We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort but not a beach resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6/113 Moo.6 | Nakalay Beach, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Kamala
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good resort but not a beach resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the resort for a week. overall its a good place but no access to the beach and you cant walk anywhere as it is far. But the hotel provides a shuttle service. The staff is fantastic very helpful and friendly. food cost it resonable as well. Appartment was new and fantastic. only thing I would have liked is for the kids to have place to play..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear marie d

thank you for your review and feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The matter of beach access is actively being worked on and we hope to be able to provide this in the not too distant future.

I understand your comment re somewhere for children to play and will look as see if there is a suitable area for this that we could use.

Once again..thank you for reviewing us.

Geraint Lewis

Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

be aware there is no beach access in this hotel-not resort, you must leave by road. you cannot have a conversation at the pool because of the noise from the traffic nearby. also no view of beach from the pool. location is very poor should you wish to go anywhere have no choice but to use taxi. cost of food and beverage is very high for phuket same prices as 5 star hotel without the 5 star service. the service is poor, restaurant staff more interested in internet than customer but reception staff ok. if you have a voucher for $100 restaurant value it cannot be used here must go to an absolute hotel in Patong, but you are not told this here when you buy the deal. rooms are clean and new and that is the only nice thing about this hotel. compared to the other 3 real beach resorts we stayed in karon, kamala and surin beach this was not even close to the level of service that phuket is known to deliver. would not consider this hotel again and recommend that you stay away unless you wish to be overcharged, and stay away from the beach. be carefull of agency promise, over sell and under deliver

Room Tip: the best rooms are in other resorts near the beaches in kamala, surin, and also south of patong in k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear lou p

thanks for your review of the deal that you purchased and your disappointment with it.

I am looking into the complaints that you have raised and will remedy them.

thank you for your feedback.


Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cikarang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great staff-very helpful in our situation. Originally booked family suite as we had our teenage daughter with us - were given one room 2nd floor and one on ground floor. Staff were able to shuffle so we had two rooms on ground floor by poolside. Bar & food prices expensive. No information on costs for local tuktuk/taxi fares, how to work appliances & beds were extremely hard. Great shuttle service always on time - pity the vans weren't kept in a clean state-hard to see out of the windows on trips. No beach access & pool was closed overnight for treatment? Poorly maintained pool area with rubbish left lying around and bar staff chatting to themselves. Thought the standard for a 4star hotel to be higher. There is a Bob Marley bar/cafe within walking distance south (up the hill) which is a great place to chill and they also have a wonderful leather shop - well worth visiting. Kamala Beach is also a 'must' - much nicer & quieter than Patong Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking poolside are best. Rooms towards the main road are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AudsnTim

Thank you for your candid review.

I fully accept responsibility for the shortcomings at Absolute Nakalay at the time that you stayed there.

Staff have been replaced and the company responsible for the pool area maintenance has been put on warning of loss of contract.

We are constantly working on improving the standards and feed back from guests such as your self are most appreciated.

Thank you for your comments.


Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Heading to Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort in this coming week. Whole family excited, a relax place to go and meet up with friends staying in same resort; away from the busy town.
Could not believe the customer service from the company. Send them an email, enquire about the room available etc. Great 2nd day we got a reply "sincerely sorry to inform you that the resort is fully booked during the period. We look forward to welcoming you in the future". Disappointed!
HOWEVER, guess what, when we try out luck, we able to book in directly on-line and got our room not from any other promotion website, but the website of Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort itself! Could not believe why we can booked on-line but the staff reply no room available? Apprehensive about booking the resort, as first before we reach the customer service has already dissapointed us, so what when we there?
Could not change as friends booked into that resort too, and they able to because they are the member of that resort.
So is this resort mainly for members? if so probably will be best just HIGHLIGHT on the web instead disappointment received.
Company management need to sort this out, so they can provide better service too in future towards guest staying there and looking forward going back there again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having not stayed at this Resort before I did not know what to expect. We booked the Penthouse Apartment, WOW is all I can say, luxury rooms, luxury views and with our very own private pool, sun deck and spa on the roof of our Penthouse Apartment. The views were what dreams are made of, looking east across the water to Patong Beach and its starry lights at night and West towards the ocean and mountains watching the Sunset each day. The staff were fantastic, went out of their way to ensure we knew we were here for a holiday. Although not in the heart of Patong's action, the hotel mini bus transfer service only took 10 mins to get us there and it was so quiet at night, the sound of the ocean was so relaxing. You have to try this resort, at least once in your life.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room, they have many types to choose from, studios, 1 beds, etc, but ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
dear Laurie19631963, thank you for taking the time to review Absolute Nakalay and for your glowing comments.

I was our pleasure to have you and your family staying with us and we hope that you will all come back and stay with us again soon.


Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We exchanged our Absolute Koh Samui weeks to stay here and were given what must be premier apartment. Fantastic sea views, roof top deck with extra 3 rd bedroom, jacuzzi plus private small pool. Excellent facilities in apartment, full kitchen, dining area lounge , wrap around balcony. Perfect place to relax. Good gym downstairs and very efficient shuttle service to Patong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Joy K

I am most pleased that your stay at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort was enjoyable are we were all pleased to have you as our guest.

We all hope that you will choose to visit us again on your travels.


Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Absolute Nakalay Beach resort is not exactly near the beach, so do not be misled. I would categorize it as a hotel with sea views instead. 

Location (3/10): The hotel is located further up north of Phuket town. It is not near to Patong beach nor any of the local attractions in town and is a good 10-15 mins drive to the main stretch of shopping and dining areas. The traffic is quite horrendous as there are many vehicles along the Patong Beach so patience is required when commuting. If you stay here, plan to leave up to 30 mins earlier. 

Surroundings (3/10): Located at the quiet stretch of Phuket, it offers a peaceful stay for those who wish to get away from the party crowds or loud music. The disadvantage is there really isn't anything available within walking distance. No restaurants or mini bars or 7-11 so you would have to drive out or call a transport to take you out. 

Rooms (8/10): Nice, clean and spacious with modern decors and good supply of amenities. It also has a kitchen and dining area so it reminds me of a serviced apartment. Room rates were exclusive of breakfast.

Hotel facilities (6/10): There is a small pool where you can soak in or do a few quick laps. Rain showers are available by the pool as well. 
Don't recall seeing any dining options here.
The hotel has a covered carpark that can accommodate maybe 5 cars? Given the number of rooms, if most guests rented cars, I reckon parking would be an issue. 

Service (6/10): Hotel staff was courteous and generally helpful in explaining to us all we needed to know. 

Overall, it was a nice peaceful stay. Hotel was kept really neat and clean and had nothing to pick on. The only pain was the location which resulted in additional traveling time. If you did not buy the timeshare packages then I would strongly suggest you consider other resorts which would provide similar value in a more centralized location.

Room Tip: Choose higher levels to get sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mirakel

thank you for your review, we take all reviews seriously and all feedback is appreciated.

I am especially pleased on your comments about my staff and the cleanliness standards that we try to set and maintain.

I agree that there is very little to do in the immediate area but many of our guests prefer that to the hustle and bustle of more main town locations.

Thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

Geraint Lewis

Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort

Address: 6/113 Moo.6 | Nakalay Beach, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Nakalay Beach Hotel Kathu
Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort Kamala, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.