We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach

Save Saved
You added Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   96/66 Moo 3, Kamala Beach, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Kamala
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a wonderful family holiday with our grandchildren aged 4 and 6 from Australia. The staff were excellent, couldn't do enough for you. The accommodation we had was perfect, very comfortable. The children had a great time in their play area and the pools were lovely. The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice and we had some meals in the evening in the restaurant which were very appetising. The staff were constantly cleaning the grounds. We used the transfer service from the airport, which was seamless. Very relaxing it was a holiday to remember fondly.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor poolside room, very convenient for everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    94
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
205
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spacious room, 7 great swimming pools, great place for kids and relaxation. The massage near the beach is cool, a must try. The resort is also less than 10 mins walk to Phuket Fantasea, a must visit place. All in, no complaint. My familt and I had a wonderful time!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ours was a stay of 3 days and 2 nights on an off-peak season (end of September). Family of 4.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. On your arrival, you will be offered with drinks while your check-in is being processed. The kids can already roam and play around the spacious lobby. A check-in staff will take the time to explain all the facilities and features of the resort. He/she will then show you to your room and make sure that everything is in order.

There are several activities that the family can enjoy. Some you have to pay and some are free. Kid activities like spooky parties, movies, arts and crafts are just a few. There are activities for the teens and adults as well.

WiFi connectivity around the resort is good. Even in the massage area (already near the beach), the signals were high. The package we took (Business Holiday Package) included free WiFi access.

The whole resort is clean. Cleaning attendants are making sure that the public areas are clean, dry, and free of dirt and sand.

The resort is also located very near Phuket Fantasea, a cultural theme park. The resort has direct access to the beach as well.

Food cost is OK and choices are plenty. Kids eat free (they have a separate menu for kids) for every paying adult. Along the beach-area, there a couple of other food outlets for you to choose from.

In case of a tsunami, there are buildings that are 3-floors high with numerous access to the broad staircases.

I highly recommend the resort and we will definitely come back should our schedules permit.

Room Tip: We took the Royal Pool Access Room, which is a ground-level studio-type room with the balcony direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Family of five (3 kids - 7,5 and 3 years) visited in early August. First time we had stayed here having stayed at the other Sunwing in Bang Tao.
A fantastic resort for families - the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the pools and slides are superb for young kids and the restaurants are great value for money.
We had some wet weather this year which put a small dampener on our stay but when the weather was good we all had a ball.
We met a number of other friendly families from Aus & Eng and having been to Phuket for 3 years straight now (and 6 diff resorts) we believe Sunwing offers the best value for money and entertainment for a young family.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor best for young families with young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are travelling with smaller kids ( 6 months to 12 years) then this is an amazing hotel. If you do not travel as a family with small kids I think that maybe this hotel is not designed for you.

Everything is adjusted for families; the menu, the restaurant, the pools. Kids can run around and you can still have a good overview of them. There is a kids club, table tennis, fussball, a small football field etc.

We took the happy baby room which is a decent sized room that comes with a stroller(!), pot, crib, water heater, small robe for babies and even a small plastic bath tube. You also get a very small fenced outdoor terrace with a table and some chairs. If you have forgotten diper, don´t worry, they have it in the hotels supermarket where they also have UV clothing for small kids.

The staff is very friendly and makes an effort to for example learn the names of your kids.

We went during low season which was nice. I can imagine that the hotel is quite busy and perhaps a little noisy with kids laughter and screaming during high season.

Breakfast is very good. Lots of sugary serials to keep your kids on a sugar rush ;) The dinner menu is adopted to western style and the food is ok, but not more. The Thai food is good and I wish they had some more Thai options.

The hotel is located about 35 minutes from the airport and on Kamala beach which is a nice beach which is a little bit calmer than the one north.

All in all a very family friendly hotel and I will happily go here again with my family.

Room Tip: Try a happy baby room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the best resorts I have stayed in
The room size is perfect and many outdoor pools and the resort near the beach
Also there is a kids club
The only thing is the wifi is not free in the rooms but free in the restaurant

Room Tip: The room with the pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with 3 & 4 yo and can't fault it. Very quiet at this time of year, but meant you often had a pool all to yourself. Didn't try the kids activities, but there seemed to be a reasonable variety. Restaurant was slightly limited in options but resort is on the beach so there are plenty of restaurant options on the foreshore. Prices were very reasonable with kids eating free (avg AU$30 for the 4 of us). Rooms were clean amd spacious with large king bed and couch for the kids to sleep on.

Room tip - we stayed in a poolside royal studio. Rooms 3102+ (even numbers) are on the far side of the resort and have pools running that side. A lot more peaceful than the main pools.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach

Address: 96/66 Moo 3, Kamala Beach, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.