We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Kamala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Kamala to your Saves list
Baan Kamala
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   74/43 Moo 3 | 74/43 M.3, Kamala, Kathu Phuket 83150 Thailand, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Days 1 Night Package!!!
Ranked #2 of 31 Kamala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were satisfied for the visit, service were great, rooms are clean, less than five minutes walk to the beach, really convenient location.

They sent us e-mails right after we booked the rooms through different agents, and tried to organize the rooms for us. I told them we needed to stay closer if possible and asked for a baby crib service. We had eight adults (1 pregnant lady) and two babies (7 months and 13 months old), they were well arranged when we arrived.

Our group moved from a four stars Resort to this hostel, we were a little bit worried about if the place could meet our expectation. They arranged our group stayed at the first floor rooms (101,102,103,104) for one night, two nights and four nights, which was pretty convenient for us. :)

The service is EXCELLENT!!!! All of the staffs are always smile for guest and helpful. We hanged out at the lobby every night after we put the babies to bed. The night shift staff was kept turning on and moving the fans toward us, tried to keep the mosquitoes away from us till late.

The first floor rooms are a little bit dark, but easy. They have four rooms just renovated before this Thai New Year, which are 104, 204, 304 and 404. The beds are more soft, the rooms are more decorated, feels nicer. There is a Swing Chair in 104's little outside space, my friend love it.

Room Tip: Room 104, 204, 304 and 404 are new renovated. The beds in these rooms are more soft, the rooms are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. Hope to see you again and just so you know, we'll soon change the hotel name to be Baan Kamala Fantasea.
Then you can see the result of our full renovation in our hotel and the rooms.
Thank you

Best Regards,
Rachen and our crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Baan Kamala in February. A late flight meant checking in after midnight, but the staff were not only awake but welcoming. We were surprised at the spaciousness of the room, its cleanliness, and the fresh decorations. A welcome bonus was a laundry sink and drying rack on the small patio. With all the noise on the street (a bar next door was going full tilt when we arrived), we were pleased with how quiet our room was on the first floor. Proximity to the beach was a huge bonus -- we simply loved Kamala, the beach, the small-town feel, and the attentive staff. In comparison to other hostels on our trip, this one was the cleanest, most spacious, and provided the best value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Hi Ewright

We thank you for all your comment and now we do a renovation if you come back to Kamala again you can see many things change in our hotel and i will be glad if you come back.

Best Regard
Rachen and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Once arriving at the hostel, I knew that I was going to love it at Kamala and the hostel. I was offered a complimentary drink upon arrival and the receptionists were very welcoming. I was booked in for just a few nights but ended up staying 10 days. It was cheap and was close to the beach - just 5 minutes away. It is in the perfect location with a number of 7 elevens (local shop) in the area and various restaurants. It isn't far from Patong either, it was nice to hire a ped and go there for the evening. The hostel is very clean...in fact it is probably the cleanest hostel I have stayed in and they change the beds and clean the bathrooms on a regular basis. As a backpacker, I was even shocked they gave me a clean towel. There customer service was excellent and myself and a few of the girls working at the hostel went on a trip to Patong for the evening and the were very keen to show me around. They were very friendly and helpful, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Great place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi Roxanne

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very happy hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We'd love to have you with us again and we are just about to finish our full renovation of the hotel and the rooms. We will also change the name of the Hotel to "Baan Kamala Fantasea".

During high season we have 24 hour reception

Best Regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here when I was training at the Sitsongpeenong Muay Thai gym. It's about 1km away from there and even closer to the beach (5min walk). Beds are a little hard but very clean rooms with a laundry on the balcony. The service was fantastic and they were very accommodating! Plenty of restaurants and shops around however I couldn't go passed the restaurant next door "Popeyes" fantastic thai food and well priced! I will be back! Only down side was the karaoke bar next door can get a little loud, but you are in Phuket and it's far more relaxed than patong and Rawai.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. Hope to see you again and just so you know, we'll soon change the hotel name to be Baan Kamala Fantasea.
Then you can see the result of our full renovation in our hotel and the rooms.

Thank you very much

Best Regards,
Rachen and our crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Kamala is, in general, a bit over-priced, compared to other parts of Phuket. The same goes for Baan Kamala. Even though it's a short walk to the main road (45 sec), 2 min to the fantastic Chez Ratatoille restaurant, 3 min to a brilliant breakfast at Kokosnuss, and not too far to the beach (7 min walk), there were a few flaws here that makes 2,000 per night, a bit too much even for the high season. Mainly the horrible noise coming from some sort of Elvis Presley-spoof or -parody (certainly not an imitator)from the bar next door until 2 AM the one and only night I needed to sleep early, playing so loud it might as well be coming from under the bed. The bed, incidentally, might be too hard for some, but I slept like an angel 3 out of 4 nights.
Cumbersome access to my room, walking through a narrow garden and then panting three stairs, and a terrible restaurant next door, Popeye's, are my final arguments for not being able to rate this place 4 out of 5 stars. Right after settling in, I was offered a room on the first floor, a tad bit late. As I mentioned, the location of the hotel is excellent, the staff is super friendly, wifi works, fridge works, bathroom with hot water-shower is clean albeit small, and the terrace nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you for the review but we will improve that what was you said, kobkunkrub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here 5 nights (originally for 4 and extended for one more) and it's towards the top of our list after 4 months travelling SE Asia, staying at over 40 places in the budget/flashpacker range in that time. The staff are so warm and welcoming and helped us with everything we needed, the rooms (we stayed in a double room with air con on the 2nd or 3rd floor I think) were large, modern and comfortable, with TV, fridge and balcony with outside sink (very handy for doing some laundry), and very clean. Internet connection was a bit hit and miss in the room but the reception area was better and it was a nice space to relax. Popeye's next door really does serve amazing Thai food and the staff there are lovely. And the hotel is only a 5/10 minute walk to Kamala beach, which is a lovely, laid back beach with some more good restaurants and bars. Its also a short walk to the main street and Phuket fantasia - a place I cannot put in to words, you have to see it to believe it...the only negative we took away from Baan Kamala was the very sleepless nights we had due to incredibly loud guests in the room next door; we are not the confrontation type so didn't complain to them (and as two females would have been quite intimidated), and there is no 24 hour reception so we didn't seek help from the staff. I strongly recommend they beef up their soundproofing though or at the very least strongly remind guests not to disturb other guests after hours, as it nearly ruined our stay. Such a shame as otherwise this is a great place, and a real bargain for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi Hanna.
Thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry to hear that you experienced some discomfort during your stay with us.
We'd love to have you with us again and during high season we have 24 hour reception.
We are just about to finish our full renovation of the hotel and the rooms and will change the name of the Hotel to Baan Kamala Fantasea.

Best Regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It is a simple hotel with everything you need. Located about a 5 minute walk from the beach, it is quiet (unless there is a band playing at the place next door).
The staff is very warm, welcoming and helpful. The only thing that I didn't like was the bed... It is so hard!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi Nischu.

Thank you for your feedback and I'm happy that you enjoyed most of your stay with us.

We are just about to finish our full renovation of the hotel and the rooms and will change the name of the Hotel to Baan Kamala Fantasea.

Best Regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Kamala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kamala

Address: 74/43 Moo 3 | 74/43 M.3, Kamala, Kathu Phuket 83150 Thailand, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Kamala 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new property in the heart of Phuket's Kamala district is ideally located being only a 5 minutes' walk to the stunning Kamala Beach. Baan Kamala offer three types of accommodation for either long or short term rent and each of which are clean, light and secure. If you're looking for great value accommodation during your stay in Phuket, you need look no further than Baan Kamala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Baan Kamala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kamala Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Kamala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.