We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ambience is great but far away from everything!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel ambience is great but far away from everything!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Okay if I want to review about the hotel firstly I need to review on phuket. The weather sucks in July. We almost spent the whole day at the hotel for the rough weather. Thank god that the hotel has a very good pool & vanilla sky bar where we can chill & enjoy the beautiful view of the sea. Cape Sienna is overall a fancy hotel but 4/5 star quality. The rooms are not spacious enough. Hotel restaurants serves good quality food though. One thing I would like to mention about renting a texi from the hotel. They charges 1500 bath from the hotel to nearest kalim bay or Patong beach which are very near from the hotel. They obviously should look upon on this taxi issue. Overall it was bittersweet experience. The weather is very bad at this season so I would recommend everyone to think twice before traveling to phuket during June-August.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    316
    120
    47
    21
See reviews for
40
682
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

On the surface a great hotel. We enjoyed the setting, service and sunset views. However our trip was significantly soured when we went to leave for the airport and found our driver wanted nearly 50% more for the trip to the airport than we paid getting there.

We tolerated the price gouging by the taxis during the duration of our four day stay. We routinely payed 500 baht for 10 minute journeys, twice what we pay in Singapore. However the trip back to the airport was the last straw as it was so inconsistent.

When we asked the hotel staff for their help they simply denied all responsibility. I patiently explained that they can black list drivers that will take advantage of their guests. Their response was that "This hotel is on Millionaire Mile, so the drivers charge whatever they want." So basically it's not their problem - effectively siding with the drivers instead of their hotel guests.

My partner and I walked 5 minutes down the road and managed to get the same fare we paid on the way out. A real shame as we enjoyed our stay up until the end. There just reaches a point for everyone where the price gouging gets to be too much.

In response to other reviews Cape Sienna Hotel mentions they would like the taxi system to change, yet does nothing to make this happen. Thanks to their inaction we won't be staying with them again and we'll encourage our friends and business partners to do the same.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Kiwiwannabe81,

Your comments and review is rather unfair to us.
The review should be about the hotel, which you actually said you enjoyed.

The taxi services are offered by an outside taxi stand and indeed we do or rather did (as by now, or since beginning June there is no more such stand and all taxi services on Phuket have been restructured by the military government following years of reports by tour companies as well as hotels, ours included) not have any influence on their prices nor do/did we have a relationship with them.
You cannot blame the hotel for what an outside company charges you, it is your choice to use them or someone else.
The taxi system in Phuket was an island wide issue, ongoing for very long and we are extremely happy that the action of the government has finally done something about it.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I'm not sure if I would call this hotel a five star hotel. 3 and a half star at best. When we first checked into our room, I was less than impressed with their attention to detail in the room-- ie. painting job, the size of the TV, the queen sized bed ( they wrote king size but it's not) and the fact that the room was quite far from the lobby. The good news is that this room had a nice balcony that overlooked the ocean and we were able to enjoy the nice breeze coming in from the balcony into our suite. We pretty much did laundry ourselves and hung all our clothes in the balcony. Room was otherwise spacious and was okay. So, what was disappointing was their service at the restaurant. We dined at Plum on the first night we were there. This waitress who intermittently served us had the worst attitude and I almost thought about leaving the restaurant. I was already not entirely happy with the room and this happened. Half way through dinner I accidentally dropped my fork. While I was struggling to grab my utensil, this lady just watched me suffer while I was trying to retrieve the fork on my own. She was literally stood right behind me and didn't care to say a word. What the hell?! Anyone in their right conscience, if you were in the restaurant business, would not only pick up the fork and would also offer to get a new one. She just stood there did nothing about it. When I turned around and ask her a fork ( at that point I was already annoyed) she looked pissed off and pretty much tossed a new fork onto my table. And walked away. She walked away. I was mortified. This kind of behavior is unacceptable. That incident I'll never forget. The rest of the 3 days felt like forever. I shouldn't be feeling like this on my honeymoon. Food and drinks there were also overpriced and their food was just adequate. Nothing great. Overall I would not recommend this place. I wish I chose a different hotel. Especially on my damn honeymoon.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Shokow,

after so many great reviews lately, i must admit I am saddened to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I wonder why you say our beds are Queen size, as they are not. they are 180x200cm, which is King Size.
The incident at PLUM is indeed very strange as we have extremely high customer satisfaction in this restaurant for food and service especially and never have I seen my staff behaving in a similar way you describe as it would be very Un-Thai to be rude.

I do apologize for not being able to meet your expectations.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great stay at this resort, which was the last destination in our tour of the andaman region with andaman adventuures, who BTW did a great job of putting together our tour – if you want to see the region and not worry about transfers, they’re the people to talk to. The Cape Sienna was a very pleasant item in our itinerary, top marks for great food (especially the breakfasts, which featured all sorts of goodies), a luxurious room at a reasonable price, smiling staff and a good location, nice spot they have at this resort. So, yes, all in all a good place to stay and one I would return to and advise others to visit too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear D_Jacobs,

thank you for a nice review.
Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to Welcome you back soon again.

With Best REgards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Amazing place with fantastic views from any part of the resort. Our sea view studio was very comfy and well designed. The Vanilla sky bar is doing great cocktails. Only improvements could be the breakfast, quite basic, and the food by the pool is overpriced for what it is.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

just spent 7 nights here and can honestly say that we could not fault any aspect of this resort. it has ambiance, location, food choice, service and nothing was an issue for the staff to perform. truly a very bright star in the expectations of what Thailand has to offer,. they promised and they delivered. definitely has European influence with an Italian head chef. will stay here again regardless of season. stunning full views of Kamala Bay, use the taxis / tuk tuks as the hill will beat you after a few drinks at night.. truly, truly stunning. thank you for raising the bar on levels of service that others only wish for.

Room Tip: building 2 is closer to the action. and we believe most rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Lou p,

Wow....what can i say....just Thank you. Your words truly went down like a good old drop of wine.
We are very glad you truly enjoyed our product and services and congrats to my team for this.

Looking forward to Welcome you back in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here from June 23-28, during off season, but let me just say it was definitely ON season for my cousin and I!!! From the warm welcome late at night to the final goodbye. The staff here is so friendly and willing to assist you in anything!! We were greeted with a wet towel and a drink at check in (we arrived a little after midnight). Our first impression of out two bed room was that it was very nice and chic, we knew we had a sea view because we could hear the waves crashing. In the morning we were welcomed by a gorgeous view and the sun shining!!! Room service is exceptional, we called for ice a few times and within a minute it arrived!! Every evening there was a little note with a flower on the bed, we found it to be such a sweet touch.
The food selection at the pool restaurant is delicious and the drinks as well!!
The beach, Kamala, is only a short walk down hill, about 5 minutes. Kamala Beach is about a 15min drive from Patong. The lovely staff will hail a cab for you and tell them where you are going, they usually charged us 500tbh. We loved that Cape Sienna was close enough to get to Patong, but far from the hussle and bussle of Patong. Our sleep was never disturbed and we did not experience any loud or obnoxious drunk people. It was perfect. Oh, and one more thing whatever the candle scent they light up in the rooms sleeps amaaazing!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in building 3, great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear MVLYNN27,

thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our services and staff.
Nice comments about our food and little 'extras' are well appreciated.

Looking forward to Welcome you back soon again.

with Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#7 Family Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.