We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Kamala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Ratatouille - CLOSED

Chez Ratatouille
Kamala main road,opposite Tesco Lotus Express,next to Pharmacy, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
076385190
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night Food, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Little gem in Kamala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Understated cafe and restaurant that serves freshly cooked and inexpensive Thai food. Well worth making the effort to visit as the quality of food is excellent and the owners are very hospitable. You should make sure that eat here at least once during your time in Phuket.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Kamala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I moved to Kamala from Bangkok last year and found this place on my first day in town. It's since become my favorite eating spot. The owners and staff are very welcoming and always take the time to chat up their guests. I've lived in Thailand 10 years now and therefore feel qualified to say the food is outstanding - both flavorful and well-presented. The French co-owner ensures that the service is impeccable as well.
It can be a little slow on the rare occasion if there are more than a few tables to be served ahead of you - since they have only one cook orders may get backed up a bit. Nonetheless I recommend it highly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice restaurant - would recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

went with my brother, its owner a french guy really looked after us. Good food with friendly staff and the cost was amazing, it made us realize we had been getting ripped off the whole holiday by other restaurants. would definately recommend! nice tasty food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not for southeast asians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

If you live in Southeast Asia, this place is not for you because we are used to Thai food that is spicy, salty, oily and very true to local Thai tastes. This place is more suited for Europeans who would find this restaurant's food easier to enjoy. Very healthy tasting and no flavors thats too exciting. For us Singaporeans who eat Thai food at Golden Mile before, this is no competition.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFGodest, Propriétaire at Chez Ratatouille, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear customer,

We don't make a special cooking for western people !!! but we taking care about us and asking us how they would like their dishes. It was so easy for you to order your foods spicy !! Just request....
Thanks for coming. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
1 review
“very cozy restraunt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

i really enjoy Chez Ratatouille since i with my boyfriend have visited this cafe first time! we read about it on tripadvisor and easy found this when we came on Phuket. food is very delicious and very cheap, staff is very friendly ;) moreover, we visited Chez Ratatouille many times during our holiday and we want to come back again, because this plase was a small but very loved and cordial part of our vacation. advise you to visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Ratatouille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Ratatouille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.