We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility with lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Menjangan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Menjangan to your Saves list
The Menjangan
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bali National Park, Jalan Raya Gilimanuk Singaraja, Km. 17 | Desa Pejarakan, Bali 81115, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE ANOTHER 5% WITH US!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buleleng
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility with lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were visiting our son Phil who was working for Blue Season at Menjangan so it is bit difficult to be truly objective. We felt we were treated as Mr Phils parents by all the staff who were so naturally pleasant and helpful it was hard to see that they could be any different to any body else! We spent 4 days in the Monsoon lodge and the last night we were put into a beach villa, courtesy of Eloy the general manager - our grateful thanks to him as it brought us the spectacle at 5 am of 15 or so Menjangan deer paddling at the waters edge with the pink dawn sky behind, absolutely fabulous. The accomodation was spacious, clean and comfortable, the service was unfailingly polite, willing, helpful, and an absolute pleasure to be helped by the people we met. The beach bar and restaurant was lovely and the food varied and tasty, especially good fish.We also had a fantastic evening at the top of the Bali Tower watching the sun go down with cocktails and then and a traditional Balinese meal on reclining cushions - well worth the experience.The grounds are in bush jungle and there are deer and the early morning birdwatching trip was fascinating for 2 hours. Keep clear of the monkeys which the staff try to keep away from you. We went snorkelling over at Menjangan island and saw all sorts of fish life with the snorkelling guide Made - beware sunburn on your back as you float along happily looking downwards! There is also good snorkelling off the jetty. The dive centre is well equipped and offers various PADI courses including trial dives for beginners as well as trips across to the dive sights around Menjangan island. Final thought is about the need to allow time for travel around Bali as the Menjangan is a long way out of the centre of Bali. We recommend it for a stay of a few days as it seems to us that you could not get the full benefit of the chilling factor in a very short stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy E, Operations Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Mike T,

Greetings from North Bali!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a comment on Trip Advisor!

I speak on behalf of the entire Menjangan Team when I say it was a real pleasure having you here visiting Phil and even though you might have felt you were treated as Phil’s parents as such, I can assure you we would have treated you no different if you weren’t! We take great pride in treating guests as part as our own family, the same way we like to work with each other.

We are very glad you enjoyed both the Pantai (Beach) Restaurant as well as The Bali Tower. They both indeed have a special charm! The activities and wildlife here are fully integrated in the experience of visiting The Menjangan and one cannot leave without going for a horseback ride or snorkeling at Menjangan Island. The sighting of beautiful deer, either at sunrise (I’m very happy you enjoyed the beach villa, thanks so much for the pictures!) or sunset, as these are the times they are most easily spotted, is truly magical.

Monkeys, birds, and other wildlife roam freely but I am also happy to say they are more scared of us than we are of them so they never come so close as to make anybody uncomfortable.

Even though location may seems far from Denpasar International Airport it’s indeed positive as we don’t have Indeed we are located 3.5 to 4 hours away from the Ngurah Rai International Airport but I think this is actually something positive as we strive to offer an unforgettable experience to guests who come searching for peace, quiet and seclusion in an unspoiled and natural surrounding but with the commodities and luxuries one expects at any resort in the south.

Again, thank you very much for visiting! It was a pleasure meeting you and having you with us and I do hope you come back again soon!

Best wishes and please stay in touch!

Eloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    66
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
68
196
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed in their beach villas, literally feet in the water, and loved it! Two full days of relax and nature, enjoying a great service and a fantastic location.
Very comfortable beds, extremely attentive staff, good food and pristine nature all around. We spotted, among other, several birds (including an eagle!), monitor lizards, butterflies of all sorts and kind, monkeys and two female "Menjangan" deer coming right to our door step to walk in the ocean!
We didn't go snorkeling or diving (it was a lazy weekend), but I've been diving in the past in the area and it's world class.
I personally loved to spend time on top of the "Bali Tower", relaxing and watching the volcanoes of Java over the horizon and clearing my mind of stress and work related matters.
Definitely to recommend to nature lovers, off the beaten track travelers, and people that are willing to explore in a different way the "Island of the Gods".

Room Tip: Go for the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy E, Operations Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear gm-mozaic,

Greetings from The Bali Barat National Park!

Thank you so much for your positive review regarding your stay at our resort.
Being in the National Park, all types of wildlife, as you well explained, can be easily spotted. This is no doubt one of our biggest attractions and we are proud to operate an eco-friendly resort, where flora and fauna thrives around us.

The Menjangan offers the perfect opportunity to disconnect from daily routines and stresses and we are very happy that you managed to do that!
Thanks again, hope to see you back here soon!
Keep in touch!
Ciao!
Eloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Menjangan is like none other, the perfect spot if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle. Perfect place to wind down and appreciate the nature, it's my kind of getaway.

We stayed at the deluxe room, very nice and simple design, only a few steps away from the pool, the diving and snorkel spot is very nice too, water is clear and get to see tons of fish, corals and anemone.

The team is very hospitable, dinner at the bayside restaurant is delicious, portion is just nice and you get to pick and choose your main (chicken, fish etc) then the side dish and veggies.

Thanking the friendly, courteous, helpful and cheerful team everywhere. Thank you for having us and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy E, Operations Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Greetings Cowboybebop_23!

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and relaxed and were able to unwind. The snorkeling and diving are two of the most popular activities being Menjangan Island one of the favorite spots in Bali!

Glad to hear you enjoyed our food as well, the menus, although simple change often always using fresh and local produce with quite a bit of seafood due to the location.

I have passed on your compliments onto the team. Thanks again and stay in touch!
Best regards
Eloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasmineHolidays
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Firstly I have to point out that we didn't stay the night - just day visitors - but we looked at the rooms and had a good tour around, so I can't really comment on the experience of staying at the resort.

However - this is a great place for anyone looking to get close to nature, do something different in Bali, go snorkelling (off Menjangan island just opposite) etc.

This is a Bali you probably didn't know existed - a world away from the traffic, shops and hawkers of the southern hot-spots. It almost feels like being in Africa here, especially riding around on the top of the converted jeep - feels like being on safari. Menjangan means 'deer' and there are plenty of those, including little barking deer. Also plenty of monkeys and some amazing white Bali starlings - really rare and beautiful.

Accommodation is in rooms set around a swimming pool at the top of the resort. Rooms are pleasant, no frills. The pool is nice and you can imagine having it all to yourself - a really nice spot to just chill out, read a book etc.

To get down to the beach you need transport (back to the double decker converted jeep). It's 10 minutes safari drive down to the beach. The beach is OK - the coast partly covered in mangroves. The restaurant and dive centre are down here as well.

There are a number of beachfront villas here too. The villas are nice, but not super luxury or anything. This isn't the Datai, though you could say the locations are similar.The location on the beach means they are a little raised above the beach.

The restaurant at the Menjangan is in a rather spectacular wooden tower building which has amazing views over to Menjangan.

Other activities on offer include horse riding (they have 15 or so Australian horses), cycling, snorkelling & diving (there's currently an English Dive instructor).

It would have been nice to stay had time permitted, but our experience of The Menjangan is that it is unique in Bali, totally unexpected and will really suite those looking for an eco-nature-activity stay with a high standard of accommodation. The Menjangan certainly won't suit everyone though - it's quite remote by Bali standards - so make sure you know the kind of resort it is.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy E, Operations Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Phil

Thank you so much for your extensive review regarding your visit at The Menjangan. It was great having you with us for a visit and hope you can return soon and stay couple of nights with us.

As you said, the resort is quite large and spread out. Guests enjoy the rides on safari cars as they are able to spot wildlife in every corner providing a different (and real) feel to the whole experience.

Thank you for explaining the types of accommodationavailable at the property. The Monsoon lodge Deluxe rooms were completely refurbished and given a clean and minimalistic feel in line with other resorts under the umbrella of Lifestyle Retreats. But for the suites, we decided to keep them with their original furniture as those are antique and unique pieces that fit perfectly with wooden floors and ceilings. The brand new Beach Villas are the best category on offer: a blend between traditional Joglo style constructions, with modern and clean interiors spiced up with absolute beach front locationy. We also have a three bedroom villa (The Residence) sitting on a spectacular cliff boasting 3 bedrooms, private pool, etc..

Unfortunately you did not have time to try any of our two restaurants but Lifestyle Retreats Executive Chef Attila Kormozci has been upgrading/adjusting menus on a monthly basis in order to adapt to guests’ needs. The Bali Tower restaurant offers Mediterranean and Indonesian cuisine, set on the second floor of the tower, thus having spectacular views of the resort and National Park area.

Whereas the Pantai restaurant, opened last June, offers BBQs with fresh local seafood and meats as well as Indonesian dishes. It is set on a wooden deck, directly on top of the water, the perfect spot to enjoy a relaxed freshly cooked meal. Next to the beach is also our Azur Lounge, a casual space with candles and bean bags scattered around the beach. Here guests are able to relax and chill out after a full day of activities!

Activities on sea include Diving, Snorkeling and Kayaking. These can be booked directly at our new Water Sports center by the beach where, as you said, our English water sports operation manager is always happy to assist with anything guests might require.

On land we are offer horseback riding, treks, mountain biking and also bird watching, also a must try!

I do hope you get a chance to come back and stay a night or two in our Beach Villas, in order to be able to enjoy any of the exciting activities on offer and taste our food!
Thanks again for your comments and stay in touch!.

Eloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is in a beautifull and peacefull place. We stay here only two night. The staff is very professionnal, understanding and carefull.
We made snorkeling at the Menjangan and horse in the sunset, it was just amazing.
This Hotel is perfect for honeymooners or people who wants to retreat in a very beautifull and quiet environment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy E, Operations Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Sandrine M,

Greetings from Bali and thanks so much for your positive review. I have conveyed your complements onto our team.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the tranquility and beauty of being in a National Park. As you said, the place is perfect to relax and chill out but at the same time also suitable for those in need of some activities such as snorkeling, diving, trekking, horseback riding, etc.. . It’s great to see you enjoyed some of those!

From the Menjangan family I would like to thank you for staying with us, hoping you will come back to visit us again soon.
Please stay in touch!
Kind Regards,
Eloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

A great place to stay, nice beach and beautiful opportunities for kayaking, snorkelling and diving, iIn the west Bali national park. A resort in evolution with continuous innovation in drinks and meals, as result of the effort of his new manager and all the motivated and friendly staff.
A place to relax and feel the nature, and the fauna, and quietness enough than the rest of the island, other contrast of this island that needs to be lived.
And the best, a new way of life, dinner on the beach, breakfast in middle of the forest and lunch at the sky.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy E, Operations Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Alvaro,
Saludos desde el Bali Barat!

I wanted to thank you for your positive review regarding your stay at our resort. We are very happy that you had such a great time.

As i shared with you we are constantly changing and upgrading such as Food and Beverage based on the feedback received from our guests. Thanks again for helping us to do better!.

The Menjangan and the whole West Bali are completely different to the south. Here guests come to relax and chill within the natural environment. We are glad you appreciated such a special location.

Gracias de nuevo por tu amable comentario! Espero veros por aqui pronto otra vez!
Un cordial saludo,
Eloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived at The Menjangan Resort for a 5 night stay, at first I thought this would be a bit long, but once we were settled in, 5 nights was too short.
The resort offers a range of activities, but also peace and quiet so you can relax to the fullest.
The rooms are simple but very comfortable.
Staff is very friendly!
Dinner was excellent, my husband loved the specials.

The last two nights, we were upgraded to a beach villa, we definitely recommend those!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy E, Operations Manager at The Menjangan, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Inge_Steffen,
Greetings and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review!
It was a great pleasure for us to have you here for 5 nights and I’m glad you enjoyed the activities on offer as well as the peace and quiet of the location!

Thanks for your recommendations and suppor.
Looking forward to welcoming you back !
Take care and keep in touch!
Best wishes,
Eloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menjangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menjangan

Address: West Bali National Park, Jalan Raya Gilimanuk Singaraja, Km. 17 | Desa Pejarakan, Bali 81115, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Buleleng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buleleng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menjangan 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menjangan offers you an unique chance to experience the natural treasures within West Bali National Park: kayaking through mangrove maze, diving or snorkeling in one of the most beautiful coral reefs in Bali or venture through the forest on horseback. Choose to be on the water’s edge, nestled in the heart of the forest or perched on a cliff overlooking the sea. Discover the other side of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Menjangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menjangan Hotel Buleleng
The Menjangan Bali/Buleleng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menjangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.