We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent outdoor dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diavolo

Diavolo
49 Moo 6 Layi Nakalay Rd, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
6676302000
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 95 Restaurants in Kamala
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Magnificent outdoor dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Diavolo restaurant is situated in Paresa Resort, on a mountain road ten minutes from Kamala beach. The views from the terrace is stunning, the staff knowledgable and very friendly. The kitchen offers traditional Thai and Italian cuisine. We had dinner three times at this place and tried different dishes. All of them were very tasty with harmonic flavours. An absolute must do when in Phuket.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Come for the service, love the food, stay for the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and l loved this restaurant so much we went back and would have again but he had to go back home.

FOOD:- the Italian chef is second to none, the food ranges from traditional Thai to Western and their range of plasters cannot be described. The produce is local, freshly made or caught. As far as drinks are concerned the restaurant has a wide selection that should cater for your needs.

SERVICE:- with all Thailand restaurants the language barrier can be hard but spoken slowly the order process is easy and any slight error corrected immediately. The service is at arms length, timely and a pleasant experience indeed. It's easy to tip the staff because they are good at what they do.....

LOCATION:- the restaurant is located in the hills of Kamala and overlooks the ocean and at sunset its one of the best views I've seen. My wife loved it.........while the area offers a good view regardless of where you sit, the trick is to book and ask for the corner table.......if you really want to impress they can organise fireworks which I will do next time

COST:- we spent on average $8,000 Baht for a 4 course meal for 2 including a bottle of wine and cocktails etc. One night l had eel, lobster, tiger prawns and soft shell crab, now that's value.......oh yeh my wife ate as well.

The only drawback is that at dark the lighting is poor and one doesn't get to see the full ideal presentation of the food and whilst l liked the seating / chair my wife found them to big and hard to move.

Overall if you are in Phuket / Patong or close to Kamala this is a must, you won't regret it.

Daniel Carroll

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were stuck on ideas as to where to eat in Kamala and after reading such good reviews here we gave it a go tonight. Well, glad we did!
From the stunning views to the fresh and contemporary vibe it was the ideal start to an amazing evening.
The food was beautifully presented and tasty with my beef meal cooked perfectly to my taste and ingenious cocktail selections on offer. Was it more expensive than most other restaurants? Yes. Was it unique and uber memorable? Yes. Do we recommend it as a special treat? Yes.
Do we want to return to this amazing restaurant? Well...of course. It is not the place to be penny savvy but we knew this and went looking forward to great food, and we got what we paid for. Great service and were even shown one of their rooms if we ever chose to stay with them... nice touch, and to top it off they offered to drop us off at our hotel for a small fee (same as a taxy fare).
Do yoursef a favour and try it, it is truly lovely if you get there at sunset and have a meal to remember.
Any questions please feel free to contact me. Cheers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Incredible view, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chose this restaurant for a romantic dinner on our last night in Thailand, and it was a great choice. The view is just amazing and the atmosphere, decor and music choice is all geared towards an incredibly calm and relaxing experience. Such a contrast to the noise and bustle of Patong.

Make sure you get there before sunset and get a table on the terrace. If you can, call early (or a couple days before) and request the corner table for the best view. The terrace faces west so take a seat, grab a drink and chill out watching the sunset. Brilliant.

The service was very good, attentive and helpful. The one downside was probably the food. We ordered the Chef's Recommended Thai Banquet (for 2). It was good, but not great. Nothing particularly wrong with it, but we had eaten better Thai meals during our week in Thailand. It didn't quite line up with the cost of the meal, but really what you're paying for is the view and atmosphere.

I'd still highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a romantic meal or special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Idyllic romantic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

From entrance staircase through reception and first door, you can't imagine view you'll get !!, then open the door and new dimension of the world would splash below your feet, a nice small square of green grass with a bench at the corner and left to right only the ocean, perfect quietude for lunch/diner far from bustle of the city. two more down and you'll will be in Diavolo spectacular view under the shadow of the magnificent certainly very old tree. The huge view from any table outside is really great, large table, comfortable seat, space between each table, a romantic affair can start. Food is more than good, portions are well scaled, taste is generous, ambiance is cosy, wine and beers are at reasonable prices. Service is courteous and efficient. Have diner there, is like if you're millions years of your problem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diavolo also viewed

 

Been to Diavolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diavolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.