We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to thrilled” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Orchid

White Orchid
Kamala, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
818929757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not to thrilled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

While the spring rolls were nice, everything else wasn't. The pad thai was the worse we had in our time in Thailand (16 days). And everything was overly spicy when requested to be mild. Mid range to expensive prices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    39
    16
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bucket list- best food in kamala ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Put the white orchid on your bucket list! Thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful authentic food. The staff are so welcoming and you are treated like family. She was affected by the tsunami and needs continual support!
A MUST DO!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed just up the road and came to eat here almost every night! The spring rolls are to die for and really are the best in the world! We even got a big hug from the staff the second time we ate there as she was so happy that we returned. The cocktails are great too. The pad Thai is the best I've eaten in Thailand too. A must see place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Tamborine, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were told about Angela and the White Orchid from my sister who had been there. We found it was down the road from where we were staying so went for lunch one day, the tables on the beach made for a wonderful spot to enjoy the views. We ordered the Ginger fillet fish and it was so good that we had to come back the next night for dinner to have it again!! We also did Angela's cooking class and have made several dishes since returning home. Angela is very welcoming and friendly and we would recommend both the cooking classes and the food!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“excellent thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were staying in Kamala and looking for a good authentic restaurant. We tried a few places before, but they were just ok. when we were almost giving up on finding a good restaurant in Kamala we found White Orchid. Their food is amazingly delicious! Everything is very fresh and tasty! Their spring roll is a must try and their noodles are absolutely great. they use freshly made noodles so it's very flavorful.
The food is not the only great thing about this restaurant. The owner Angela is a lovely lady who welcomes you to the restaurant so kindly. We really enjoyed talking to her while eating the great food she made.
We loved her food so much that we went backt the next day to take a cooking lesson from her.
We'd love to go back to Kamala just to go back to the restaurant!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Orchid also viewed

 

Been to White Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.