We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to watch the sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smile Restaurant

Smile Restaurant
96/18 Moo 3, Kamala-Patong Road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66076385515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 86 Restaurants in Kamala
4.0 of 5 stars 26 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kurrajong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been in Kamala for 10 days now and have been to Smile 1 and 2. (run by the same people) its a great place to enjoy a cocktail ( good value, large glasses and yummy)and watch the sunset. Every meal we have eaten here has been tasty and good value and the staff are super friendly and helpful. We personally watched as staff members have driven people back into Kamala to buy ciggies or to drop them off so they dont drive drunk, great personal touch. Two nights ago we sat down to eat they placed a big arrangement of flowers on our table for us so we had a little privacy and romance, took photo's for us and treated us like special customers. We still have 7 days here so will keep going back.... I hear mojito's calling

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not very nice people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was very disappointed with my experience with this restaurant/bar. I visited during the day had a not so good meal. I went again at night for some drinks and had less then pleasant experience. This place is right on the beach in Kamala, which has amazing sunsets, but it isn't the only place on the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smile 2 southern end of Kamala Beach Phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Situated at the southern end of Kamala Beach Phuket is Smile 2 beach restaurant. Smile 1 is a little further up the northern end of the beach (same owner). A delightful little thatch hut offering delicious Thai meals, seafood, european and a selection of pasta dishes together with drinks and cocktails. While in Kamala you won't be disappointed with Smile if looking for somewhere to dine. The meals are delicious, the service is wonderful and prices very very reasonable. Experience a beautiful Kamala sunset with a cocktail at Smile and you will be left with wonderful memories. Smile offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. We dined as a family of five (3 children 2 adults) with cocktail, beer, 3 soft drinks, a water and 7 dishes for 1180THB (approx A$38).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smile 2 - fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a review for the Smile 2 restaurant at the southern end of Kamala beach.

After trying several different bars and restaurants over the first few days of our holiday and not being inspired, we were very pleased when we came across Smile 2 and ate/drank there for the rest of our holiday.

We were drawn in initially for Cocktail Happy Hour and decided to try out some starters. The Thai fish cakes are to die for - the best I've ever eaten! Chicken Satay skewers were equally good. Since the starters were so good, we decided to stay for dinner which was also fantastic. Over the rest of the week we worked our way through the menu and were never disappointed. Prices are good too.

Additionally, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, even more so once they started to recognise us on our repeat visits!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for long dinners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good, varied menu, try the barbeque, it´s very good!
We started the night here with a drink to the sunset, then ordered some food and we could be seated for two-three hours and enjoying it very much. I would rank this one a number one on the beach. There are several more restaurants right on the beach which are all also good but not everone had the nice barbeque every night like Smile did.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile Restaurant also viewed

 
Kamala, Kathu
 

Been to Smile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.