We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hayloft - Smallicombe Farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smallicombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colyton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smallicombe Farm
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Hartley Wintney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Hayloft - Smallicombe Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Smallicombe Farm – The Hayloft

Real House Plants, Tasteful Decoration, Wi-Fi, superb facilities, extreme attention to detail! Not the normal attributes that you would expect from a self-catering cottage in the UK, but on this occasion we found that the Hayloft at Smallicombe Farm were all of these, along with many more.

We found the attention to detail was carried throughout the accommodation in every aspect. With fresh milk and hot beverage making facilities, along with an offer of farm fresh produce for our breakfast the next day. Our hosts ‘Ian, Maggie, Matt & Karen’ were on hand to make our stay pleasant, and offer local knowledge and advice of where to go, and places to see.
Our visit was in early march and even though you expect the worst in weather, the views from the windows were exceptional, looking out onto a tranquil surround, with the back drop of a real traditional working farm. The birth of lambs and piglets around the farm gave an ambiance of excitement and a lust for life.

After a superb evening meal, at a local hostelry. Our bed was found to be one of the most comfortable that we have ever found and comparable to a first class hotel. After a leisurely breakfast our host gave us a in depth and informative tour of this traditional working farm.
We would strongly recommend the accommodation at Smallicombe Farm, all of which has evolved with the help of feedback from past clients. Giving to facilities that are exactly what the clients’ want, and have asked for. Furthermore the location is exceptional with a short hop to the seafront and far enough away from towns and built up areas, to give a real feel of country living. A great base for touring the many visitor attractions of South Devon and South West Dorset.

Room Tip: When arriving make sure you approach from the direction of Honiton, The roads from other directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A wonderful peaceful break, booked last minute but couldn't have wished for anything better. We stayed in the farmhouse which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Karen and Maggie made us very welcome and it felt like nothing was too much trouble. There was lots of choice on the B&B menu which definitely set you up for the day

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adderbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable break for us and our two children (11 & 8), in a beautiful part of the country. We stayed in a family room of the B&B which was generous, comfortable and very clean and the owners genuinely made you feel welcome. The children got to see all the livestock including lambing which was an amazing experience for them (and us!). The breakfasts were delicious, I think as a family we could highly recommend any choice as we went through most of them!! All in all, this was a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing break largely thanks to Karen and Matt at Smallicombe Farm!

Room Tip: We stayed in the B&B farmhouse where the family room had a separate kids room and bathroom which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Smallicombe Farm with our 2 young children. The setting is lovely, very peaceful with a very high standard of accommodation. The service was excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Smallicombe farm is a lovely find. We stayed for one night after running out if oil so is quite local to us. The accommodation is perfect for families and there are loads of animals to see. When we were there we saw baby piglets which were only a few hours old.

The area is very rural and beautiful. The farm has an informal shop where you can buy smallicombe meat products, sheepskin and woolly things.

Would definitely go again and recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been holidaying at Smallicombe since our daughter was a year old and this summer will be our 11th year running! I think that in itself says everything but I should just elaborate a bit for the benefit of those who are thinking of going there! The area is beautiful and the farm so well-situated for visiting lots of lovely places - our favourites being Sidmouth, Seaton, Lyme Regis and Exmouth to name but a few. The accommodation is spotless and modern yet cosy, providing all the home comforts you need. And the farm itself is fantastic, with lots of interesting and fun things to see and do! But what makes the holiday so special are the people who own the farm - Maggie, Ian, Karen, Matt & family. They are so welcoming and easy-going, always there to offer help when needed and to make your holiday as great as possible! Just all-round genuinely lovely people :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The farm is located in a rural location, but not far from the nearest town. So feels a million miles away from hustle and bustle of everyday life.
There are quite a few walks around and the farm experience is a lovely add on to the holiday trip.
Food is homegrown and the meat is delicious.
5* holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smallicombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallicombe Farm

Address: Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallicombe Farm 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic rural setting of East Devon yet only a short drive to the famous Jurassic Coast. Smallicombe Farm is a traditional working rare breed farm with 4* Gold Award winning B&B and 4* Self-catering cottages. Come and meet the Rare breed pigs, sheep and cattle. You will have the chance to roam through our woodlands and spot wildlife in their native habitat. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smallicombe Farm Colyton, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smallicombe Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smallicombe Farm to your Saves list