We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smile 2 - fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smile Restaurant

Smile Restaurant
96/18 Moo 3, Kamala-Patong Road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66076385515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 95 Restaurants in Kamala
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smile 2 - fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a review for the Smile 2 restaurant at the southern end of Kamala beach.

After trying several different bars and restaurants over the first few days of our holiday and not being inspired, we were very pleased when we came across Smile 2 and ate/drank there for the rest of our holiday.

We were drawn in initially for Cocktail Happy Hour and decided to try out some starters. The Thai fish cakes are to die for - the best I've ever eaten! Chicken Satay skewers were equally good. Since the starters were so good, we decided to stay for dinner which was also fantastic. Over the rest of the week we worked our way through the menu and were never disappointed. Prices are good too.

Additionally, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, even more so once they started to recognise us on our repeat visits!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for long dinners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good, varied menu, try the barbeque, it´s very good!
We started the night here with a drink to the sunset, then ordered some food and we could be seated for two-three hours and enjoying it very much. I would rank this one a number one on the beach. There are several more restaurants right on the beach which are all also good but not everone had the nice barbeque every night like Smile did.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“nice location, bad food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

the king prawns in front looked delicious, but getting them served they were tasteless and dry. A pity, because restaurant ' smile' on the Kamala beach looked very promising. We also ordered two prawns each and got three instead. Of course we were charged for the weight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good beach front restaurant in Kamala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Smile is one of the furthest restaurants as you walk north along the beach front. We had a very pleasant meal here and the BBQ prawns were very good. You can choose the seafood you want which was laid out on ice and looked very fresh. Good selection of dishes overall including Thai and European. The service was welcoming and reasonably quick. The only downside was that most of the other diners were smoking but can't blame the restaurant for this and they did move us to a table upwind!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent beach food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had the same dish, cashew chicken, several times, and each time it was different - in taste, ingredients, and portion size. Different cooks? Generally OK beach food, competitive prices.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile Restaurant also viewed

 
Kamala, Kathu
 

Been to Smile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.