We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Orchid

White Orchid
Kamala, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
818929757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Kamala
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location as it is away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. The food was excellent and we could sit on the beach eat our lunch and have a few cold ones, dosn't get much better than that. Great food, service and lovely staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    32
    11
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My boyfriend and me enjoyed a dinner and a lunch cooking class at White Orchid Restaurant. Although the restaurant setting is simple after the tsunami and you might thought that's going to close, the people is nice and the food is delicious.
You can taste the real local food at the restaurant. Try the Tong Yum Kong, Mango Rice, Pepper Tiger Prawn and curry chicken.
We enjoyed the cooking class in the simple kitchen on the next morning after we had dinner. The cook Angela helped to arrange the class immediately since I would fly back home that day.
She and her daughter are very friendly and she tried to teach us all the Thai cooking skills in a simple way. Moreover, she offered us a bargaining price which we couldn't find it anywhere else.
Come and experience the real Thai taste here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I guess it's funny experiences like this that make a holiday.
We found the restaurant without any trouble right next to the Hyatt. It is now very non descript in a concrete shop front. It is rainy low season so we couldn't sit on the beach side.
To order we had to speak to someone on a mobile phone provided by the lady at the restaurant who couldn't speak a word of English so that was interesting.
Had the spring rolls which despite previous reviews I found very bland and not nearly as good as others we have had.
Next up the satay this was fabulous very spicy sauce just the way it should be - beware if you don't like it hot
Then the pepper crab generous serving for 300 baht nice but not outstanding
Think we had much better meals in Khao Lak for a fraction of the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Toes in the Sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is toes in the sand, genuine beach front, relax and watch the tide change Thai restaurant dining. We were the only table dining the night we went - can't understand why no-one else was there. Didn't mean to chase other diners away. We arrived just on sunset and enjoyed watching the sunset over the ocean. Candle lanterns were lit and music was playing in the background. Staff were lovely and welcoming and the waitress, the owner's daughter, had excellent English. They have quite a few specialties here and this is genuine Thai fresh food well prepared and served. We felt we could have been on a beautiful, tropical island..... in fact we were. We had spring rolls and chicken for entree and squid and prawns for main course. I had fresh coconut juice, hubby had a cold beer. All were delicious. If you are staying at the Hyatt, this restaurant is adjacent and a must try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be deceived by the exterior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Magnificent thai food that is a must for anyone in the Kamala beach area. You can sit out on the beach and eat authentic and delicious Thai food for next to nothing. Especially good if you're at the Hyatt (which also comes HIGHLY recommended) as it's literally next door.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Orchid also viewed

 

Been to White Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.