We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and better view!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockfish

Rockfish
33/6 Kamala Beach Road Phuket 83120, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 86 Restaurants in Kamala
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and better view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had breakfast at Rockfish most days of our 12 night stay in Kamala. The food and coffee was fantastic and the setting is amazing - set on the rocks by the canal inlet. Our kids loved the banana bread. We came and had a few cocktails one night as well. Loved it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    24
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hidden romantic restaurant overlooking the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We love the Rockfish and go back every time we are in Phuket. It's a nice, romantic restaurant overlooking the Kamala beach. The food is good, even though it is quite highly priced. But the menu is interesting, kind of asian-fusion with a twist, and the drinks are great too. Lots of fresh ingredients and inspiring mixes. The restaurant is quite small and usually fully booked every night (at least on weekends), so book a table in advance. The best tables are at the terrace edge right over the beach. Staff is friendly, although they can be a bit stressed on busy nights... You can park outside the restaurant on the street, they have a guard. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for friends, couples and groups!

  • Visited July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good spot, great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

A bunch of our family and friends stayed at Kamala Beach Estate for our wedding at Cape Sienna and so we all ate at Rockfish many times. Breakfast was excellent and great value. The food at lunch and dinner was also delicious, and the cocktails yum and unique! It is a bit more expensive than other cheaper joints in the main part of Kamala, but it's also a step or 2 above them. We also had a Thai banquet lunch there the day after the wedding for over 50 people and it all went very smoothly. There was more than enough food, all good, and Richard was most helpful. Definitely worth giving a go if you're in Kamala!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“There is no limit to worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I have been at Rockfish with a couple of friends last february. I live in Thailand since 2003, as my friend and his girlfriend is Thai. We all agreed that the food is not Thai, instead it's some sort of wannabe fusion with tons of sugar everywhere, although well presented. The service is slow even that night with just three tables busy. Desserts were left on the table almost untouched as they were just uneatable, ice cream was old and full of ice piece (I'm a chef and I know what happens to the ice cream after been defrosted and refrozen...), the chocolate mouse made of sand, the brownie has been badly burnt in the oven and so on...
To complete the picture, just add three local bier (small), two watermelon juice and a 7400 THB bill!!!
We didn't complaint, we just paid and left the place. They will never ever see our faces again!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best Burger Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I had the best burger at Rockfish.
When in Phuket - do yourself a favour and go to Rockfish, Kamala and try an Australian Beef Burger with cheddar cheese.
Kirk.
Vic, Australia

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockfish also viewed

 
Kamala, Kathu
 

Been to Rockfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.