We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Menjangan

Save Saved
You added The Menjangan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Menjangan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bali National Park, Jalan Raya Gilimanuk Singaraja, Km. 17 | Desa Pejarakan, Bali 81115, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE ANOTHER 5% WITH US!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buleleng
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you love nature... the combination of forrest and beach - this is the place to go in Bali.
We stayed for 4 nights and would have loved to stay longer.

On our 3 weeks tour around Bali there was friendly staff wherever we went - but the staff in The Manjangan was by far the friendliest. Always very helpful and extremely service oriented.
On our first morning we slept too long and came very vary late for breakfeast (we did not know that we were late...) - nobody said a word... we were serverd normal breakfast - and only found out in the afternoon that we had been late . Customer first is really lived in this place

This hotel is different from everything we have seen before... the distances between the monsoon lodge / Bali tower restaurant and beach are between 5 and 10 minutes with transportation provided by the hotel. You can sit on the car roof and watch the birds, the deer, the monkeys from there while you are being driven from a to b... we felt like on a little safari every time we changed the location.

The hotel has its own jetty. Directly at the jetty there is a coral reef which is great for snorkeling. Clearly Menjangan riff is bigger but already at that riff you can spend some nice hours snorkeling around.

Overall we loved our stay there and can only recommend it to people looking for a peaceful place to stay - surrounded by nature.
If you look for party, speed and shopping opportunities this place is not the right place to go.

Room Tip: The beach villas are definitely great but also costly. Monsoon lodge is a little lower standard bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Selamat Siang, dear Manuela B

We thank you very much for your detailed review, also for especially mentioning the friendliness of our family members…makes us very proud indeed! I have forwarded your warm compliments to the entire family and what came back was a group of people with the brightest sunshine Balinese smile!

Hopefully your sweet memories will carry you through the cold Swiss wintertime and who knows; maybe we have the chance to welcome you in future again!

Meantime, our warmest regards
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    58
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
59
164
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a very late review, however we had such a great trip we had to share.
We went to the menjangan in February 2013 for 7/8 nights. We picked it for its remoteness and amazing location. We were not disappointed. Although a long journey from the uk, it was definitely worth it, and on the 4 hour drive from the airport (not expensive) we drove through some amazing scenery.

From arrival to leaving all of the staff were amazing, meeting our every need. My luggage got lost in KL and the staff took care of everything and ensured it was transported to the resort, and even headed out to buy medicines for us at one point. The setting is unbelievable, the views from the tower are fantastic. We stayed the first few nights at the monsoon lodge, with only the sounds of the jungle for company. The room was great with good facilities and nice poolside setting. As it was low season and my birthday whilst out there we were upgraded to the beach villas. Great setting again and the room was spectacular. There were so many opportunities to get close up to nature, with a Luwak casually strolling past at dinner, deer on the beach, even a monitor lizard swimming past in the shallows.

The food was great, unfortunately due to low season we only experienced the beach side location but this did not detract from the experience. We had a private BBQ set in the mangroves for my girlfriend's birthday, which was lovely, Anton and the staff went to every effort to make it a really special experience.
Rico and the team helped with day trips out for us along the coast (You have to see the Turtle Project at Reef Seen!) with minimal fuss, and called our taxi driver to arrange for them to make stops at local tourist attractions on our homeward journey.

The diving was amazing, having never dived before the drive instructors (Dan and Claudine) made us feel totally at ease and had a great experience. The snorkelling off the jetti or at the island is really pretty good too if you're not looking to Scuba.
I would highly recommend the nature walk in the morning, we saw many beautiful birds, monkeys, deer, lizards, giant squirrels and the rare Bali staling (which seemed to have a nest above the monsoon lodges) Even just travelling around on the safari bus was really fun, and having the option of moving around on the provided bikes was yet another experience.

We were asked a number of times by other guests why we weren't travelling around the island, but we were just looking for a relaxed getaway, and there was plenty to do here if you're keen on nature, so no worries about getting bored.

Absolutely every single person at Menjangan was amazing, the people really make the place. We had so many really special experiences and we'll never forget our time there and in Bali.

Room Tip: Both great, but the villas are something else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Selamat Siang, dear MattRiley87

Thank you so much for your detailed and warm comments about your stay here at The Menjangan. I have forwarded and shared your impressions with the entire team (who missed you a lot after you both left) and had certainly all happy faces smiling back at me!

We really hope that your future travelling will lead you back to this little place on the North coast of Bali…it would be fantastic to welcome you once again!

PS: our “resident luwak” as we use to call him….still here and taking his rounds around the Pantai Restaurant deck almost every night…!

From the entire family, again thank you and our very best wishes for you!
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived from Java, via the ferry and were delighted to step out of the car to receive a warm welcome. We had a beachside villa - with what felt like our own stretch of private beach. There was a small deck outside our room, with a bean bag and deckchair. There were steps down to the beach with two sunbeds, and table with two upright chairs. In addition there was a large waterpot which was used by the local deer.

Our room was very airy and comfortable. We were a bit nervous about using the outside toilet at night, but the area was well-lit.

We ate mainly at the beachside restaurant although had one breakfast and one dinner at the Bali Tower. We were delighted with the meals and the choices available.

One night there was a buffet dinner on the beach, with singers. It had a great atmosphere.

Service was generally excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful.

We got up early for the birdwatching tour and were lucky to see the rare Bali starling.

We would happily go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Rico Haus at The Menjangan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Selamat Siang, dear deekay99
Lucky you being able to spot the endangered Bali starling…here at The Menjangan the animals are the stars, but not every guest gets the chance to spot this specific bird.
Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay with us, much appreciated indeed.
I have personally shared your comments with the team and everybody feels flattered by your compliments. Indeed, the special event on that night was greatly appreciated by all our guest and we will offer it also in future.

A special thanks also for your comments on our food quality and choices. We take great efforts in order to accommodate every taste and budget.
Most importantly and what makes us entirely happy is that you would consider us for a future stay. Hopefully, we must not wait too long to welcome you again.

From all our family members warmest regards,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our experience with the Bali Tower restaurant started when I decided it might be a good idea to book before we left Sydney. We had been recommended this dining experience by friends. So after I emailed my booking I was answered immediately by Anton the chef and David the manager. Both went out of their way to make sure we had the most unique dining experience ever. We were given our own table on the fourth floor, with a divine menu of Indonesian food. This was logistically difficult for the staff, bringing up the food on a spiral staircase, although they were very happy to please. It was a bit windy which is due to going in August. But the views are more than spectacular, and the food and service was superb. Thank you David and Anton and all the staff at the Bali Tower Restaurant for a evening we will never forget

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Rico Haus at The Menjangan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Selamat Pagi, dear dipcat11

Thank you very much for your warm compliments we have proudly shared it with the entire family. It was actually exciting for us to serve a dinner on the 4th floor and we found it to be a great experience, too!
What an exquisite idea….and how wonderful to know that you treasure this memory. It was indeed the “highest level of dinning”……

From the entire family our warmest wishes and very best regards,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights the middle of August on a 2 week trip. I had high hopes but left with mixed feelings.

First, it is FAR away from the South of Bali and the airport. We travelled from Sanur and we were in the car around 5 hours. It is a chaotic drive (all of Bali was a bit chaotic) and I don't recommend anyone to drive there on their own if they are not locals. Thankfully we hired a local driver in Sanur to take us there and didn't regret it for one moment (paid a lot less than the hotel quoted for a pick up).

We stayed in the Monsoon Lodge. It is nice but not luxury- the room is big with a comfortable bed, a couch and a little sitting area in front by the pool. We had problems with our toilet not working (it kept running), there is a hot water kettle but you it can only be plugged in on the floor, our closet light never went out, and our window blinds were broken- they saw this but instead of fixing it, put the broken piece under the bed. If you stay here, and can afford a beach villa (double the cost of the monsoon lodge) I would do it- it is a long way to the beach and beach restaurant. In the car, its a 13 minute drive, and all though you could take one of the few bikes at the resort to ride there (if you are lucky to find one available) it could be done during the day, but not at night as there are no lights.

There are of course nice things about this place- its in total nature (all though i could still hear the big road from our room and had to sleep with earplugs!), there are monkeys and deer which come up right on the beach with you. The water is very clear and the snorkeling right off the resort is fantastic. if you are a diver, there is also great diving at Menjangan island. We found the food also pretty good. However, in keeping with my mixed feelings- i found the place to be very expensive for what it was, and without a car, you cannot leave the resort without a lot of difficulty. For diving we paid 135 dollars for 2 dives. In Gili islands it was 35 dollars for one dive. The food was also not cheap either.

So would i go back- probably not. While it was nice, and a nice atmosphere in the nature, for us, it was too far and too expensive, and spending nearly 2 days of our holiday travelling to get there was overall not worth it for us.

Room Tip: If you can afford a beach villa, it wll make your stay easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Selamat Pagi, dear JFisherGermany
Firstly many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate all inputs from our guest since this gives us excellent suggestions how we can improve our services.
Unfortunately, we did not come up to your expectations and we are certainly sorry to learn that you would not come back. Please let me take the opportunity to share some information with you regarding the mentioned points.
Yes, the Menjangan is far away from the airport, since it is located in the North West corner of the island, in the middle of the National park. From the Airport Denpasar it takes around 4.5h drive to get here. We always inform our guest accordingly; especially those who arrive on a long-haul flight may want to rest one night in the South, before driving up North.

We absolutely agree that driving in Bali is chaotic; therefore, we do not recommend self-driving either. We provide a hotel transfer with all the services included such as cold towels, snacks, drinks, etc. for those guests who wish to book with us. However, you can certainly always find less expensive ways to travel up here, depending on your expectations in regards of comfort, safety, exclusivity etc.…

We do apologize for the issues you had in the room. Since we take much effort in ongoing maintenance works, our team obviously missed to fix the several problems in your room. I have personally addressed this to the team and we have discussed it in order to prevent such situation in future. Thank you for mentioning this.

Since the Menjangan covers an area of 400 hectares we provide free transfer throughout the Resort with our special vehicles called TRINGGILING. As you correctly measured the time, it takes about 10-15 Minutes to drive from the Monsoon Forest Lodge to the Beach. The maximum speed limit within the National park is 10km/h in order to prevent any animal collision…in addition it gives our guest the chance to spot the wildlife and enjoy the beautiful nature.
Very sorry to hear that you had some struggle to find our mountain bikes. Since we are in high season and the Resort is fully booked, it can indeed happen that one needs to be a little patient until other guest return from their ride.

The main road is about 600 meters away from the Monsoon Forest Lodge and depending on traffic some of the trucks can be noisy…especially for noise sensitive guest that can be an issue. We are pleased to hear that you have solved that problem by using earplugs.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the snorkeling at Menjangan Island. It is indeed one of the best spots in terms of coral growth and water cleanliness.
Regarding the diving cost, same as the previously mentioned cost of transfer from the South, you can always find less expensive dive trips and we are happy to provide a transfer to nearby Pemuteran Village where most of the Dive Centers are located and offer cheaper diving.
At The Menjangan our first and last concern when it comes to diving is always safety. We have emergency kit on the boat, our Instructor is a trained and experienced dive professional and all Watersport team members have been trained on Emergency First Response. That is the main reason for the elevated price at The Menjangan and we hope for your understanding.

We appreciate that you liked our food, since we give much effort in it and have an excellent team of Chefs, managed by our young British Chef Anton. In order to serve only the freshest items, we have collaborations with the farmer cooperation in Bedugul for top quality vegetables and fruits.
We are very well aware of our remote location and that there aren’t any outside Restaurants in walking distance available for our guest. Therefore, we strive for the best price/quality balance that we can possibly offer and with the most expensive main course on our menu, the delicious Wagyu Burger from Australian Wagyu Sirloin and shin shank for 15.00 USD and the least expensive menu item such as Edamame or Tempe Goreng for USD 4.00, we believe to offer a good range. On top of that, we have a daily Happy Hour (buy 1 get 2), changing daily special cocktails for 12.00 USD or Bintang beers for 4.00 USD

Again, we are really sorry that you had mixed feelings about your stay at The Menjangan and we hope that your future traveling will be more satisfying. Should you change your mind and visit the Menjangan in future, please let us know since all our family members would be happy to show you that we can indeed deliver excellent services.
Kind regards,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had travel for 3 days, this is not the 1st time we are going to menjangan area. But from a few resort that we already spend with one of the best is this resort.
resto rate Menu for local tourist is average but high quality food for Breakfast.
we loved it and plan to get back next year.
Suggestion : for better hotel service. hotel could prepare a transportation to menjangan island for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Selamat Sore, dear christian_kang

Thank you very much for taking time to place your review about The Menjangan. We have shared your valuable comments with the entire family and yet hope to welcome you soon again.
Thank you also for your input regarding the boat transportation to Menjangan Island. Since The Menjangan is focusing on sustainable business and put a lot of energy into collaboration with local businesses in the North of Bali, there is not much that we can do to lower the price for the transfer. Menjangan Island is managed by the local captains. Hence the money you have paid for the transfer is their salary and supports their families.

With that in mind, we are sure that you can understand that we cannot offer you a free transfer to the Island. Thanks to your contribution, you help the local small business to survive and also prevent the local fisherman to start fishing again because of no income.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you next year again.
Kind regards,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really a different side of Bali, and an unexpected one. Great place for couples but also for families. Booking the beach bungalow is worth it (we didn't, it was a mistake) as the beach is really stunning. The chef does an amazing job, especially if you like breakfast. Ooohhh, they do serve an amazing one, on top of that included! The staff is nice, and they have a Swiss guy who clearly knows what he is doing in the restaurant. I can't recommend enough the dive center, with very professional and experienced dive instructors. Really a very good place to recommend, also to enjoy the amazing nature that surrounds the hotel. Where else can you see deers walking past you on a white sand beach?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Selamat Sore, dear Wlad2000

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you had such a good time! I have forwarded your comments and shared it with the entire Menjangan family…all happy faces of course.

A special note I forwarded to the Dive Center team, managed by Hermie our Dive Instructor. Then also to Chef Anton and his team…I know, the Sauce Hollandaise is the real deal! The Swiss guy you are referring to is David, our Swiss Management Trainee who has joined us a couple of weeks ago.

We all send you our warmest regards and hope to welcome you soon again….then you will probably choose to stay in one of our Beach Villas.

Warm regards,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Menjangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menjangan

Address: West Bali National Park, Jalan Raya Gilimanuk Singaraja, Km. 17 | Desa Pejarakan, Bali 81115, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Buleleng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buleleng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menjangan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menjangan offers you an unique chance to experience the natural treasures within West Bali National Park: kayaking through mangrove maze, diving or snorkeling in one of the most beautiful coral reefs in Bali or venture through the forest on horseback. Choose to be on the water’s edge, nestled in the heart of the forest or perched on a cliff overlooking the sea. Discover the other side of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Menjangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menjangan Hotel Buleleng
The Menjangan Bali/Buleleng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menjangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.