We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nightmare!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Circle Phuket Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Circle Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Circle Phuket Resort & Spa
99/99 Moo 3, Kamala Beach, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Thiwa Ratri Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Kamala
San Diego, CA
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Such a nightmare!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

I not only want to echo the sentiments of the other reviewers that this was indeed the worst hotel in which we've stayed, but also advise past (and future??) guests to closely examine the charges to your cards by this hotel. Since we escaped that hell hole in early January the hotel charged several hundred dollars in fallacious charges to our credit card (!). We're dealing with that now -- such a nightmare! We thought that the worst of it was over when we checked out of the hotel 4 days early . . . I can't say we're surprised though that the hotel did this, after all, their website is completely misleading and the treatment of their guests while we were there was absolutely shameless.

It's unfortunate that so many of the Thiwaratri guests shared the same experience because the rest of our time in Thailand was amazing and the Thai people are truly the most lovely and generous we've ever met.

BTW, after we left Thiwaratri we stayed at the Kamala Beach Hotel and loved it. If you want to enjoy your time in Phuket, stay away from Thiwaratri . . . .

  • Liked — Honestly -- nothing.
  • Disliked — Service (or lack thereof)
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    12
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

The website and brochure look excellent, in reality however it was everything but.
The service was absolutely appalling. The rooms were not cleaned until 6/7 pm or not at all, and then badly with towels not being replaced. The only English TV channel was Russia Today! There were no instructions for the safe or Telephone. There were only 5 coat hangers, no draw space and no where to unpack your case except the floor. There was no complimentary water, and certainly no turn down service as promised. The rooms themselves were not finished, with no tiles in the bathrooms, no towel rail near the sink and very sparsely furnished. ALL the staff did not speck English, and many were Philippine so the could not speck to the Thai staff. The gala dinner was an absolute joke.- we did win a spa treatment for 2, but in keeping with the hotel this was not open yet. There were only 10 sun lounges around the pool, with no staff on duty, too man the as yet unopened swim up bar.
The location of the hotel was poor, on the bend of a dual carriage way, 5 – 10 minutes walk to any little shops, 15minutes to Kamala its self, but only 10 minutes to the beach if you did not mind walking through fields and a building site.
My wife specks Thai so we managed to get discount for all of our 7 rooms, but as soon as we left, the others who were still there were made to pay full price in CASH or they were not allowed to leave. The owner whose husband is a police officer, threatened the taxi driver with arrest if he drove off with out her permission. She also threatened arrest at immigration if people left with out paying (which was a lie as the Thai authorities would not do this) however when you have a plane to catch you are left with little option. Do not ever stay in this hotel, if you have already booked, cancel. Phuket is full of excellent hotels, this though is certainly not one of them.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

This hotel might be reasonably nice one day. However they will first have to replace all the staff, and actually finish the hotel.

The hotel sells itself as a place where you can "Be pampered days and nights", and claims to offer "...the ultimate in Thai hospitality". This is about as far from the truth as you can get. The hotel is not finished, and hardly any of the facilities boasted of on their website actually exist. The staff are a mixture of Filipino and Thai, none of whom speak the others' language or English, so there is absolutely no hope of them understanding you or each other. It took us 45 minutes to check in, and the rooms we got were not only wrong but dirty. There were never enough cleaning staff, so many rooms didn't get cleaned at all. Security was terrible spare keys for all the rooms were regularly left lying unattended in the corridors. The "fully stocked minibar" had only water in it. The spa wasn't open until the day we left (although it looked like it would be nice!). There is only 1 iron to share between 105 rooms, so it took us 3 days to get to use it - not really acceptable in a "5*" hotel.

There is a very nice swim-up bar in the pool - unfortunately it is also not finished, and is never open. Other than that, the pool area was very nice - mainly because it is far away from all the staff!

The hotel advertises itself as having a fire protection system - strange, as there are no detectors or alarms.

We were forced to have a "Gala Dinner" as we were there for New Year - this was a compulsory $100 a head, and consisted of some awful cabaret performed by the hotel staff, plus half an hour of watching children play musical chairs. I have never seen such shambolic entertainment. The following morning there was no breakfast at all - the staff had walked out in protest at the lack of action taken by the owner about guest complaints.

So, if this place is still afloat in 5 years or so, it may be worth visiting. It has the potential to be fairly nice, but is held back by incompetent management, poor staff, and an owner who quite honestly hasn't got the first clue about the hospitality industry. This was easily the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, and we'd been backpacking the week before! Book at your own risk...

  • Liked — The pool was nice
  • Disliked — The service - ranging from disinterested through to surly and downright rude
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go here! Try a youth hostel, they are way better
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

Do not believe the website and the adverts.....none of it is true and this is NOT a 5 star hotel. It is still being built.

There were too many problems to list; everyone was complaining, many people checked out early and the manager (the only person who spoke any English) resigned whilst we were there.

One unlucky group refused to pay the scandalous amounts the hotel owner was trying to charge and we are told they were promptly arrested at the airport!

This hotel does not deserve to succeed because of the owners attitude to guests....which is a shame as it could be a good hotel.

I travel a lot and never write reviews....this is my first because it was all so poor. Fawlty Towers had noting on this place.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

The internet site for this hotel is completely misleading as is the 5 star rating. In no way is it a top hotel. Situated some 400 yards from Kamala Beach, across the main road and along an unmade track, it is not in a good situation. We had a deluxe villa which internally was fine, but the outlook from the room was the walls of the villas next door. I gather from other guests that the standard (superior) rooms were very poor and situated in an unattractive block overlooking a carpark and the rest of the hotel. The staff were poorly organised and very inexperienced with little sign of management. The compulsory Xmas Eve Gala dinner was ok but certainly not worth the £40 charged. All in all a most disappointing stay and not worth the money charged. We would not return.

  • Liked — Internally very pleasant
  • Disliked — Lack of view
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Please do not go to this hotel expecting a deluxe resort or even a decent hotel. We paid 6000 Baht per room per night - we booked it as a luxury holiday over Christmas and New Year. All claims on the website are fiction - none of the facilities are open, the swim up bar is empty, the sewers smell, there are trip hazards around the pathways, the lily ponds are actually troughs containing frogs and mosquitoes, the state of the art gym has 3 pieces of equipment, the hotel is next to a busy road which must be crossed before walking about 10 mins to the beach - not nestling in the blue water 200m away! The hotel is clearly unfinished and there were days when there was not enough breakfast. One Aussie traveller called it Fawlty Towers but this is generous. Everyone we met was unhappy and just as we had negotiated a refund with the manager to compensate for everything, we were told that the owner no longer wished to give us a refund and as she had called the police to another leaving group who were only willing to pay a reduced price, we decided to give up the money instead of opting for a night in a Thai jail! The staff try their best and the pool is attractive (although shallow enough to bang your knees in places!)

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

Booked for New Year and was expecting a 5 Star fabulouso hotel. The website looked amazing.

Arrived at 10:30pm to find no airport pickup (arranged only a few days before). On arrival at the hotel was bitterly disappointed that we didnt find this gorgeous haven we'd seen on the web... more like a big dusty carpark. One member of staff on duty... Room we were given was neither the one I'd booked nor was it finished (hardly any furniture, half the lighting wasnt connected) and miles from the reception. On that first night my boyfriend ripped his foot open on a rough concrete step .. To be fair the hotel did supply bandages in the morning but they had to go out and buy them so clearly there was no first aid onsite. Second day we organised a rental car to take us to an elephant safari the following morning. The car was an hour late and actually belonged to some random hotel worker - as a result it was filthy inside and out and one of the windows didnt work... So we missed the trip and declined the car... The manager did move us to another room which looked marginally more like the web pictures. Breakfast served was decidedly average and mostly cold. The last night we had 4 cockroaches in the bathroom. This isn't what would be expected of a 5 Star Resort.

I would never ever return to this hotel.. there is NO way it should be classed as 5 star - it is misrepresented as luxurious and is a depressing horrible place. If you want luxury go to the Twin Palms in Surin.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Circle Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 99/99 Moo 3, Kamala Beach, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Thiwa Ratri Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Circle Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circle Phuket Resort & Spa Kamala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.