We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth....an unbelievable expeience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paresa

Save Saved
You added Paresa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paresa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   49 Moo 6 Layi-Nakalay Road | Kamala Kratu, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Kamala
Markham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heaven on Earth....an unbelievable expeience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Paresa is a total gem. I read some of the other reviews. YES, it's far from the airport. YES it's on a mountainside, NO there is no beach adjacent to the hotel. BUT WHO CARES? Once you get to the resort, you won't want to leave! The view from the mountainside is breathtaking. The service is amazing and the rooms are....more than I could have ever imagined! My husband and I travelled in February with a group of friends and family. We have been to many resorts and hotels around the world, and you can't compare to Paresa. If you are travelling to Phuket, make a stop here, even for just a few nights, and you'll see what I mean. Too bad I'm from Canada, or I'd be there every weekend!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresa, Scot Toon General Manager at Paresa, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
Thank you for your comments and I hope somehow you can make it back to us from Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    62
    28
    18
    7
See reviews for
26
278
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

My friend and I just returned from a one night, two day stay at paresa. Wish we could stay forever!! Was pure beauty from the moment we arrived. We love trying nice boutique, modern hotels but paresa went way above our expectations!! Upon arrival, due to Chinese New years, we picked a red envelope which gave us a free room upgrade. However because there were no upgraded rooms available we were accommodated by allowing to check out the following day at 8pm and getting a free airport transfer. Allowed us basically one whole day more to enjoy the resort!

Our talay VILLA was gigantic with a beautiful view of the andaman sea (basically anywhere you are at the resort u have an uninterrupted view of the open sea). The balcony was huge with our own lounge chairs and the infinity pool was amazing. I could stare out at the ocean from our pool all day. There is no other view like it. The bathroom was gorgeous with his/hers sinks (or in our case hers and hers), a large shower (again with view of open sea), and large bathtub. Do agree that when the blinds are not drawn you may not feel much privacy but taking a shower with that view was worth it!! And because the villas are so far apart no one would really be able to see you.

We felt as if we had the entire place to ourselves while we were there. Sure, we saw ppl at the restaurant but when I worked out at the gym twice, no one was ever there. Also take advantage of the weekly schedule of activities they provide. We took a pilates class which ended up being private for the two of us. And we watched the sunset twice from the main infinity pool alone. Sunsets were amazing. Words cannot describe how beautiful it was and I've experienced many Hawaiian sunsets. The large expansive view of the horizon and the reflection of the clouds and colors of the sky off the pool and ocean made it special.

Also treated ourselves to massages which were very reasonable given 30%discount. In addition to being THE BEST massage (and we got like 10 in Thailand) the view from the room was breathtaking. Will never forget it. We were allowed to soak it all in after our massage while drinking tea in our robes. Our masseuses were awesome and classy.

Breakfast was also delicious, could pick from a wide array of entrees which were prepared fresh. Loved the mango smoothies! We also had three thai meals which were all wonderful. Drinks were delicious and catered to exactly how we wanted them made. The entire staff was professional.

Could go on and on about this place. If I had to give some constructive criticism, would say that the grout in the infinity pool left black marks on my bathing suit and body. Came off easily though. So the pools might need more frequent cleaning. Gets hot in gym fast so refrigerated water or cold towels might be an added bonus. Bigger signs are needed to help navigate from gym to spa to pool. Took a few wrong turns. Also would be awesome to have direct access to beach to snorkel in ocean (but know this is prob not possible given how high in the mountains the resort is)

All in all, this place left us speechless and wanting more. Before we left paresa we made a pact to return in two yrs. This place is worth every cent. The memory of the wide open view of the sea from high up in the mountains and the breathtaking sunsets will live forever in my mind. I have traveled to many nice places and beaches but nothing can compare to paresa. Such an unforgettable, memorable experience!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresa, Scot Toon General Manager at Paresa, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed here during their soft opening and were able to get a very reasonable rate. We found that local taxi drivers did not know where the hotel was so would definitely recomend getting a hotel pick up. First impressions were fantastic with the staff waiting to welcome us with cold towels and drinks. Check in was done in-room and was fast and straight-forward.

The room was large and incorporated a huge double bed and a large day bed, there was a desk, free wi-fi and an ipod dock with a pre-loaded ipod. The bathroom had the usual double basin as well as a big bath tub and separate shower (again as expected, especially in Thailand). The main draw for this resort is the private infinity pool with beautiful views of the cliffs and the Andaman sea which was stunning.

Paresa had great staff, who were always happy to help and very friendly. Food in the restaurant was of a high quality and extremely good value. We were there for 4 nights and did not get bored of breakfast nor dinner. We never needed lunch as we ate breakfast late, and complimentary canapes were delivered at 4pm.

Try the poolside dining option, although the menu is no different it truly is a lovely setting and as we were the only two there it felt amazingly private. Cooking school was fun and the kitchen is top of the range, each person makes enough food for two though! We didn't want to make seafood soup and the chef was happy to change the menu to a curry, not a huge change but we were pleased by the 'can do, will do' attitude of staff.

Overall the resort was good value, partly because we got a reduced rate. We thought the rooms were fantastic, the staff friendly and the facilities first class. Our only complaint was that we were surprised not to be offered an upgrade as the hotel was more or less empty (we were the only guests for 3 of the nights we were there) and surprised that the GM did not make any attempt to welcome us or even to contact us. Other than that a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Summary:

Accommodation: Aqua Suite
Length of stay: 4 nights

THE RESORT GENERALLY

Negatives

- Difficult to find - take the hotel car from the airport - little hope with a regular taxi
- No beach access
- Built on a cliff - so expect a steep climb to/from your room (if you don't take the golf cart driven by staff)
- No resort map available
- Poorly located lifts that don't service enough levels of the hotel main building.
- Guest access from main building to secondary public areas (library/pool/spa) is past BOH kitchen (with room services buggies)
- Too many single level changes with no tactiles or colour changes - dangerous !
- Only one food outlet - with two menus (Thai or Italian). The website promotes three dining experiences (which is rather misleading). The third being private dining by the pool.
- Breakfast could be improved with better quality food selection and more suitable food displays (over ice and covered - for example). Too many flies buzzing around buffet. Hot food a la carte choice needs refinement.
- General Manager did not introduce himself - or make himself known throughout stay.
- Staff did not address you by name (and there weren't many guests)
- A waft of garbage or sewerage smell in the restaurant - at various times


Positives

- Away from the riff raff, noise and grime of Patong and Kata
- Dramatic sea and mountain views from resort - quiet location
- Resort reception and entry is contemporary, minimal and dramatic - but the remainder of the hotel doesn't quite live up to the entry.....
- Existing large trees (preserved) throughout site and new landscaping through resort
- Hotel wet edge pool is well located and pleasantly devoid of other guests. Wet cool towels offered to the guests might be a nice touch.
- Staff are very pleasant and helpful
- Good sized gym and spa for size of hotel. Didn't try any of the spa treatments.
- Thai food in restaurant - very good and reasonably priced (didn't try the Italian menu)
- Restaurant deck is very pleasant location to dine - during day and night
- Room service is fast and a reasonable food offering
- Appetizers brought to room each night in a wooden display box - nice touch
- Public toilets (restaurant, pool & gym) well designed and stocked with good amenities - soap, hand towels etc.

THE ROOM - Aqua Suites

Negatives

- Poor architectural detailing (brown painted aluminium windows/doors). Pebblecrete and brown terra-cotta facing tiles over concrete walls and columns don't promote a five star feel
- Slippery bathroom floors (polished terrazzo)
- WC - no privacy and visible from deck and pool (should consider locating some obscure film to glazing around WC enclosure ?)
- Needs two toilet roll holders - at the very least a spare roll close to the WC
- Not enough shade for individual apartment terraces (over sunbeds or seating area)
- Large number of manual blinds and curtains to close to achieve blackout
- Acrylic baths in Aqua suites
- No full height mirror
- No iron or ironing board (it is a resort - but this would be a handy addition to the wardrobe to iron those cotton sundresses).
- small MP3 player with poor sound (need to replace with Bose (or similar) quality)
- safe located too low - difficult to use and too small for laptop
- TV too small - room could have used a larger format TV. Rotating TV turn style OK.
- Not enough powerpoints at appropriate level for guest use near bed or desk
- Poor quality cupboard joinery that won't wear well. Quality of bedhead, bed, desk, chairs etc. minimal design and OK
- Card placed on pillows for turndown with quirky typed messages/affirmations on a sticker (hello?). Perhaps small gift, chocolate etc. would provide a more 5 star feel.
- Absorption type refrigerator in minibar is quiet - but potentially a risk in a sealed guestroom environment.
- Note some Aqua suites having better privacy than others.

Positives

- Good sized rooms and decks with dramatic sea views
- Large bathroom and dressing area - good sized vanities with natural light - only lacking a magnified make up mirror for the over 40's (preferably with internal light).
- Nice neutral colour palette (browns/creams/whites).
-White terrazzo on floor and walls in bathroom is beautifully finished and looks great (safety issue on floor - see above)
- Timber floors in rooms
- Comfortable super king bed - comfy down pillows & good cotton bed linen - timber platform bed - great nights sleep
- Day beds in room are comfortable
- Good air conditioning and quiet ceiling fans
- Large individual wet edge plunge pool
- Outdoor Shower (needs robe hooks for hanging swim suits and towels). Portable clothes horse in bathroom is a good idea
- Elsafe brand safe (see issues above)
- Coffee Machine in room - great selection of teas
- Quality products in minibar - providing some complimentary cookies in a sealed jar might be a nice quality touch.
- Room lighting excellent - Clipsal C-Bus lighting system, good LED reading lights on bedhead, effective night lights under beds and in bathroom.
- Good cotton robes and rubber flip-flops provided
- IPod full of music provided for guest use
- Reasonable bathroom amenities - could lift game by using product of the quality of Aveda, Khiels, Bulgari etc. Difficult to pour shampoo, conditioner etc. out of plastic bottles. Also difficult text size is difficult to read shampoo from shower gel (without glasses)...
- Artwork in room is subtle, vernacular and appropriate


In Summary:

Paresa is located on a dramatic mountainside with superb ocean views - and that certainly is its main appeal. The resort is new and there are some tweaks that need to be ironed out. Given the architectural detailing one wonders how the resort will wear over the years.

The room rate is expensive and at this price point you expect a total five star experience. Unfortunately Paresa currently doesn't quite deliver - but there is potential for improvement.........

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paresa, General Manager at Paresa, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Thank you very much for your review.

We have taken all your positive and negative comments on board as we do with all guest feedback and this will be utilised to ensure that we continually improve the Paresa guest experience.

Regards
Scot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We, I and my mom went to Phuket for a little break during our trip to Thailand in August. At our first sight, we were stunned by the view of this luxurious resort overlooking the ocean from the lobby exit. Once brought to the bangalow, we were absolutely speechless with the pleasure of seeing a nice simple deco, incorporated with comfort and privacy, an example of minimalism. Hospitality from the staffs and the management team was second to none. We spent 3 happy nights and refueled ourselves. It was a great time to spend a quality time with the family in a fantastic environment.

It was raining some days during our trip but that was not a problem to stay cool at our private pool or the common pool with a little water edge divided me and the horizon. A tailored maritni to your own style were made promptly at the bar and delivered in frozen glasses to the room. Yes, frozen martini glasses at 100 degree climate.

The room is equipped with gadgets needed, including a high speed connection. I wondered myself why people (including me) should hook up to internet when stay there.

Got to say that this is a real heaven.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paresa

Address: 49 Moo 6 Layi-Nakalay Road | Kamala Kratu, Kamala, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kamala
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#3 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#8 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paresa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guests rooms have uninterrupted views of Andaman sea.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Paresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paresa Hotel Kamala
Paresa Kamala, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.