We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault this excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smallicombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colyton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smallicombe Farm
Save
You added Smallicombe Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Farnborough.UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Could not fault this excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Tucked away in a valley midway between Honiton and Seaton, easy to find this delightful B&B farm
more than met all our expectations!!
The room was comfortable, clean and nicely finished with lots of books and magazines to read.
We spent two nights in mid September, and would say that the owners could not be more helpful, with super service at breakfast, and enough food to start the day.
An experience that we would like to have in future visits to this lovely part of Devon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've stayed in a variety of hotels, pubs and B&Bs on the way to/from Cornwall over the years. This farm stay was by far the best, for us as a family (3 children aged 5, 3 and a baby). We stayed in the farmhouse and had a large double room with ensuite and an adjoining bedroom with bunk beds for the children. There was plenty of room in the main bedroom and in the children's room for a cot. There was a residents living room downstairs. The farm had loads for the children - play areas, animals to see. An evening meal was provided (book in advance). We had cottage pie (beef from the farm) followed by blackberry crumble and custard, which the children rated as "yummy". Breakfast was delicious - pork sausages and bacon obviously, although there was a wide choice of food for breakfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights at the gorgeous working Rare Breeds farm. Karen, Matt and Maggie were perfect hosts and were always more than happy to provide help and advice to us. The rooms were gorgeous and there were lots of little touches, like a proper teapot and wine glasses, that made the whole experience so wonderful. The breakfasts were gorgeous. Can't wait to find another excuse to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just back from 3 nights in the farmhouse on this Rare Breeds farm. Our welcome from Karen and the girls, was warm and welcoming. Immediately felt very 'at home'. We met Matt later and he was just as friendly. The breakfasts were delicious with a great choice. My partner enjoyed the full English every morning and I particularly liked the fresh fruit and yoghurt options. Lots of recommendation's from the hosts of things to do & visit in the area. We had booked River Cottage for one nights dining, but lots in Honition, the Wine Bar was good and the Deli (Champers) for lunch. Great for visits to Lyme Regis and Beer, also Branscombe was a delight.

Our rooms were spotless, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the farmhouse en-suite family rooms, which is more traditional and was closer to the he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on the internet via the River Cottage website. Right from the first contact the experience was a pleasure. The reception was friendly, room was clean and comfy and the breakfast was excellent. Can't reccomend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great B&B on a working farm. The hosts give you a warm and friendly welcome. The bedroom is warm, cosy and the shower is great. You can eat the farms rare breed sausages and bacon for breakfast - absolutely delicious!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this delightful bed and breakfast. The accommodation is first rate. The owners are friendly and very welcoming. The breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and superb. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Shipon which is a recent addition to the complex. The room and bathroom are in excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smallicombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallicombe Farm

Address: Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallicombe Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic rural setting of East Devon yet only a short drive to the famous Jurassic Coast. Smallicombe Farm is a traditional working rare breed farm with 4* Gold Award winning B&B and 4* Self-catering cottages. Come and meet the Rare breed pigs, sheep and cattle. You will have the chance to roam through our woodlands and spot wildlife in their native habitat. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smallicombe Farm Colyton, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smallicombe Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.