We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and best cocktail of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyla's Beach House - CLOSED

Skyla's Beach House
North End of Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 (0) 0878917850
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $50
Cuisines: International, Barbecue, Asian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Skyla's Beach House is a beach house you can call your own!We are a Beach House that indicates something personnel, a house on the beach which is open for people to come an go as they please. Just like you would if you were stopping in at a friends house to say hello.You can snorkel out around the headland, swing a hammock in the shade, brown up laying on the soft sand or kickback on the lounge getting lost in your favourite book. The swimming is safe so the kids can run off and play till their hearts content while you make the hard decision of wether you will have a cold beer or a delicious cocktail.Throughout the day the Beach House plays a mix of funky, chilled international music and even the odd live act of a up & coming musician. The English speaking staff are very helpful in offering you advice on what other areas of Phuket to visit and things to see & do. They may even be able to teach you a little of the Thai language. Our venue being of a natural Thai style structure is nestled in the peaceful corner of North Kamala Beach, Phuket Thailand.
Drummoyne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best food and best cocktail of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Located on a quite beach this is a great spot. Definitely recommend making the effort to visit. We had the best food (chicken with fried rice and pad thai) of our whole trip.The food was super cheap and super tasty. The cocktails are delicious and cheap and the beer is icy cold. Was great to have something to eat, go for a swim right in front of the hut then come back upstairs for a drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Walk down the beautiful beach and stop for a while at this really cool and friendly place. Great staff, great music and cold drinks - and a view and atmosphere that is likely to make you stay much longer than you intended to!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Made our way down to the end of the beach to find this tree house restaurant. You have to navigate a shakie rock walk way to the stairs. It leads to a rustic retreat. (not for the handicap )
The menu is limited, mostly noodles and rice dishes. Average, nothing special.
The beer is very cold and the service is friendly.
One of the best places for a cold drink in Kamala.
I recommend taking the hike for a beer and view.
Laurie Andrade
Pen Central
Food &Travel Editor

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spot for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you're staying in Kamala and fancy a walk down to the most northern tip of the beach, you'll be rewarded with this mellow bar. Good reggae tunes and a very cool space set in the trees.
I didn't eat here so I can't comment on the food. I also wouldn't make a special trip to Kamala to visit this gem of a tree hut but, if you're staying in Kamala it is well worth a visit.
We headed down there mid-afternoon and enjoyed a beer in the shade, overlooking the ocean.
The cocktail list looked awesome, I wish we'd been able to stay longer.
On an island that's really commercial, this place took me back to some of the more rustic places I've visited on less developed islands in Thailand. I reckon this is exactly how tropical islands should be!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Came here after reading a bunch of reviews on TripAdvisor, and I have to say, this place does not disappoint.

When you first walk in, you think, "what's so special about this place?" But you can't help but fall in love with the treehouse, the view, and the people. Everyone was incredibly friendly, drinks were delicious, and it really felt like a place where you just hang out and make friends. You could easily spend the entire day looking out into the sea, filling your tummy with beer and their barbeque food.

Even if you're not staying around Kamala, take a trip to the beach. This place is worth the effort.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyla's Beach House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyla's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.