, with a small hill but we did not find it a problem and walked in every morning and most nights for dinner. The transfer to Patong was no issue, all you need to do is book!! Loved Kamala itself very laid back and not the hustle and bustle of Patong. We will definately be going back again as our experience was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up naturally have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

After reading mixed reviews about this resort I had nearly cancelled. However my family thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day stay there. The rooms were immaculate and clean. The staff were super friendly and went out of their way to help. The buffet breakfast was superb with an amazing selection and view. I didn't find the beds too hard at all as per many reviews. There were free shuttle buses to Patong and Kamala beach. Kamala beach is 5 mins away at the most and cost $6 AU in a taxi. We utilised the free shuttles to Patong on two nights which left at 5.30 p.m. and brought as back at 10.30 p.m. which was great. The restaurant food was great but it was a little expensive in comparison to Patong & Kamala. The walk uphill to our room was an excuse to burn off some breakfast so didn't mind at all but may be a concern for elderly or unfit.
I would definately recommend this resort and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is a perfect choise for ones who want to have a quiet stay in noisy Phuket. The area is secluded and the hotel itself is very relaxing and comfortable. There are a few nice restaurants around Kamala and cheap massage saloons as well. Hotel is in 40 minutes drive from the airport and 20 min from Patong Beach. Hotel provide free shuttle buses to Patong 3 times a day, but you can also rent a bike and drive there yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#9 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarine Resort & Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.