We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel with Friendly Staff and Great Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Kamala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Kamala to your Saves list
Baan Kamala
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   74/43 Moo 3 | 74/43 M.3, Kamala, Kathu Phuket 83150 Thailand, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Days 1 Night Package!!!
Ranked #2 of 31 Kamala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Takamatsu, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Hotel with Friendly Staff and Great Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Compared to anywhere else we stayed on the backpackers trail, this was a paradise. Rooms were spacious and clean, and even the dorm rooms were comfortable.

More than that though, the staff were very friendly and always willing to help. The owner gave us all a lift into town and the people behind the desk honestly put their heart into helping us plan the next leg of our journey.

Close to food and a short walk to the beach. Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: The dorms are great and come with spacious lockers. A full rucksack can fit, so don't feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hey Takamatsu!!

It was wonderful to have you as our guest.
Looking forward to see you again.
The renovation is now as good as complete and we'll soon change the name of the Hotel to
"Baan Kamala Fantasea"

Best regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I am Russian from Bangkok.
I came in Phuket for job and stayed at Baan Kamala.
It was really lovely place. I liked room and servic.
To the next door from hotel a good food place. There I ate my first Tom Yam. It was deliciouse.
If I go again in Phuket, I stay at that place, because only five minutes walk to beach.
Pavel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Thank you for stayed at Baan Kamala and hope you coming back again.


Regard
Rachen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very good prices. And this place is brand new with friendly staff. The rooms are nice and clean and the toilets are clean as well.

Convenient location within Kamala as all amenities are within 5 minutes walk. The best part is that the beach is only 5 minutes away as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi.

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'd love to have you with us again.

We are just about to finish our full renovation of the hotel and the rooms and will change the name of the Hotel to Baan Kamala Fantasea.

During high season we have 24 hour reception.


Best Regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

as others have said, this place is pretty much brand new! there are nice employes that speak (relative to the area) great english. everyone keeps mentioning popeye's next door.... as they should it's amazing! great prices. great food. great staff.
the showers are advertised as heated in the backpackers rooms, i don't think they actually are (only one knob) but then what would i know... i stayed there when it was 85-90 degrees F at night... infact it was nice that it wasn't heated!
i guess i'm used to hostels in europe that provide more basic amenities, but i was a bit dissapointed when there was no towel, or blanket provided, or even offered with a price tag (would have gladly bought/rented from them) so i ran down to the local "big C" and picked some up for my stay.
i ended up renting a scooter elsewhere because i realized that the lobby doesn't properly open until noon... and i woke up round 6.
now why did i rate sleep quality so low? well it probably has everything to do with my timing. it's steaming hot here at night so naturally i had the doors to the balcony (cool plus) open to let whatever semblance of cool air there might be outside, in. unfortunately that made every sound on the street parade into the room as it wished... including the worst karaoke i've heard in my whole life (and i live in seattle) until about 1 or 2am.. i ended up wearing a swimming suit to bed because i knew i'd be breath-stroking through my own sweat by the the time i fell asleep, it was a good move.
all in all, great place, great staff, great location, tough to get good sleep (unless you're here during the cold season (does that exist?))

Room Tip: at least 600 more for airconditioned privacy.... i would recommend it it gets reallllllly hot (at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi.

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very happy hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We'd love to have you with us again and we are just about to finish our full renovation of the hotel and the rooms and will change the name of the Hotel to "Baan Kamala Fantasea".

During high season we have 24 hour reception

Best Regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Baan kamala is the backpackers dream. I stayed in one of the backpackers rooms for a very cheap price and wasn't expecting much, but I was completely surprised when I arrived. The hotel is brand new and very beautiful. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is 5 rooms to choose from with 6 beds in each (all beds have dividing curtains) and a bathroom for each room (which includes hot water shower, western style toilet, sink and mirror).  The beds are a little hard but I still had a comfortable sleep. Also all beds have a fan for your own use. The hotel staff are wonderful! Very friendly and helpful and speak good English! They even clean up the rooms and bathrooms for you everyday! It is a very safe hotel, I stayed there alone and felt at home the whole time. The hotel is also in a great spot! 5 minute walk from the beach and surrounded by shops. Next door to Baan Kamala is Popeyes Restaurant. One of the best restaurants in Kamala for its very cheap prices, great selection of food as well as great food, and the restaurant staff are amazing! You might even get your photo put up on the wall. Overall I loved it here and I have already booked to go back again. Definitely worth the stay :) 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hey Kate!

It was wonderful to have you as our guest.
Looking forward to see you again.
The renovation is now as good as complete and we'll soon change the name of the Hotel to
"Baan Kamala Fantasea"

Best regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Every staffs are very kind and very friendly!
They always helped me.
Rooms are clean. Entrance and tea sapce are pretty.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi.

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very happy hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We'd love to have you with us again and we are just about to finish our full renovation of the hotel and the rooms. We will also change the name of the Hotel to "Baan Kamala Fantasea".

During high season we have 24 hour reception

Best Regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I chose to stay here because it is next door to the friendliest restaurant in town (Popeye's) and across from the best used bookstore (books in most languages) and discount alterations shop. It is a few steps to the main road and a short walk to the beach. It was convenient and looked charming.
I was delighted to meet the friendly and accommodating staff who went out of their way to be of help and make my stay pleasant.
The room is very nice and well equipped, including a private outdoor courtyard with a sink to wash out clothes or swim suit and a place to hang them to dry. The towels were the softest towels I had ever had in my 3 years in Thailand. The bed was a bit firm, but I think they are going to try to resolve that to make their guests 100% happy. That would do it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachenJhem, Manager at Baan Kamala, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi.

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very happy hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We'd love to have you with us again and we are just about to finish our full renovation of the hotel and the rooms. We will also change the name of the Hotel to "Baan Kamala Fantasea".

During high season we have 24 hour reception

Best Regards,
Rachen and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Kamala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Kamala

Address: 74/43 Moo 3 | 74/43 M.3, Kamala, Kathu Phuket 83150 Thailand, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Kamala 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new property in the heart of Phuket's Kamala district is ideally located being only a 5 minutes' walk to the stunning Kamala Beach. Baan Kamala offer three types of accommodation for either long or short term rent and each of which are clean, light and secure. If you're looking for great value accommodation during your stay in Phuket, you need look no further than Baan Kamala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Baan Kamala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kamala Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Kamala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.