We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forge Restaurant & Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Clears
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge
Save
You added The Forge Restaurant & Lodge to your Saves list
A40 | St Clears, Carmarthen, Wales, St Clears SA33 4NA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 St Clears B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Was visiting a local business in Carmarthen and found The Forge on the internet on arrival I was warmly greeted by members of the staff and directed to my room. The room was spotlessly clean,large and very well appointed with an fantastic shower and endless supply of hot water. The desk was well illuminated with enough sockets close by, no excuse for not doing my work!! Dining in the restaurant I opted for the local lamb cutlets and was amazed at the size of the portion. 4 cutlets, peas and chips were very well presented and was offered mint sauce automatically. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, disappointed I did not get to try the desserts due to the large portion. Breakfast in the morning was again excellent and as everything is cooked to order was well worth the very short wait. At checkout I was asked if I needed any directions to my appointment and wished a pleasant day, in a very genuine manner. I stay away at least two nights a week on business and try to stay outwith the usual hotel chains, I have rated The Forge excellent which it is without doubt and will definitely return hopefully this time might have longer to enjoy the pool and sauna.

Room Tip: Close to the pool makes it easy to nip in without having to get fully dressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    5
    8
    1
See reviews for
5
21
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

£8.50 for a plate of 3 deep fried roast potatoes frozen peas carrots , burnt on one side roast parsnips and swede that burnt your mouth with the amount of pepper in it, watery gravy and thinly sliced Turkey and pork which was bought in I suspect ready sliced and in gravy. Loads of bread stuffing . No Apple sauce or cranberry sauce. Some boiled potatoes in their skins. Poor value for money . Hardly any other customers . Not surprised with poor quality less than best carvery food Won't call there again when going west.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proud to be British
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A lovely little stop over spot on the A40 West of Carmarthen, between St Clear's and Whitland. Family run business with clean, comfortable rooms and adjacent restaurant serving home made food which will suit most tastes. Food is plain and simple, no frills, good friendly service, packed lunches available. A little road noise depending on which room you are in but nothing over the top. Swimming pool and small gym available for residents only, ideal for the more energetic amongst us. All in all a great place to stop whilst touring or en-route to other parts. Located next to a Shell service station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stopped here for a 6.30pm supper after a coach day trip. We had pre-ordered earlier in the day by phone from a well-balanced "coach party menu". We arrived a few minutes early and as soon as we had purchased drinks from speedy well-trained bar staff and sat down in the restaurant our meals were served, piping hot, very generous portions and cheerful staff.
Everyone was very pleased with their choices and will probably return independently when passing. Well done - you have got it just right!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stopped here for something to eat on way to fishgaurd port. Food was nice prices good. And our waitress a young girl was very friendly. Will defo call back next trip to Ireland. Also beside a petrol station so handing for topping up the tank.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

service very poor, person before me also mentioned to her husband they said yes but didnt acknowledge them, they were not very busy at all. so no reason for the poor service, now decor is not the worry here although dated that dont distract me from what i would like in any food place is polite and caring staff who try to make you comfortable whilst providing you with good food, had neither of these my portion of chips would have done my grandchild and although the curry was not too bad portion was poor and it was on a bed of rice would have prefered to have had the rice by the side or in another bowl as the prices we paid for a mid day meal were quite high indeed..i am quite sure they would not get away with this attitude or style of play in any good restaurant... i work weekly in this area and serve at least 100 people weekly, i have been asking people on where to eat and quite a few pointed me down further than the forge to eat in another two different places i can only see why the locals know something i didnt.. ( if i find a good place i do my very best to recommend them to many others on this occasion i shall not .. shame as the carmarthan area and people are exceptional most of the times...these at the forge have let down the team..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stopped off here en route to the Pembrokeshire coast for a snack. It looked inviting from the outside but that was where it ended I'm afraid. The restaurant area was crammed with benches and tables, a bit like a train and there was no welcome from any staff member. Luckily we only wanted a snack as the menu was uninspiring. We ordered sandwiches and a serving of chips, expecting some nice crusty bread, instead of which we got plain ordinary sliced bread, which was a bit dry. The salad with it was obviously prepared hours before and the onions had a nasty taste to them We couldn't wait to pay the bill and get on our way. Shame

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forge Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge Restaurant & Lodge

Address: A40 | St Clears, Carmarthen, Wales, St Clears SA33 4NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Clears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Forge, we strive to be far more than simply another place to stay - we pride ourselves in our work and enjoy offering guests true Welsh Hospitality where the very quality of accomodation and service make sure that your stay is a memorable one. The Forge has been owned by the Hill Family for almost 50 years developing from a small Blacksmiths shop on the side of the A40 into today's modern complex and adjoining leisure facilities. West Wales is a great place to enjoy during any season and a stay at The Forge is the most comfortable way to enjoy it. We offer both comfort and quality and are ideally situated within easy reach of the beautiful coastlines of both Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. The Forge has 18 rooms situated in modern annexed buildings and all rooms are spacious and furnished to a very high standard. Our Restaurant, over the years, has earned an exceptional reputation amongst both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Forge Restaurant & Lodge St Clears, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forge Restaurant & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.