We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally different side of Bali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menjangan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Menjangan to your Saves list
The Menjangan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Raya Gilimanuk, Singaraja Km. 17 | Desa Pejarakan, Bali 81115, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buleleng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ubud, Indonesia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A totally different side of Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful recluse with lots of wildlife close up, situated in the largest National Park of Bali, if you are into nature, beach, horse riding, bird watching, snorkeling and various other watersports, this is the place.. would recommend the beach villas, they have their own section on the property.
Food is great considering how far away you are from it all, true wifi in the villas, would definitely recommend it and return for more visits.

Room Tip: Take a beach villa, if you are a couple make sure to request a double sized mattras as some villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Selamat Sore, dear deepsapphyr

We truly hope that you will come back for a weekend break soon and thank you for your very positive review. It’s always a valuable gift to receive suggestions from experienced travelers like you. In terms of our bed setup, you are right, some of the rooms have as standard two single mattress. But if we know the preferences of the guests beforehand we are happy to allocate one king size unit. Furthermore we only use the best ones available in Bali since we know how important a good sleep is and …..

Warm regards
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    76
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
76
222
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grisons
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we booked The Menjangan, as no photos can do it justice, but the minute we arrived, we fell in love with this place, set in a vast National Park. We can hardly wait to go back! We spent 4 nights in a huge beach villa, where lying in bed you could see your own bit of mangrove-shaded beach and the sea. We ate nearly all meals at the Pantai restaurant on the beach and all our meals were simply delicious, with great cocktails and special juice concoctions every morning for breakfast. They even had hot stones in the bread baskets to keep the bread and pastries warm!
We hardly left the beach area except when we took advantage of several of their offers: snorkelling at Menjangan Island twice (a unique experience and everything laid on by the resort), massages at the spa pavillion jutting out over the water, and two treks with their thoughtful and well-informed guide, Putu. We were staggered by the level of attention to detail. All the staff anticipated our every desire (partly due to a clever system of walkie-talkies throughout the resort) and were so friendly and kind (special mention must go to Indra at the restaurant) that this made the perfect romantic holiday even for us 70-year-olds. Next time we hope to take our grandchildren. Any child old enough to go snorkelling and ride horses and bikes would love the Menjangan too! Many thanks to Reto Haus, the Resort Manager, for running this ecologically sensitive resort in a way which should please the most demanding of holiday-makers!

Room Tip: We loved our beach villa, very quiet. huge, comfortable bed and everything seemed new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Selamat Sore, dear Mesolcina
…and we can’t wait for you to come back! From the entire team, a big THANK YOU for your wonderful and thoughtful review. Please rest assured that your compliments are forwarded to the entire team with special emphasis on Putu and Indra! Our entire family loves this place and most of our members are working with us since several years…we are delighted to see that you felt this spirit and enjoyed it so much….and of course, is there any better compliment then to create a romantic holiday to such senior travelers like you?

Wishing you lots of positive travelling experiences in future and who knows….your ways might bring you back up North to the Menjangan one day.....including your grand children….
Warm regards
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Set within a national park this is the quietest spot in Bali. Monsoon lodge, one of the accommodations available has spacious rooms with all the gadgets one could want - if you didn't want to enjoy the natural bush noises i.e DVD and docking station. Menjangan (deer) wander through through the park and are often seen at the beach. This place is so large that transport is required between rooms and restaurants. Luckily it comes free and gives one a chance to see the natural wilds, other than Menjangan there isn't much wildlife but the birders seemed to be happy. The beach restaurant Pantai has amazing sunsets with Java visible in the distance and mangroves in the foreground. The staff seem to have attended hotel school in Singaraja and test their language skills with all nationalities, making that extra effort to ensure all guests are welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Selamat Sore, dear Jeanne L

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Menjangan and would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback! Yes, indeed, especially before and after full moon the scenario and view over to Java during sunset time can be dramatic and breathtaking….so nice you did adore it as much as we do.

A little note on the side: as you mentioned, we do have indeed many Menjangan coming up to the beach lately (as well as male fights since it is breeding season) but beside of this, we have much more Wildlife around here such as monitor lizard, crab eating long tail Macaque, around 150 different species of birds including the famous but endangered Bali Starling and not to forget the famous Mandarin fish (which can be found at our house reef!), wild boars and many more….So we have the pleasure to welcome you again in future, it would be my personal delight to organize a Wildlife-walk for you together with our specialist Putu.

Again, thank you very much and we sincerely hope that you will come back on your next Bali trip.
Warm regards
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Menjangan for an all-too brief 3 nights as part of a bigger holiday.

This is a truly unique experience. The location is great, at the snout of a 400 acre Nature Reserve, right on the waterfront.

You will eat all your meals right on the edge of the sea, outside unless you take them near the top of the Bali Tower, in the middle of the Jungle, looking down on nature and the birdlife. Or you could go for the romantic dinner in the Gazebo with a special menu and just the Cicadas to accompany you.

Make sure you are in a beachside villa rather than the lodges which are well away from the sea and more prone to insects.

We had so many unique experiences at this hotel: sitting outside our villa by the water's edge at sunset and a deer came and sat a mere 15 yards away from us, not batting an eyelid at our flash photography; seeing FIVE Bali Starlings at once one morning, one of the rarest birds in the world (only 24 left!); seeing a couple of courting black-winged starlings at the top of a tree (only 2500 of those left; going snorkelling off Menjangan Island with scores of different fish varieties, plus squid, sea turtles, stingrays, etc.; etc.; etc.

Overlaid on top was the incomparable Bali customer service where nothing is too much trouble; and a huge bungalow room in a traditional style.

Far too short a time spent here. Would we go back? You bet!

Room Tip: Must be a beach villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Selamat Malam, dear rougepierreetc

Of course, we are always happy to receive feedback from our guest, but if we can come up to the expectations of such an experienced traveler like you, that brightens our day especially! Thank you very much for sharing your memories.

We certainly hope that you will come back in future….and then stay a little longer with us.
Warm regards from the entire family,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went with friends for the night from Lovina. Wow its amazing. It is a huge area in the National Park A little bus which you can sit on top of, like on safari takes you around the resort, deers, monkeys and lots of birds can be seen. It was fun. We stayed in the Residence on the cliff which has 3 bedrooms and a living room. The swimming pool was beautiful with views over the bay. The view from lying in bed was also amazing over the bay. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable with lots of conveniences and amenities although starting to get a little tired. Well stocked mini bar, complimentary tea and coffee and cookies. The restaurant on the beach was lovely. It was a deck over the mangrove beach. The water was really clean and little fish could be seen swimming by. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and all were great. A really beautiful spot and very reasonably priced. We swam at the beach near the jetty and snorkelling, kayaking are available for a fee. I really enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it to anyone as a should do. The staff were really friendly and helpful. They also have huge stables and about 12 horses available for riding. Snorkelling at Menjangan Island which the resort can organise is also a great fun activity with lots to see.

Room Tip: The views from the residence on the cliff are absolutely amazing from the infinity swimming pool, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Selamat Sore, dear susan1959
We are utterly pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! The “Safari Car” is actually called “Tringiling” (that is also the name of another wild animal which can be found in the Park)…and yes, people usually really enjoy the rides! Since the Residence is one of our accommodation possibilities for larger groups or families, we give much focus and keeping it up-to-date, therefore, we are currently doing renovation works to get it touched up! Thank you for mentioning our Restaurant Pantai at the Beach. We have just introduced new breakfast, lunch and dinner menu and the kitchen team members are proud of receiving so many good comments for it!

It was for all of us here a great pleasure having you staying with us and we hope that your ways might bring you back soon…to the other side of Bali!
Warmest regards,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited Bali in April 2013 and spent five days at ’The Menjangan Resort’ beach villas. For us, the word ‘tranquility’ sums up this resort tucked away in the Menjangan National Park in the far north west of Bali. Just stunning scenery, friendly staff, wonderful food and a mix of activities that insured a relaxing stay meters from the sea.
The Balinese are known for their friendliness and the resort didn’t disappoint in this regard with smiling staff going the extra mile to make our visit a special one. Thank you 'hospitality guru' Rico and Gal-Gal for the warm reception that made us feel so welcome.
Activities included some superb snorkeling along an under water cliff, cycling, canoeing, riding and a massage and romantic dinner in the perfect setting on a discrete deck with waves lapping underneath. There was also a fun Balinese ‘cook and eat’ cooking lesson with experienced local chef Putu giving us a fascinating window into Balinese culture, set in a stunning outdoor location overlooking the beautiful bay below.
Our favorite place was the dining deck stretching out into the sea between the mangroves, where we enjoyed hours of fine dining. We were so impressed by the variety and standard of the menu, especially in such a remote location. British 'perfectionist' head chef Anton constantly worked his magic in the kitchen to provide a dazzling array of tasty dishes. Thank you!
All in all, a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Selamat Siang, dear GD,
Thank you for your visit and coming such a long way! We are very happy to learn that it was worth the hassle and that you enjoyed all your days here to the fullest. Since we have just introduced our special cooking class during your stay, you were one of the first guests to experience it…needless to say how happy our kitchen team is that you write a special note about it! Indeed, shortly after your stay we had the pleasure to introduce our brand new menu to the Restaurant…and receive terrific comments about it from our guest.

We already miss you and cannot wait for you to come back and have another splash into “Paradise”!

Warmest regards from the family,
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A great concept- to have a low impact hotel in the National park, the security is tight which serves to help monitor the animals within the park.
We saw native deer, many jungle fowl and a lovely, gentle whip snake while there for 2 days.
The Beach side location was beautiful, with the sea breeze blowing through the villa. Food was excellent - the best in this part of Bali we have experienced so far.
Would love to see some sustainable practices introduced to the Housekeeping and Pest control management of this hotel, especially as it is within the National park.
Great service & location

Room Tip: Beach villas are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico H, Resort Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Selamat Siang, dear Linda v,

It was a great pleasure having you here, even though just for a short stay but we are tremendously content that you liked it so much. Especially the kitchen team was so happy to hear that frequent travelers like you enjoyed their menu creations.

We are constantly trying to improve our sustainable practices and trying to source the right products. Thank you also for the advice regarding the amenities and how to decrease spoilage. Being part of the National Park one of our main duty is to preserve the nature and animals. One of the regulations from the Park authorities is not to use any chemicals or fogging for pest control. This leaves us very limited resources against our small friends. We put all our efforts to keep the rooms clean from insects but being inside a forest with a pure natural environment this can be sometimes very challenging. So far we managed with the help of our Gecko friends to keep the rooms’ mosquito free.

Thank you very much for all your valuable inputs shared with me during your stay and I hope we can welcome you soon again.

Warm regards
Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menjangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menjangan

Address: Jl. Raya Gilimanuk, Singaraja Km. 17 | Desa Pejarakan, Bali 81115, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Buleleng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buleleng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menjangan 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menjangan offers you an unique chance to experience the natural treasures within West Bali National Park: kayaking through mangrove maze, diving or snorkeling in one of the most beautiful coral reefs in Bali or venture through the forest on horseback. Choose to be on the water’s edge, nestled in the heart of the forest or perched on a cliff overlooking the sea. Discover the other side of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Menjangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menjangan Hotel Buleleng
The Menjangan Bali/Buleleng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menjangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.