We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Beach, but Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6/113 Moo.6 | Nakalay Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Kamala
3.5 of 5 stars 61 Reviews
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No Beach, but Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

There seems to be some PR clean up work going on to emphasize that this is not, in fact, a beach resort. Even though the sign says it is, the staff all emphasized that the nearest beach is off limits (as it is property of the neighboring resort) and that the shuttles could take us to beaches nearby.

In all, the shuttles were actually quite convenient. We rented a motorbike while in town for the duration of our stay and never had to think again about the shuttles (until it was time to return the motorbike).

The studio room we stayed in was modern, clean, and well kept. The bed was comfortable and soft, with cushy pillows. What's better is that the central AC unit functioned perfectly!

The swimming pool is not very big at all and has a lot of traffic around the middle of the day. We enjoyed swimming in the late afternoon when the rowdy kids had been carted off by their parents, leaving the pool deserted.

If you don't speak Russian or Thai, you're basically limited to 3-4 channels on the TV. We are news junkies anyway, so flipping between the three news stations was enough for us, while every now and again we'd switch on the music TV station. Pretty good selection of music, we think.

The room was equipped with a stereo sound system, but we had to bring our own RJ25 cord to connect our iPhone via the headset jack. There was an iPhone connector available, but it was for an older model and not compatible with ours. Fortunately, we travel prepared for such circumstances (having been world travelers now for quite some time).

The fitness center is a great amenity. It's usually pretty empty. It's also equipped with a surround sound system that the staff are happy to help you connect to so you can rock out to some of your own music while you work out. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

If you are somewhat self sufficient in figuring out your transportation, this is a great place to stay. It's relatively quite, except for the VERY LOUD motorbikes and tuk tuks that go by on the major street nearby. The good news is that the doors to our (spacious) balcony blocked out the sound quite effectively.

Very pleased!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the western side of the building. The major roadway runs along the eastern side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Many thanks for a very thorough and interesting review. Your comments regarding the technical issues have very much been noted and we do need to keep abreast of all our customers requirements in this area especially as it is constantly changing. You are indeed correct we are trying to re-brand our resort as a Boutique rather than a Beach resort for obvious reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
13
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and lovely rooms. Downside though is a very busy road(noisy) and why it is called a beach resort, not a beach resort! Very clean though. The hotel bus can really do its last pick up from Patong a lot later than 21h00. Patong only wakes up at 22h00.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we do take the point about the name as that is misleading. As for the shuttle bus we have looked at extending the picks ups and tweaking the timetable but as yet you are correct in identifying the last free bus option. We hope you had a relaxing stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Absolute market the Nakalay as a 4 star Beach Resort Hotel. This misrepresents the reality which is essentially serviced apartments isolated from the beach and with minimal facilities. A limited menu is offered by the pool kiosk (the only on site restaurant option) and is open only between 9.00 am and 4.30 pm. Whilst the studio room we had was spacious and clean, it was not 4 Star. The 2 pillows provided were soiled and flat, the bath towels were thin and frayed (some with holes! ),one bedside lamp for a king bed, no full - length mirror. The location is also inconvenient as one has to depend entirely on either the shuttle bus provided or taxis. One cannot walk anywhere from the premises.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed for 7 days and on arrival were greeted in the air conditioned reception area with a welcome drink and some friendly, beautiful smiles! We had the studio on the 2 floor and it was garden facing. The room was spacious and nothing like you would expect a "studio" would be. We made full use of the shuttle service daily and would usually pick up the shuttle at the Police box in the evening (after they did their rounds). We found a lovely supermarket at Banana Walk and did our own breakfast in the mornings and enjoy the local foods during the day. We would then take the shuttle bus either to one of the beaches or Patong. The service was excellent, the staff friendly and most helpful and I would gladly recommend the Absolute Nakalay to anyone that does not want to stay close to the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach and surrounds.

Room Tip: Pick up the shuttle bus at the Police Box at night and not Jungceylon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments. It sounds like you made the best use of the location and how and when to get where you wanted. Hopefully you can come back and see us again on your next trip to Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The room (2 bedroom unit) was excellent and cleaned every day to a high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful
The draw back is the hotels location, you had to rely upon the shuttle bus service.
Also the restaurant needs to improve its menus and opening times

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for your comments I'm glad the service was up to the standards you expect. Unfortunately the location is in a quieter area of Phuket but the shuttle bus can be used to get into town should you so desire. Currently the restaurant has restricted opening hours. We do of course have resorts in the heart of Phuket in which the location is very much in the thick of it should you chose to stay with us again, which we hope you do sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed in a lovely ground floor corner apartment with quick, easy access to the swimming pool. Can see the sea and hear the waves. The apartment was quite luxurious with lovely curved bedroom windows. Ideal for a nice quiet romantic get away but at the same time free a free shuttle service to Patong and Kamala beaches is provided by the hotel. The restaurant provides nice food although not open long enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, Public Relations Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the peaceful location and the luxurious stylish rooms available at our resort. Hopefully we can welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

No beach access. No restaurant. Rock hard bed. total isolation. Surely management have an obligation to make guests aware of these things before they arrive. We arrived mid evening with no provisions to be told restaurant closed at 5pm. Rose at 7am for breakfast to be told restaurant did not open until9am. great timing as that was when the shuttle we were planning to catch left.We decided after that to escape every day on the first shuttle and return on the last.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, Front Office Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The location of the resort is advertised as being between two beaches. Via the free shuttle bus (times as displayed) it's a 10min ride to Kamala Beach, or
a 15 min ride to Surin Beach.

Mattress toppers (to make it softer) are available upon request. The mattresses are designated medium, but for some guests this can be too hard or too soft so toppers are provided.

The Nakalay Restaurant opening hours are 9am to 5pm which were decided upon by the current management. We do however try and satisfy our customers by offering the bus service to our other restaurants at Sea Pearl, Climax and Blue Mango for evening meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort

Address: 6/113 Moo.6 | Nakalay Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Nakalay Beach Hotel Kathu
Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort Kamala, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.