We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Save Saved
You added Aquamarine Resort & Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in Kamala
Kazan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Private Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is a perfect choise for ones who want to have a quiet stay in noisy Phuket. The area is secluded and the hotel itself is very relaxing and comfortable. There are a few nice restaurants around Kamala and cheap massage saloons as well. Hotel is in 40 minutes drive from the airport and 20 min from Patong Beach. Hotel provide free shuttle buses to Patong 3 times a day, but you can also rent a bike and drive there yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    160
    65
    29
    21
See reviews for
58
220
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are nice. Not like in the pictures... But o.k. A bit smelly,
The big problem is that they don't have a beach close. The beach is 12 min drive.
There are a lots of hotels just by the beach, so you can enjoy evening walk there,
And at any time jump to sweem and go back to your room, but here is a problam.
We rent a bike so we can be free to go to the beach and the town any time.
The resurant here is not so good as well. And you dont have alternative around unless you choose to drive or walk for 1/2 an hour.
The stuff is nice. The place is clean. We have been here for 6 days. Will not came back here...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 8 days at this hotel as part of a "getaway" deal which included a dinner and an hour massage each. The room are clean, spacious with cable TV . Not that you will spend much time there as Phuket as so much to offer. Don't use the shuttle, go to Kamala, rent a scooter and be free!
The pools are big, clean and the staff is really friendly.
The massage included was amazing. Really relaxing.
For dinner, I would recommend going to the city,or just at "pooma" at the bottom of the hotel on the beach.
Overall a great deal, wish we could have get another week at the same rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

There is a lot of good and some challenges with this place.
Staff, really nice people especially Nid in the restaurant and the singer and guitarist who played every night. They made our time
Location, at the top of a hill which makes for very good excise and sweat! It will cost you to get around unless you walk to kamala so you need to build that into the budget. They have free shuttles but timings aren't great
Room, typical style, abit worn but fine
Food, good but for some reason they main menu in the blue cafe is small. We asked to order from the room service menu which had heaps more Thai options and that was fine. Free brekkie was included and was ok. Some mornings was really busy as they had big bus loads of Korean tourists
Facilities, three pools which where all nice. Especially like the one by the cafe. We did the batik and vege carving classes. They where fine just a shame the teachers didn't speak great English so I don't think we got the most out of the classes. They have a mini mart which was handy as the nearest 7/11 was at the bottom of the hill. Prices what's you would expect for a hotel

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

its magnificent place that you can spend you romantic vacation
everyone in this resort is helpful,and kind
i want to say that the food in the resort is the best then outside so i recommend to eat in the resort better
cheep in everything, excellent in everything also
just its place is far from paton city,and there is no privet peach
again its important to know food,service,transport, is very very good
distance from airport mmm yes its fa
rooms have amazing magical see view
stay away from insects at night outside your room

Room Tip: see view rooms away from the loopy is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from our 8 day stay there - our observations are there is not enough free shuttle buses to Patong, only 1130 and 1730. It cost us 400-600 baht to get to Patong one way. After 8 days it cost $AUS250 in taxi fares!!. The taxis but not metered and you have to barter with them. There is a huge problem in Phuket with the taxis and their excessive charges. This is my second visit to Phuket and 8th to Thailand - I will not return to Phuket - very disappointed with the overall attitude and service on the island. The resort had excessive charges for laundry and internet access, the beds are extremely hard, and staff had poor command of English. The resort is isolated so you do need to use taxi's and there is not enough free shuttle buses. However, the views are lovely. Surin, Kata, Freedom and Karon Beaches are stunning - you are better off staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I loved this resort. We had already been in Rawai for a week before we got here and we are about to check out after 12 nights. My days have predominantly consisted of long days by the pool gliding into two for the price of one cocktails at 3pm. I have very much enjoyed banter with the staff, who in typical Thai style, find fun in everything. Some reviewers have criticised the staff for not speaking their language - my suggestion to you is, have a holiday in your own country where there will be no language barrier. We took the opportunity to learn a couple of words of Thai, much to the delight of the locals.

What we loved: amazing views, fantastic pool area including swim up bar and big umbrellas. Great breakfast and restaurant. Shuttles to Kamala Beach and Patong. Little restaurant on the beach across the road, Poomah (meaning crab), they speak little English but lovely people.

People we loved: Pookkie in the restaurant, speaks good English and a very nice lady. Ton, a very quiet but lovely chef who cooked our eggs every morning. Make him smile, it's worth it. Mr Lilly, seek him out, you'll love him, housekeeping. The bell boys, we loved them all especially Mr Bean (nick name given by his colleagues because he makes mistakes :) housekeeping girls, so lovely and full of fun. New in reception, very friendly and helpful. The gardeners were always polite although we could only greet them as we don't speak enough Thai.

Problems we had that became opportunities to meet great people: air con broke down twice and repaired instantly, thank you Mr Lilly. Bed was too hard, mattress topper applied instantly. Locked ourselves on the veranda, beware of pressing the lock button when opening the door, thanks again Mr Lilly. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is not the place for the infirm or disabbled.

We look forward to returning one day.

Linda and Terry (Mamma and Poppa) room 4209

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarine Resort & Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.