We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect get away from the busy city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect get away from the busy city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It was tricky finding a vacation location for our babymoon (baby on the way) especially when my previous experience of Phuket was one of island hopping, snorkeling, rock climbing, white water rafting etc. With the limited activities you can do pregnant, we opted for a more restful holiday and hopefully a hotel that would be enough of an attraction in itself. So we chose Cape Sienna having read other reviews. We stayed for 5 days.

Cape Sienna did not disappoint as we entered into the lobby on the 2nd floor, the sea greets! We had a good check in (waited only 30 minutes and we were there at 1, way before the allocated check in time).

The trip from the airport cost us 650 baht. (You should head all the way left to the metered taxis or if you want you could offer this price to the different pushers that are all around. They will be asking for 750 baht.

Sorry I digress. We were given our deluxe jacuzzi room and it was really more than we have expected. The view of the sea was amazing and the bath and jacuzzi looks out to it. Although it would have been great if the view from the jacuzzi was not obstructed by a wall and be totally made of glass instead. But well this is made up for by the view from the pool deck where you will probably find yourself sun tanning. There is a quieter and less visited site at the Sienna Rocks area just across the road which also belong to the hotel. We enjoyed that area more.

The hotel provides a shuttle service to Kamala beach and Patong. We did not take the Kamala beach shuttle (15 min walk will get you there) but we took the Patong one. A taxi ride would have cost 500 baht, so this two way service was greatly appreciated. The pick up time is at 4.30pm from hotel and 10.00 pm from the Patong drop off point. Seats are limited though so you need to book early with the front desk. If you would like to take a taxi in your own time, take note that the taxi mafias are seated just below the lobby and in some kind of honor code, no other taxis will service you. So you will have to go with them. They are quite friendly but the price is not the cheapest.

The hotel has 3 dining options. The vanilla sky, plum room and the poolside. They offer special deals everyday but the prices are still quite steep. You are looking at a 1095 baht for bbq buffet or a 1900 baht for a 4 course meal etc. (Check their website for more accurate pricing). I had the bbq buffet and was a tad disappointed when they did not have lobster or crab or satay. The lobster and satay were pictures they used in their promotion. But of course the spread was still substantial so not too much complains there. Then the question beckons :what are the other options. Well what we did on the first day was to get ourselves to Patong and go to Big C! The super market is pretty well stocked with food which can tide you through the day. There is also a large option of eating places in Patong so that was not a problem. If you want something nearer to the hotel, Kamala Beach has some seaside cafes which serve food not exactly at local prices either but still gives you the variety. If you walk further down (instead of crossing the bridge to the beach) you come to Kamala town, which is a quiet area compared to Patong. There are some eateries and pubs there as well and you get quite a good price for the fare there.

So overall, it was a very relaxing place, very peaceful (esp when u compare it to Patong) and great for just sitting, reading and sun tanning. The service was wonderful. The food options a bit pricey and well mozzies are there so remember your repellant. I would go back to the hotel if Im looking for some rest and relax:). (If you are an adventure junky, then perhaps somewhere nearer the action will be better)

PS: The cost of taxi to airport using the mafias will be around 1000 baht, so please keep that in mind when budgeting.

Room Tip: For a little more you get the jacuzzi suite. Get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Jason_Wong_1983,

thank you for your time writing this detailed review, much appreciated.
We understand that you might have felt that the generic seafood photo on one small advertisement was a little misleading and have already taken it out. The main poster however showed just seafood without lobster. unfortunately lobsters are very expensive and at our net prices it would be impossible to include them. A small lobster in a street restaurant goes already easily over 1,000 per piece.

Otherwise we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back soon.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    316
    120
    48
    21
See reviews for
40
683
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed in Cape Sienna for 6 nights. I arranged for airport pick up and there were no problems. Upon arrival the staff at the front desk was attentive. We were asked to pick a scent, which would be for all our shampoo and toiletries, which is a nice touch. After we were settled we went to the pool area for a drink and something to eat, where we were ignored by 3 staff members. I had to go and ask for menu which she gave me to carry back to my table. There was only 1 other table taken, so they were not busy. The staff were busy talking with each other. This we found by the pool & the reception area. We were ignored most of the time. I was yelled at for wanting to take a coffee from the restaurant. We printed our boarding passes and after we did were told that we had to pay for the printing. The room was beautiful, but had ants everywhere. Our balcony door was broken, but was fixed during the day sometime. As I said the hotel is beautiful but the staff need some major help. Most of the staff are seen talking to each other. The staff on the street level are great they always asked how your day went, but the reception area most of them put their heads down when you walked by and ignored you. The only staff member who acknowledged us at reception was the trainee. And as I said before the service by the pool is non-existent.

You get pool cards and when you return you towels they give you your cards back. We put both our towels in the bin and asked for our cards, and as they were busy talking no one saw us, so we had to argue with them to give our cards back, until a trainee came and stated she saw us give the towels back.

We were booked in for 7 nights and I had made a mistake, was told to contact booking.com, which I did, and they contacted the hotel and they did cancel our last night without any penalties.

We had booked a massage and my friends massage was done by someone who wore rubber gloves the whole time. Not impressed by this.

On the last day we found out that we could also have used the pool at the villas, the staff did not inform us of any of this, or for that matter advised where everything was when we checked in.

The hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect, they just need to work on their staff to make it perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Steve_lil_2004,

thank you for your feedback.
We definitely took well notice of your comments about pool bar service, as there was another comment in the same time you stayed as well and we had some serious training session with them to rectify some 'loose' behavior.
Rest assured that we take this feedback to heart and will improve so that the next customer will find our staff active and willing.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

THE HOTEL
Prior to arrival, I emailed Cape Sienna asking if I could check in early and also arranged for a private hotel transfer and requested a room at the highest level possible. To my delight, all my requests were granted.

The drive from the Airport to the Hotel was about 45 minutes without any delays, which is longer that what is advertised, however this was not a problem for us.

We stayed in the Seaview Jacuzzi Suite which had amazing views of Kamala Bay. We found the room amenities were pretty good, just the building is showing a few signs of wear and tear with visible cracks. Our room had a large shower with a big showerhead which was very comfortable to use after a day out. The bathroom sink however was not well designed because the basin is cut out of the painted cabinet which looked odd and was very shallow. Also didn’t use the outside Jacuzzi much because of the insects.

The Laundry service is also quite dear, but you can get your clothes cleaned elsewhere for much cheaper.

Buffet Breakfast is served at the Poolside Restaurant every morning between 6:30 – 10:30AM. They have a very good variety of both Asian and Western cuisine. The Restaurant has an open plan with doors left open so that you get the best views of the bay, however, the hot weather made it uncomfortable to eat there. The heat also meant that the fresh fruit was warm, even though they tried to keep it cool with ice under the plates. I would recommend closing the glass doors and turning on the Aircon, because there are also tables outside for guests who don’t mind the heat.

The Hotel is situated on a hill so it is a steep walk down to the beach. There’s also no footpath on some of the road so it can be dangerous. However it’s not a far walk so it’s really not that bad.

THE TAXI’S
If you a book tour and the tour includes Hotel pick up and drop off, the Taxi’s will not cause any trouble if you are doing something special like going to Phi Phi Island or doing an Elephant Trek. This is because they know that this is a service that they cannot provide. However, if you want to do a simple tour of the Island and just need a driver, then this is where there will be conflict because this is a service that they can provide so they will be upset if someone from a different district comes to pick you up. This is not only a problem outside Cape Sienna, because you cannot even arrange to be picked up nearby because there are other Taxi’s around and the Tour Companies fear being seen. Therefore, if you just need a driver and don’t want to pay the Taxi’s outside the Hotel, then you probably need to catch a Taxi into Patong and get picked up from there. There is no problem with you getting dropped off at the Hotel though. That being said, we did heaps of tours and never had any problems. The Taxi’s outside 7/11 in Kamala charge about 100 Baht less than the ones outside Cape Sienna. And even though the Taxi’s outside the Hotel are a rip off, we did use their services twice and they are as friendly as anyone else. All Taxi’s in Phuket are a rip off anyway so there is not much you can do. The Hotel Shuttle is a minivan that only goes to Patong once a day, so you’ve got to book it early otherwise you might miss out. Would be good if there were extra Shuttle’s.

THE STAFF
The Staff speak good English and are very friendly. You will always be greeted with a smile.

CONCLUSION
Kamala is a quiet location so you will have to pay expensive Taxi fares (400 Baht to Patong, and another 400 Baht back) if you want more dinning and shopping options. However, it is very quiet and peaceful and I would recommend staying at this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Melbs3131,

thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel.
Your comment about weather is well noted, but our poolside restaurant does not have air-con as it is designed with an open air concept in mind.
Taxis: as mentioned before, we wish the situation in Phuket would be different, but we are all in the same boat and although there seems to be movement in the right direction, it still take a bit of time I would think for the local authorities to really find a permanent solution.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Cape Sienna was really a good choice for couples of all ages if you have no kids and would like to have a quiet and relaxing getaway. With a "no kids under 12" rule, you practically do not see any children in the resort. So if peace is something you look for, here is the place for you.

The hotel is on a side of sort of hill overlooking the Kamala beach. The rooms either let you have awesome sunrise, or sunset views. At night you can look out to the many lights from the Kamala beach side.

The hotel has 2 pools, one which is called Sienna Rocks, which is an infinity pool. Its simply stunning especially in the evening time when the sun sets and the ambience gets more romantic. But very interestingly is that many people leaves at this moment. The down side is that the water is a little cold, as not much people are there and the wind is kinda strong.

The walk to the beach is about 10 mins. 7-11 is 5 mins away. Big C supermarket about 10 mins? Oh yeah, a sat night market is also about 10 mins away. Such convenience.

The hotel staff were pleasant and the rooms were clean. It is a place you will want to come back to.

Room Tip: Building One faces the beach. I believe all rooms faces the ocean. If you want to see the sunset, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear CalvinZheng,

thank you very much for your great review, much appreciated.

We are looking forward to Welcome you back soon again to Cape Sienna.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the second week in Thailand on a B&B basis. our first week was in Krabi. This hotel was clean and the staff very welcoming. Free safe free wifi. free internet, The hotel is located on a hill to the left of Kamala Beach, offering stunning views of the bay. The food in the hotel was of a high standard although a bit pricey compared to the restaurants in Kamala just a small walk away.
Bad points :- Because the hotel was located on a steep hill and lot of steps within the hotel, not the hotel for wheelchairs or unfit people. We found the aircon very noisy and blowing directly on the bed hence most nights to get to sleep we had to turn it off. Although the Vanilla Sky bar offered lovely views we were quite often the only people in there i think due the prices, The last moan must be the wine I ordered a glass of house white it was awful a mouthful in a large glass in the uk we would only use this for cooking.Apart from the bad points we enjoyed our stay but alas not a hotel we would return to,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Baylpop,

thank you for your review.
Indeed our pricing is different than the local restaurants, which of course have much lower operating costs.
We did not have any issue with our house wines and wonder if it was just a one of "bad bottle" or opened to long. Wish you would have said something, we could have changed it for you of course.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Cape Sienna was a pleasure to be.The hotel is a place away from all the bustles of daily life.
If your Vacation plan is not too hectic to explore places in and around Phuket,Cape Sienna is the right choice.If not you could look for hotels close to Phuket or Patong.
We had been at Cape Sienna just after our wedding and the after all the stress during wedding, cape sienna was the right place for some quality time.The hotel is well maintained and is located well at a serene place.
Cons i would say are that the taxis from Kamala to Patong or Phuket are expensive so better to do some search over the internet and save some bucks.The hotel inside cape sienna is a bit expensive too.
Nothing can be perfect. Overall Cape sienna was one of our best experiences.Thanks to the team.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Neethu_Murugan,

And we would love to have you back.
Thank you so much for your nice feedback and looking forward to Welcome you back to Cape Sienna soon again.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The cape sienna hotel met all expectations and more. The room was simply gorgeous with fresh oil fragrance every day in the room. The pool is lovely and the infinity pool views just breath taking. The views in general are priceless and cocktails watching the sunset from the vanilla sky bar is a must. Prices in the hotel are similar to uk but the service is lovely and makes a special evening. We ate out in kamala bay down by the beach most nights simply because of the many bars and eating places right by the sea and especially for the prices. Wine is about 150 to 180 Bart per glass (350 ish) quite expensive but the food so cheap. We averaged on evening meal and drinks being £20. Breakfast is very good and caters for everyone. There are more than enough bars by the sea to eat different every night. The walk takes a nice 15mins from hotel to the bay.We can't wait to go back. Simply lovely. Dawn and louise

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Dawniee594,

wow...what can I say, such a fantastic feedback just motivates and makes me proud.
We do try hard to strive to give guests a great experience and of course would love to get only positive feedback, but understand that this can't be.
Once again, thank you so much and looking forward to welcome you back soon at Cape Sienna.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.